We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay at Villa Maria again in a heartbeat!”
Review of Hotel Villa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Maria
Ranked #50 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Naples, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would stay at Villa Maria again in a heartbeat!”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

My friend and I really enjoyed our stay at Villa Maria! The Front Desk staff were very friendly, especially Dario, who went out of his way to assist me with my reservation that I had mistakenly booked for the wrong weekend. The room was the most pleasant, comfortable, and very clean (I loved that bed!). Our balcony overlooked the shops and restaurants. The hotel is in the central square/piazza! We were right next to shops, restaurants, buses, the water... Breakfast was just right! Dario made me the perfect Cappacino; rolls were very fresh! The lobby is very comfortable, and my friend was able to get Wi-Fi in the comfortable area. We would stay there again in a heartbeat!
p.s. November is "off-season" month, so the store hours are very limited--the only drawback.

Room Tip: Ask for Dario!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahsItaly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    63
    47
    17
    12
See reviews for
35
88
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro, California
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We arrived in Ischia on a Sunday afternoon by boat from Naples, figuring we would find a place once we got to the tourist bureau. Except the tourist office closes from 1-4. I'm not kidding. Fortunately the Villa Maria is right nearby and we took a room there for three nights. It's nothing special, but the breakfasts are ok and the location is great. It's only a block to great restaurants and lots of small stores,and the waterfront. One thing to watch out for is they say they have free spa access but they don't tell you it is available during very limited hours and before you can get a pass, you have to have a doctors examination that will cost you $40 each. Rent a scooter and tour the island, find hot water sands on a beach and get your spa experience that way.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank overbid2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Excellent choice, as this is located in the center just 2 minutes walking
to the Marina , where at night there are alot of restaurants serving fish
within 15 feet or so from the water. All the tables outside, and nice.
This hotel is also close to Via Roma, which is lined with oleander trees, and
is loaded with shops and restaurants also. Very nice strolling.
All of this is easy walking. Comes alive at night, no traffic.
Hotel serves heated croissants, and good coffee, with cheese /meat tray.
Rooms are spacious with nice bathrooms, Excellent value for a hotel
with old world charm. Huge parlor in front with violets and palms and
many wicker chairs. Antiques throughout. Large breakfast room.
The location cannot be beat, and why pay the high price of the Aragonese Palace Hotel
which is 2 minutes down the street, too close to the marina.
Not as nice or quaint as this hotel...so glad we chose Villa Maria..
Gelato across the street, and another cafe with more gelato and proseco
with full snacks, also across the street. Hotel has fast elevator, so no steps a plus.
Ceramic shop directly next door. Noise is not a problem at all, as doors are sound
proof once closed. Extremely good efficient air conditioning system also.
Hotel has its own restaurant, so if it rains this is a plus.
Good price and buffet here at lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chiantiConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

What can you expect when you are located in the heart of the marina. If it wasn't for the mopeds, the noise level would be much nicer. In the end, our stay at Villa Maria was very nice. Service is normal, hotel was comfy and clean and location was dead central. We could walk anywhere we needed to for a great restaurant, beach was close and we actually rented mopeds to travel around.

It was short walk off the ferry to reach the Villa. It has no spa, or any fancy amenities, but any of these can by found at a short distance anywhere on the island. In the end, we paid a good price for a nice place and were able to do ALL our activities at a stones throw from the hotel. The money we saved was spent doing the things we wanted to do elsewhere.

Room Tip: Noisy which ever room you get, but depends on the time of year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My husband has family in Ischia and has visited the island a number of times. We finished a tour of Italy with five nights in Ischia, and stayed at the Villa Maria. What a terrific location!! It was a couple blocks from the dock, and walking with luggage was managable. When you arrive on the ferry, take a left out of the dock and follow the road. Villa Maria will come up on your right on the opposite side of the street.

The hotel was probably the most basic of the hotels we stayed in on our tour of Italy, but it was by far the best value. We were shown a room that was as far away from the lobby as possible - it was a little far and a little run down. My husband asked if there were any other rooms available, and they happily switched us to room 203. It was SO much better! The room had high ceilings, was spacious, had a clean bathroom, and a big window that opened up to the front street and had an awesome view. Since we stayed in July, we did opt to pay for the air conditioning. It was lovely!

Across the street from the Villa Maria is the start of a terrific downtown area full of shops, restaurants, and the beach. There are bus stops in both directions as you leave the hotel; to the right a block up if you're heading towards the Castle, and to the left near the docks if you're heading towards Casamicciola. If you leave the hotel and head right you will also find a nice supermarket a block past the bus stops. We shopped there for bottles of water, tea, and snacks for the beach. They also had nice fresh fruit, as well. Villa Maria has a fridge, as well, so that was convienent.

The breakfast was included for us, and was rather basic. They offered coffees and teas, a couple types of cereal, croissants, and spreads. It was enough, but it was rather basic as I said. Across the street was an awesome cafe, Cafe Da Ciccio - they have incredible pastries, meals, and gelato. We had a lunch there and bought pastries on several occassions.
We spent five nights in Ischia and had a lot of family to visit. We did, however, escape for a day to Negombo. They had a beautiful beach, amazing pools, and really unique thermal pools. We spent the entire day there - we brought in our own lunches - and it was so relaxing. We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for room 203! It had a great view of the downtown area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoaminGnomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischia hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Conte
Hotel Conte
#11 of 12 in Ischia Porto
327 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Del Postiglione
Hotel Del Postiglione
#46 of 70 in Ischia
177 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel San Valentino Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hotel La Ninfea
Hotel La Ninfea
#53 of 70 in Ischia
191 reviews
0.1 km away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
1,577 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Bristol Terme
Hotel Bristol Terme
#8 of 12 in Ischia Porto
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Maria? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maria

Property: Hotel Villa Maria
Address: Piazza Antica Reggia 16 | Angolo via Osservatorio-via Alfredo De Luca, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,850 - ₹ 32,307
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private villa constructed in the 1920s, the "Villa Maria" has been recently renovated and furnished in provincial style. Centrally located: 80m from the harbour and 150m from the beach. Elevator service; roof garden and terrace with splendid view of the harbour and neighboring islands; bar, conference room, recreation area and cozy living room facing the main piazza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing