We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
24
28
16
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
28
16
8
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2016

This place is a restaurant first and a hotel second. We didn't eat here, but judging from their reviews, they don't do too well at either. The old lady was extremely rude when we arrived for check-in and asked where we could park on a Saturday during market (there is no airport or train station, so how does she expect people to arrive??). Perhaps that was our fault for arriving while they were serving lunch, because they were much more preoccupied with serving food. Speaking of the restaurant, you will hear every cling of dishware and every loud word spoken from the wait staff until they finally close up shop around midnight. And those great pictures of the balcony they show on the website... reserved for the restaurant guests that made the same mistake as we did as visiting this establishment. With all the options out there today, look elsewhere before booking here. In a pinch, it'll do, but these folks should not be in business long the way they treat their guests. Also note, spotty wifi, broken fridge, and no AC (was just bearable in May, but must be brutal Jun-Aug).

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike4567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossella3107, Proprietario at Albergo Giovanni da Verrazzano, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2016

good morning
You arrived in Hotel around 13,00 o'clock
saturday morning when in Greve there was the special Market of Slow food and the weekly marke. I remember of you, you asked me for parking and I gave you the map of Greve and I said you to look the signs (INERNATIONAL SIGNS)of the parking place becouse it was a special day and I did not know wich parking place was open and free.
Whene you arrived the restaurant was full but we receive you, we gave you the map, we took your documents, we gave you the room key.The thing that we do every time when we receive our guests. Obviously we want to serve as well as we can the people in the restaurant!!! It is our work!
For the loud sounds,is normal in a restaurant that people talk , don't you talk???? Midnight we close the restuarant so it is a regoular time in italy.
The terrace is VERY BEAUTIFULL and the picture is the same of reality. you seat at one table and nobody tald you to go away!!!!Sincerly I do not understand of wich mistake you are talking about. When you book a room check what they offer you. Nowhere in our brochoure or web site you will read that we have AC. we Do not have!
Wi fi works very well in all the rooms, in the reception.
I am sorry for your opinion but is 42 yars that this restaurant and hotel is mine!!And IF after 42 yars I am Always here something good I think I did!!!
Thank you very much for cald me OLD AND RUDE WOMAN.
You should never say old to a woman!
Rossella rossi the owner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

When you're backpacking across Europe, wifi is crucial to book the next hotel and plan the next leg of the trip. While we enjoyed the tour and wine tasting, being relegated to the "guest cottage" felt a lot like being second-class citizens to the castle. Find accommodations elsewhere if you are looking for luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raventwisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossella3107, Proprietario at Albergo Giovanni da Verrazzano, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Sorry, I think you made a mistake with hotel, I am not Castello di Verrazzano......I am La locanda di greve ristorante albergo da Verrazzano, another house anothe owner
Regards Rossella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015

Stayed here for a night during our touring holiday. Greve is popular for a reason, it's in a charming location, in my opinion suffering a bit from it's popularity, but definitely a good bet for a base in the area. The Giovanni is bare boned, a little tired... But has a great view from the upper terrace onto the square (or triangle of course). Best to go eat at the restaurant across from it though. Rooms are small but clean, price is a bit much for quality received. If refurbished this would be a romantic hang out. The breakfast was particularly disappointing, I mean, they had a espresso pod machine instead of freshly brewed, I don't travel to Italy to have a espresso pod at breakfast. Food on offer also meager. All in all not bad if you get a good deal.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank patten36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossellaRossi, Proprietario at Albergo Giovanni da Verrazzano, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2015
Google Translation

Buongiorno, per la precisione vorrei sottolineare che la nostra colazione a buffet comprende dolci fatti in casa yougurt naturale e di frutta, succhi, frutta fresca di stagione, cereali con latte fresco, formaggio pecorino dop del chianti, salumi di greve , olio extra verhine di oliva dop e uova bollite oltre a pane fresco burro e marmellate fatte in casa, la macchina in questione è una macchina da caffè della NESPRESSO che fa caffè espresso e lungo, e cappuccino e fa il caffè al momento come tutte le macchine da caffè , se non la conoscete mi dispiace, ma siete fra i pochi.
Penso che questa sia una buona colazione, certamente se la confrontate con Hotel grandi a 5 stelle vi sembrerà poca cosa, ma questo albergo ha 10 camere in totale e soprattutto puntiamo sulla qualità dei prodotti, mi dispiace che non siate stati in grado di riconoscerli, certo sarete abituati ai grandi alberghi.Sinceramnete, la maggior parte dei nostri ospiti è soddisfatta della prima colazione e delle camere, piccole ma dignitose e sicuramnete molto molto pulite
un cordiale saluto
Rossella Rossi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015

We stayed four nights here in September, 2015. The hotel was convenient to Firenze and there were plenty of restaurants in this small town. The first night we ate in the Albergo Ristorante. The food was excellent and I wish we had eaten there another night. Rosella was a wonderful hostess and is friendly and helpful and had a typical Italian breakfast waiting each morning -- and there was plenty to eat! Rooms were very clean and a decent size. We had a fairly large balcony off of our room which was great to sit out on and share a bottle of wine. Definitely recommend this albergo. Thank you, Rosella and your staff, for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: If view is important, ask for a room facing the street; if you want privacy and a balcony, ask for a back room.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossella3107, Proprietario at Albergo Giovanni da Verrazzano, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2015
Google Translation

Grazie infinite
saluti cordiali
Rossella Rossi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

More like staying in rooms above a pub than a hotel. As a previous reviewer said it was very noisy near the stairs, lots of noise echoed around. Pleasant terrace from room but not private. The room was spotlessly clean and good bed and bedding. However I forgive it all flaws as the meal we had there was scrumptious.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank aj1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossella3107, Proprietario at Albergo Giovanni da Verrazzano, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2015

Good morning
Thank you for your review, I know, is possible the people in restaurant were noisi and I am sorry for this inconvenient
I am happy you liked food and my restaurant
I will glade to meet you againe
Your sincerly
Rossella Rossi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews