We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay”
Review of Il Molendino B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Il Molendino B&B
Ranked #1 of 20 Calci B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2017

My wife and I stayed at Il Molendino two years ago during our first trip to Tuscany. When we decided to return to the area this year there was no doubt where we would stay. Our second visit was every bit as enjoyable as the first. Fabiola and Stefano greeted us like old friends.
Once again we stayed in the suite Pietraia. This room is like having your own apartment. There is plenty of space to relax, the bed is very comfortable and the bathroom is large. The shower has plenty of hot water and good pressure. With the guest kitchen adjacent to the suite you have use of the refrigerator to store cold items or in case you want to buy some food at the local market for an evening snack.
Fabiola's breakfasts are wonderful. A great variety of food is available to suit all tastes. From cereals to pastries, meat and cheese and of course her wonderful homemade cakes.
If you need advice on places to go, your hosts are more than willing to help you. Located close to Pisa, Il Molendino is in a great spot to explore the area. Thanks again Fabiola and Stefano. We hope to return in the future!
Jack and Gina

Room Tip: For it's size and price, the suite is the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jab31151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2017

My husband and I (Dutch and French -US residents) stayed at this B&B three nights (June 18-21, 2017). This old mill has been lovingly restored and offers the charm of a traditional Tuscan setting and style combined with the comfort of a modern day home (great wifi connection, excellent mattress, AC, comfortable armchairs and enough lamps and electrical outlets, etc.) We appreciated the great attention to details of our hosts such as good quality bathroom products, information about the region (and we even got a lift to a local organic olive grove to buy olive oil), linen table clothes and pretty table setting/tableware and the breakfast on the terrace was such a treat! Fabiola is a wonderful cook and every morning we truly enjoyed her freshly baked croissants and a beautiful cake or pie, fresh fruits from the garden, wonderful bread and delicious local cheese, etc. freshly squeezed oranges, excellent coffee, etc. Our hosts Fabiola and Stefano were gracious and discrete and extremely helpful. We highly recommend this place. It was a joy to spend some time there.

Room Tip: ask for list of possible extra services such as cooking lessons, lift to town, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank catherinemI9876BP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molendino, Proprietario at Il Molendino B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup pour votre avis. Trés gentil, nous sommes vraiment content des votres mots sur Molendino. A bientot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Il Molendino is a beautifully restored centuries-old mill that has enormous charm and comfort as well as reasonable prices and a good location in the quiet village of Calci outside of Pisa, near the Arno. We passed through for two nights there and spent a day visiting the Certosa di Pisa in town, a former Carthusian monastery (including the University of Pisa’s natural history museum), walking about downtown Calci (which is not very exciting, except for the wonderful Romanesque Pieve of St John and Ermolao), and walking about in the hills surrounding the town. As Calci is only 10km from Pisa, it would also make an excellent quiet base for visiting Pisa and perhaps Lucca as well. Our hosts were extremely friendly and very helpful (though we weren’t very happy with our experience in the restaurant Cincetto that was recommended). Our room was spacious and incredibly beautiful. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the carpark is enormous and has windows and views on three sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molendino, Proprietario at Il Molendino B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Thank you very much for your amazing review , you don't know how many important is it for us.
Best regards.
Fabiola e Stefano.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Wow --- what a room: classic Cotto floor, classic furnitures - all in an old water mill.

The home made cakes are a treat.....easy to go to Pisa and still enjoying the Tuscany country side.

Had a great vacation there.

Room Tip: Go for the superior double room.....absolutely perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molendino, Proprietario at Il Molendino B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Thank you very much Robert. You are really kind and
we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to host you again.
Fabiola and Stefano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

We spent one night at ll Molendino solely because we didn't want to stay in the rather urbanised and characterless Pisa. And what a gem ll Molendino is. A classic 17th century stone building with classic Tuscan styling it offers a beautiful setting with a superb home made breakfast. Absolutely supwrb coffee and very helpful amd friendly owners. We would love to stay here again. The local carthusian cathedral is a must see. An absolutely stunning example of Italian history and culture.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Marcoappraisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molendino, Proprietario at Il Molendino B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Thank you . We hope to host you again in the future.
Fabiola and Stefano.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calci hotels
1.6 km away
VillAmorosa B&B
VillAmorosa B&B
#2 of 20 in Calci
29 reviews
1.8 km away
Agriturismo Al Palazzaccio
1.9 km away
Bellosguardo
Bellosguardo
#6 of 20 in Calci
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Bed and Breakfast Lilla
1.7 km away
Bed And Breakfast Zia
Bed And Breakfast Zia
#11 of 20 in Calci
6 reviews
0.4 km away
La Certosa
La Certosa
#5 of 11 in Calci
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Molendino B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Molendino B&B

Address: Via Nicosia 1, 56011, Calci, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Calci
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Calci
Price Range: ₹ 5,917 - ₹ 7,054 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Calci, B&B Il Molendino is a 17th-century stone farmhouse surrounded by the Tuscan countryside, a 20-minute drive from Pisa. It offers rustic accommodation with free Wi-Fi.All rooms and apartments at Molendino have wood-beamed ceilings and wrought-iron beds. They are air conditioned and decorated with classic rugs. Apartments also feature a private entrance and furnished patio. The large garden surrounding the property has barbecue facilities and seating areas. A bike rental service is available for visiting the area. Il Molendino B&B is just 200 metres from a bus stop linking with Pisa. A shuttle service for Pisa Galileo Galilei Airport can be organised (15 EUROS). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Il Molendino B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing