We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay- people watching at breakfast is a giggle!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Romana Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Minori
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2017

We stayed here for a week with tour operators Travelsphere in a group of around 40 others in November (I think I have spotted others in our party reviewing here too).

The hotel is in the middle of the little town and has a great bar and cake shop run by the Gambardella family just down the street and a cheap mini mart just up the road.It's not far to the beach and they bring your luggage in a van to save you lugging it.

The hotel and rooms were spotless with clean sheets every day. The bed and pillows were firm and just perfect for me. We stayed at the front of the hotel and heard some road noise in the morning which was fine. We could hear a cork pop next door but as our neighbours weren't particularly noisy (and neither were we) then this wasn't an issue. The shower was small but if I had been of a broader girth, I would simply have asked for a move. We found the room lovely and spacious. I wasn't expecting tea and coffee making facilities - isn't that just a British thing? I have stayed in hotels before where they charge for wi-fi and a room safe, but here these were provided free.

Breakfast was hilarious. Basically, the hotel welcomes a rabble of Brits and attempts to corral them into one area of the spacious dining room- makes sense to me because otherwise you would have two people on every table and nowhere more private for more independent guests to sit. Travelsphere do expect their guests to be a little social (- luckily everyone in our party was lovely). The waiters then attempt to stop said Brits from causing havoc. It's all very entertaining. Spinach quiche and the scrambled eggs were lovely- they even have baked beans! Cakes were great, full fat milk a bit 'Goaty' but the skimmed was fine. The coffee was poor -we had been warned by previous reviewers. Good quality tea bags on offer so I was fine and got my coffee fix out and about. By the end of the week, the waiters had the rabble trained up and all was well.

We ate dinner at the hotel every night because, even though restaurants in the town were being reviewed the week before we went- all apart from one were closed in mid November. I liked the food. I think I had chicken stock in a mushroom risotto one night, but apart from that, my pescatarean diet was well catered for with three small but good courses each evening. It came out fast and hot and the waiters were spot on. The white wine by the glass was horrid (and got sent back by me) - bottled was fine and red was o.k.all round,.

Reception staff (especially Stephanie who organised my taxi from Pompeii) were great. Housekeeping spot on. Night Porter good too. All in all- a great stay!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be noisy from 7am-ish
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Manninagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Beautiful Hotel , fantastic service cannot fault this establishment . The food was first class along with the first class service we received whilst staying at this Hotel.
I certainly recommend this Hotel and everything about it , if your looking for a relaxing holiday this is the place to stay.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

The rooms at the Villa Romano were clean and there was enough space. They may benefit from more usable drawers but the rooms were ok. Sadly they didn't have any teamaking facilities which is a service I expect. Wifi in the room was excellent. The beds and pillows were a little hard but that is just for my liking Staff really helpful, especially Dominic in the restaurant. He made us feel very special and bent over backwards to be of service. The hotel is situated near the centre of this small coastal town so not far to walk to the Roman Villa, the market, the shoreline and the tourist information office. Buses were available if you don't have a car. Beware the religious festivals, the one when we were there lasted all night, only letting up at 6.00 a.m. for mass.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side can be noisey, particularly when there is a religious festival going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 467lesleyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

We stayed in the Villa Romana in November 2017. It's a charming Hotel, a few minutes walk from the attractive beach. Minori itself is delightful. Being on a narrow thoroughfare in the centre of town, the Hotel is not coach-accessible and you may have to walk from the car park near the beach on arrival. (When we left, however our cases were taken to our coach in the Hotel's van). The staff were invariably friendly and helpful, and the general ambience of the Hotel was relaxed and pleasant.
Our third floor room fronted the street below and had a balcony. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom, however, was small and the shower tiny. Near to the shower there was an unmarked pull cord that was in fact an alarm switch. Sumptuous towels were provided and changed daily.
TV sets are affixed to the bedroom walls, and next door's can be clearly heard if your own happens to be off. It is advisable, therefore, to take effective ear plugs, in case of late night TV use in adjoining rooms. There are no coffee or tea making facilities within the rooms, although power points are available.
The standard of cuisine was good, and the dinners particularly enjoyable. A bottle of wine with your dinner will, however, set you back some 25 or 27 Euros and a 66cl bottle of beer 8 Euros.
As mentioned, the staff were very friendly and approachable, and we thank them for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Some noise can be expected in street side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

The Hotel is located a short walk from the sea front, the building is clean and airy, and generally staff are friendly. We stayed for a week in a party of 40 in November 2017, There were not many other guests, and our party was spread throughout the hotel, and our room was on the second floor at the front.
Bedroom: The room we had was adequate but faced the road and was very noisy, vehicle noise and hooting ensured we were awake very early each morning. There was no kettle, so hot drinks had to be obtained downstairs. Mini bar prices were astronomic, so we did not use it at all. There is a little shop just up the road that sells provisions for a fraction of the hotel price, so go there for beer and wine if you choose. Beds and pillows were comfortable, but our double bed was actually two singles put together with the sheets and covers made in such a way that they were still two quite separate beds.
Bathroom: The bathroom was good, with a bath, sink, toilet and bidet kept very clean by the staff, but some of our group had rooms with really tiny bathrooms and no bath. Our shower was over the bath, and while there was no shortage of warm water it was not as hot as we liked. In order to kill off legionella bacteria a temperature of around 60 degrees is needed, but here the hottest we could get was about 45 degrees. We were also warned by our travel guide not to drink the tap water here, and during the week a few of our party did have stomach upsets with vomiting, although we cannot determine the actual cause it is possible it came from within the hotel. The bath has a cord pull for emergency use, and as this was close to the shower head it was hard to shower without pulling the cord, in the end I tied the cord up out of the way so it couldn't be pull by accident. Towels were really good quality and were replaced every day but toilet paper was a bit thin!. Room staff were lovely, and our room was cleaned each day, soap and shampoo were provided.
Dining Room: Breakfast was identical every day, there was a wide selection but no variation at all, so the same items were brought out every morning and some seemed to have been there for ever! Coffee was really poor, self-service from some ancient machine that sometimes didn't work at all. Fruit juices seemed to be quite diluted, more like squash than fresh fruit. Bacon was fatty, scrambled eggs a bit rubbery, and sausages not very well cooked. There was lots of choice of breakfast cakes and other sweet products.
Dinner was adequate but without much selection, and not exactly special. Something gets lost in the translation from Italian, so fish is not always fish, it can be other seafood, like mussels, clams or prawns, so it's best to check exactly what is coming. The waiters were OK, but resembled the Addams Family, one in particular we named "Lurch" as he never seemed to be steady, and was extremely bossy to diners! I was told off on several occasions, first for trying to adjust the temperature of the toaster, then for standing the wrong side of the cereal bar, and for being too early! Like all hotel toasters, there are controls for heat and speed, but woe betide anyone who tries to customize their toast - you are likely to have "Lurch" pounce on you and tell you off!. We also saw him taking sneaky drinks from the bar early in the morning - so that may explain his somewhat aggressive attitude to guests, having taken Basil Faulty as his role model. He was also quite bossy in telling people where they should sit. Although very irritating at first, we all came to terms with this rather eccentric behavior, so were able to laugh about it in the end.
Bar Prices: Exorbitant, 27 Euro for a bottle of quite ordinary wine at dinner, and 8 Euro for a beer!
Reception: Always cheerful and polite, no problems with key management, but at checkout they tried to overcharge our drinks bill. We corrected this by trawling through our signed receipts and getting an authentic total. We were not the only ones, and I suspect that they try this on, a few euros here and there. Just make sure you sign for what you get at dinner, and don't pay for anything you haven't signed for.
Overall, yes, I would stay here again, but this hotel certainly does not reach 4 star standard. It's a decent 3 star, but is let down by poor meal selection, bossy waiters and noisy rooms.

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank alanmI6376AC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minori
9.4 km away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,587 reviews
12.4 km away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.2 km away
Hotel Santa Lucia
Hotel Santa Lucia
#1 of 7 in Minori
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
746 reviews
7.9 km away
Hotel Raito
Hotel Raito
#2 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
1,067 reviews
16 km away
Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Romana Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Romana Hotel & Spa

Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 90, 84010 Minori, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Minori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Minori
Price Range: ₹ 6,000 - ₹ 17,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Romana Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Romana Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Romana
Villa Romana Hotel & Spa Minori, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing