We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa al Chianti B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2015

After three busy days in Florence, we needed a quiet refuge in the Chianti countryside. Casa al Chianti B&B fit the bill perfectly. Located in Dudda (population 48), a short drive from Greve in Chianti, it's the only game in town for lodging and a meal. The rooms are cozy, comfortable and nicely decorated. Ours had a beautiful view of the surrounding vineyards. The owner, Francesca, is spirited and friendly. Dinner at the restaurant below the B&B was superb: an antipasto of anchovies, then chicken cacciatore, homemade meatballs, sauteed spinach and profiteroles for dessert. Delicious! Breakfast the next morning was also excellent. There is also a small swimming pool for guests, as well as a complete deli and coffee bar.

Room Tip: Our room was called "Il Sole", and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eyeman369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2015

The B&B is located in Dudda, which is 10 minutes from the town center of Greve. It's up in the mountains in a very small village. The B&B itself was very nice with very friendly owners. She even offered to drive us to the whine festival in Greve.

We where together with another couple and we got a very large apartment with two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a large living area. The rooms themselves where clean (including the bathroom) and large. You have a nice garden where you sit in the sun or below the trees and enjoy the beautiful surrounding area.

Breakfast was very simple with bread, marmelade, cake, sausage and an egg. Nothing special.

All in all a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank svanaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

My title says it all. This was a wonderful place to stay. We played ping pong and swam while overlooking the gorgeous green sweeping planes of Tuscany.
We then enjoyed a wonderful meal at the restaurant below.
Perfect choice!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carly_baumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015

This tiny town with sweeping views of cypress trees, olive groves and vineyards is the Tuscany you dream about. Far from anything you could possibly consider commercial, Dudda is the perfect spot to locate yourself for a few days or a week of exploring the surrounding region. Francesca, the owner of Casa al Chianti, is energetic, talented and very anxious to please her guests. Your accommodation can be ancient (in an original 13th century building) or modern (a lovely, light-filled new apartment), but all comfortable and very clean. The food in the very traditional restaurant is some of the best you will eat anywhere at extremely reasonable prices. The gorgeous Romanesque church in the little piazza makes you feel as though time is standing still. It is all quintessentially Tuscan.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VTWindyrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2014

A friend at work reccomended Greve in Chianti as a base to explore Tuscany and all the fanatastic attarctions & surrounding towns. I was simply overwhelmed with our 7 night stay -Were do I start. I drove up fromthe South of France up to Italy via Canne the drive was very scenic and straightfoward. Chianti is breathtaking, Upon arrival we checked into our room that was very clean, homely and rustic Italian furnishings-magic. We had a long drive and was really looking forward to the food as we read some amazing reviews- By far the best Food we have tasted in my life, the wine a full 1litre of house red was delicious and 7 Euros incredible the food was so good we dined there 5 out of the 7 nights we stayed. The staff were so helpfull suggesting the best routes etc we visited so many places to name a few Florence,Sienna,Montepluciano & Pisa. Greve itself is stunning with markets and fantastic places to eat, We bought a Pizza from one of the Pizza places down in Greve and were given a glass of bubbly as we awaited for our takeaway- Just amazing people. Do the wine tasting in Greve its just magic, you can order a platter of cheeses,meats to go along with your wine- you simply buy a card £10 euro,20 euro etc and have hindreds of wine to taste from self service! The weather was just fantastic wakening up to the Sun each morning and having our delicious breakfast served from a lady who retired over in Tuscant from my home town of Glasgow! Pure Dead Brilliant!!!!
Again folks if you love good food, Enjoy fantastic weather,like culture, love the countryside & enjoy value for money Casa Al Chianti is amazing- apologis for not writing this sooner we stayed there in June 2014 for a week. another passion for me is cycling I was envious to see so many cyclists thrashing themselves up and down the Tuscany mountains stopping at Casa for a coffee and cake- the ownrs also run a shp from the B&B again just superb. This place was magic and loved every minute we travelled back to Nice and managed to stay a night in Monoco to break the journey up

Room Tip: Ask for the Mountain apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wsasm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greve in Chianti hotels
7.1 km away
Locanda Il Gallo
Locanda Il Gallo
#5 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
84 reviews
2.2 km away
Le Cetinelle
Le Cetinelle
#5 of 40 in Greve in Chianti
184 reviews
5.6 km away
B&B Grano e Lavanda
B&B Grano e Lavanda
#11 of 40 in Greve in Chianti
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Agriturismo Podere Torre
Agriturismo Podere Torre
#13 of 40 in Greve in Chianti
151 reviews
9.1 km away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
501 reviews
5.2 km away
Rifugium
Rifugium
#1 of 1 in Casole
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa al Chianti B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa al Chianti B&B

Address: Localita Dudda 12, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Greve in Chianti
Price Range: ₹ 5,093 - ₹ 10,566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The welcoming Bed and Breakfast “Casa al Chianti” is situated in the village of Dudda, just 7km from Greve in Chianti and 8km from the Arno valley. For those visiting Tuscany’s famous cities rich in art and history, or the Chianti Classico region, this an ideal stopping point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa al Chianti B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing