We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed at the Excelsior for my daughters wedding in Ischia. The service, accommodation and location could not have been better. We had 32 people from our group at this hotel and without exception it was a 5 star experience. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful and kind. From lost luggage, restaurant recommendations and arranging water taxi's, they went out of their way to help us. I hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kathy1655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2010

A really cosy hotel. Very good restaurant with a brilliant cheff. All the staff is very proffecional and friendly. Very green. Beautiful garden. If you plan to swim in the sea - this hotel is not for you. The sea beach is tiny and not too nice.
The SPA is not worth the money. The don't really know how to do it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Katique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2006

This is without doubt and outstanding hotel on a beautiful island. The hotel was stunning and the service and food excellent. The short walk through the gardens to the beach was about 1 minute and unlike many hotels there were plenty of space and sun lounges. Drinks on the terrace were very relaxing and the hotel is a short walk from the lovely pedestrianised main street. For those who stay in August there is an opportunity to go to a Gala Dinner night, mid August. This evening was exceptional. Well worth a stay and I cannot think of any complaint whatsoever. Even our Garden View looked out over the lovely garden, hills and part sea view with the Castle visible. The car park is only a staff car park and is well hidden and small…..

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank adyhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2006

We just come back from one week stay in Ischia.
Hotel Grand Excelsior was a great choice.
Very nice room (please remember: Italy standard are not Asian or American standard) exceptionnal food and service, great service with very nice attention from all staff, nice view on the sea and swimming pool, perfect location on the beach and 200 meters from the nicest shops of Ischia, open late in the evening.

Eveything to have a wonderfull stay and memories !!!

We will return next year for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dansti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2006

We are a couple in our fifties. This was our first visit to Ischia. We loved the place. The hotel was probably the best on the island. Our room had a balcony but overlooked the gardens rather than the coast. It was not a problem though as we spent to little time in our room. The pool was ideally located with plenty of loungers and excellent views of the gardens. We went half board and the restaurant was as befitting a 5 star hotel and the waiters looked after us very well. Breakfast on the terrace was brilliant with the sea in the distance through the trees.
Only grumbles concerning the hotel were the they tried to only serve the local Ischian wines which whilst they were OK we wanted sometimes to have something different. We eventually got a wine list (more like a book) but 98% of it was Italian wines only and at a mega price. Also the waiters could not grasp the concept that we wanted a white wine with one course and a red with the mains. They seemed to only want to give us one glass each. very strange. Also the drinks served on the terrace each evening were expensive. To be fair we guessed they would be as there was no drinks price list. They were served immaculately though by a very smart waiter. The other grumble was the use of the spa. We used it once and an assistance showed us how to use the sauna, shower etc and then we had to sign a slip (that should have been a clue) and on checking out we were presented with a bill for several pounds. They should have warned us that the service was chargeable. Nevertheless we enjoyed an excellent week at the Hotel Excelsior and would certainly go back if in that area.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gallavanting Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischia hotels
0.6 km away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
0.1 km away
Il Moresco Hotel
Il Moresco Hotel
#5 of 70 in Ischia
348 reviews
0.1 km away
Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
1,636 reviews
0.5 km away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#2 of 70 in Ischia
1,236 reviews
2 km away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Excelsior

Address: Via Emanuele Gianturco 19, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
#2 Family Hotel in Ischia
#4 Spa Hotel in Ischia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
Price Range: ₹ 15,151 - ₹ 36,002 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Excelsior 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing