We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
273
25
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
25
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cake old mill pastries fruit wonderful hosts every morning thank you so much water mill excellent coffee hand made pie olive trees an amazing place family trip three nights cinque terre visiting the area
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Il Molendino is a beautifully restored centuries-old mill that has enormous charm and comfort as well as reasonable prices and a good location in the quiet village of Calci outside of Pisa, near the Arno. We passed through for two nights there and spent a day visiting the Certosa di Pisa in town, a former Carthusian monastery (including the University of Pisa’s natural history museum), walking about downtown Calci (which is not very exciting, except for the wonderful Romanesque Pieve of St John and Ermolao), and walking about in the hills surrounding the town. As Calci is only 10km from Pisa, it would also make an excellent quiet base for visiting Pisa and perhaps Lucca as well. Our hosts were extremely friendly and very helpful (though we weren’t very happy with our experience in the restaurant Cincetto that was recommended). Our room was spacious and incredibly beautiful. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the carpark is enormous and has windows and views on three sides.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molendino, Proprietario at Il Molendino B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Thank you very much for your amazing review , you don't know how many important is it for us.
Best regards.
Fabiola e Stefano.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Wow --- what a room: classic Cotto floor, classic furnitures - all in an old water mill.

The home made cakes are a treat.....easy to go to Pisa and still enjoying the Tuscany country side.

Had a great vacation there.

Room Tip: Go for the superior double room.....absolutely perfect.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molendino, Proprietario at Il Molendino B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Thank you very much Robert. You are really kind and
we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to host you again.
Fabiola and Stefano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

We spent one night at ll Molendino solely because we didn't want to stay in the rather urbanised and characterless Pisa. And what a gem ll Molendino is. A classic 17th century stone building with classic Tuscan styling it offers a beautiful setting with a superb home made breakfast. Absolutely supwrb coffee and very helpful amd friendly owners. We would love to stay here again. The local carthusian cathedral is a must see. An absolutely stunning example of Italian history and culture.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Marcoappraisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molendino, Proprietario at Il Molendino B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Thank you . We hope to host you again in the future.
Fabiola and Stefano.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Il Molendino is a B&B that is run by Fabiola and Stephano in a very old water mill. The setting of the place is supurb with great surrounding gardens. Calci might not be the most interesting place to visit, but it's in driving distence of many interesting places in Tuscany, just to mention Lucca, Pisa, Florence, Siena, Cinque Terre and many more. Fabiola and Stephena really make you feel a home and are extremely helpful. Breakfast is great.Definitely a place to consider hwen visting Tuscany.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Willem H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

It was our fifth visit of the Il Molendino in last six years. And this is our fifth review on it on TripAdvisor. So, what to write in it?

This year we stayed for 14 nights. These literally flew by like crazy. All of sudden and we woke up to the morning when had to leave this heaven on the earth. One may ask why do we feel so good in there. Let us try to explain.

The location is just marvelous. Calci is little village with shops, perfect gelateria, nice restaurants, playground for kids. Il Molendino is located in very calm part of it, in the middle of huge garden full of olive trees, bunch of different fruit trees including few fig trees, hazelnuts etc. In the night, you can listen to the sounds of the nature and literally feel it. Over the day, you can relax there, not being disturbed anything you known from our modern lives.

The apartment La Zambra, in which we always stay, is for us something like as our second home. Frankly, for few times, we thought about spending our summer holiday on a new place, but every time, we quickly came into the conclusion that we want to go to "our" apartment in Il Molendino. It has a big kitchen, comfortable sofa and bed, nice and clean rooms, convenient bathroom, nice terrace and cozy feeling.

Owners of Il Molendino, Fabiola and Stefano are always very friendly, nice and helpful. Even thought they have been very busy in past many years and despite their B&B is the best in the region, they are the always the same and would do everything for you.

Pisa is only 15-20 minutes by car, sea (e.g. Marina di Pisa) just 25-30 minutes by car. At about 30 minutes by walk or just few minutes by car, there is lovely village Montemagno which offers pretty unique experience. Few more minutes and you get to Vicopisano which has very nice historical center. In at about an hour by car, you can get to outrageous city called Casale Marittimo which is quite close to beaches in Cecina Mare.

If you get to this point, we believe that you have no doubts that we strongly recommend the Il Molendino to you. Just go for it. It is gonna be a unique experience.

THANK YOU for what you do for us and for all your guests, Fabiola and Stefano! Speriamo che ci vediamo l'anno prossimo! :-)

Room Tip: Out favorite is apartment La Zambra
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank johnnyho_svk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews