We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveller rating
325
116
29
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
116
29
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool wine tour south african lady beautiful castle real castle wednesday night grand piano award winning amazing views fairy tale amazing wine food and wine the air conditioning overlooking the valley living room magical place our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 493 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Spent 5 nights and loved It! It was a great home base for driving around the countryside. The Wednesday night dinner is a must do. Wine and food fantastic! The grounds and views are perfect. Only negative is the lack of Wi-Fi. It's only available in the garden and then is spotty. But I would stay again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tiffanylynnsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSM2003, Responsabile reception at Castello Vicchiomaggio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Many thanks for the time spent for this review and many thanks also for the positive words about our place. It's important for us to read that our guest had a great time at Castello Vicchiomaggio.

Best Regards
Delfina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

This place is beautiful. We arrived late night and were greeted by warmly. We arrived in time on a Wednesday to catch the dinner portion of their Wine Tour. The food was great, the atmosphere was amazing and entertaining. Marcos, the waiter, would play the piano and sing. He is a very talented man. Our room was comfortable and well decorated. We woke up in the morning to a beautiful view of rolling hills and vineyards. The sounds of Castello Vicchiomaggio were beautiful. The breakfast served was standard to the other places we stayed. We took the wine tour/lunch offered by the Caste. This is where we meet Inez and Nadia. These two ladies made were a big part of our memorable experience at Castello Vicchiomaggio. They were friendly, inviting, outgoing and a whole lot of fun to be around. When the owners of this place found these two they found the key to great customer service and repeat business. Based on the overall experience I would defiantly return to Castello Vicchiomaggio, If you are looking to stay somewhere, this would be a great place.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingpurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We went on the wine tour with our lovely English speaking guide Innes - the tour was great, started with a look at the vineyard, then to the castle wine vats, then tasting at the tasting rooms. Learnt a lot about grapes, vineyard tending, wine maturation and had 4 nice wines. We would recommend Innes and her tour. She has excellent knowledge.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank R643EXwendyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We got engaged at the Castello back in May 2016 and loved it so much that we decided to get married there too and we were not disappointed. All the reviews are true of this place. The venue is stunning, views incredible and staff are just fantastic. All the staff were so friendly and accommodating from first email to final goodbye post-wedding. We were made to feel part of the family and they couldn't do more to ensure we had the most amazing wedding day/weekend possible.
We would say, if you are thinking of getting married here, don't worry about the sometimes slow communication and emails. This is purely down to how busy they get in their wedding season (Spring/Summer) and even though you might feel like things are being forgotten or missed, we can assure you they are not. Sandra, the wedding coordinator at the venue, was extremely well organised and ensured all our needs were met.
Sandra, Delfina, Federica, Paola et al were all amazing and made sure our wedding and entire stay went off without a hitch. Most importantly, all our friends and family loved the castle too, so much so that most want to revisit very soon.
The food and wine was also amazing, and so so much of it... The wedding cake was something special, no one could get enough of it...by far the best wedding cake we've ever had.
Also to note, the cost of getting married there is solely for the venue and nothing else. Everything comes at a price, including outside chairs and all decor, so budget wisely (there is even a music tax if you want to play ANY music during the wedding day/evening). Once you get your head around costs and what is needed it's fine, but worth bearing in mind.
We also set up a wine tasting session for guests who could stomach it the morning after the wedding in their wine tasting room/shop. We forget the lady's name, think she is South African, but she is the most friendly, lively and generous woman who remembered us when we got engaged, and was so happy for us that we came back to get married there. She is wonderful and just a joy to be around. It is worth going to the wine tasting rooms just to see her (and the fantastic wine obviously...).
All in all, the most magical wedding venue, and even more so the most incredible place to stay when in Greve in Chianti or the surrounding areas. We miss it already and can't wait for our next visit very soon. Thank you for everything Castello Vicchiomaggio; it was truly a day to remember forever.

Room Tip: Try and stay in the Castello if possible. Rococo has amazing views and is HUGE (it is often the wedding suite).
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We participated in the €15 wine tour and tasting. Firstly! Make sure you have your own car! The tour required us to drive around the property.
We started at the vines where Ines, our English speaking guide gave a detailed explanation about how and why they grow. She gave many details about Chianti specifically and the rules behind making the wine. It was entertaining, informative and easy to understand. We then progressed to the cellar where she gave a further explanation. We tasted three different wines, she gave a brief explanation about what percentage of grapes were in what and the vintage but would leave us to taste rather than offer us tasting notes. Overall a very good experience but the last bit of detail would have made it a perfect visit!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank tahliavillanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews