We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
353
139
19
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
139
19
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barshuttle servicestrombolihotel restaurantfamily ownedbeautiful hotelbreakfast buffet islounge chairstartufoself cateringfriendly hoteljunior suitesrenting a carstayed here for a weekbeautiful private beachlong stayclean place
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Great time in Tropea. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. The food at the restaurant was also great. Shuttle to the beach was a life saver as the walk was too far for my elderly father in law. Beach was fabulous, with crystal clear water. Loved the town as well.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeCozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a week with our 2y old son.

Even before arriving, they were helpful and responsive on email with our questions.

When we arrived our room wasn't ready, but we only had to wait 30 mins or so until it was. We were upgraded to a sea view apartment which was great, as the extra room and kitchen area were really handy with a toddler! The room decor was a little dated and not to our taste but spotlessly clean every day and more than adequate for our needs. We also had a lovely big terrace area with great views of sea.

The breakfast was full of variety and beautiful fresh fruit. We didn't try the restaurant.

The pool was my favourite thing about he hotel, it had beautiful scenic views and there was always enough space and sun beds no matter what time you arrived. The children's pool was also perfect for our little one. The private beach area was also great, again you would never be short of a subbed.

The only negative I would have to say about the hotel is the shuttle service (particularly for the beach) was pretty infrequent, and the times didn't really work well for us trying to manage a small child's routine. We ended up doing the walk to the beach most days, which is manageable as our child still sat in a buggy, but would be impossible for small children walking or anyone elderly or impaired. Also not such a pleasant walk uphill in the heat amongst the littered streets! Similarly we walked to Tropea one night, which is fine except the 200 steps into the town! It was an experience, but after that we tried to work around the shuttle times! It would have been perfect if there was an additional drop off at 6.30pm as we had a very hungry toddler after all the swimming!

Overall the staff were very friendly and accommodating, the hotel complex was spotless and a lovely place to stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank mayianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefania P, Responsabile reception at Hotel Tirreno, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Guest,

We are happy you had a wonderful experience and that you even took the time to share this with others. Thank you very much for vacationing with us and we look forward to welcoming you home again next year!

With best regards,

Stefania Piccolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

The staff at this hotel are all excellent, friendly and helpful
The breakfast buffet is very good with great choice and constant replenishment
The views from our mini suite are simply superb
The pool is very clean and nice to swim in but very sunny and exposed in the heat we experienced
The beach is very easy to get to and is nice if not the very best of sand we have experienced in Italy
My main issues with the hotel which stop it being 5 star is the bathroom is incredibly small for a suite of any kind and the beds are very,very hard indeed
All in all a good choice for a break by the sea in this region

Room Tip: Try to get sea views they are great to wake up to
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank hayesone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefania P, Responsabile reception at Hotel Tirreno, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Guest,

We are happy you had a wonderful experience and that you even took the time to share this with others. Thank you very much for vacationing with us and we look forward to welcoming you home again next year!

With best regards,

Stefania Piccolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

I stayed here with my husband for six nights in July in a junior suite. It is a resort hotel with self catering apartments as well as hotel rooms. Our room was spacious if a little dated. The shower was small but adequate. There was a lovely patio out front with sea views and deck chairs, table and chairs.
My initial feeling as we arrived was disappointment after a long train journey and we had a long wait at reception as there is only one young woman on duty. She was checking in another guest and then left us to our own devices while she showed the other guest to her room.
When she returned to check us in we realised there was no one else to help with the luggage. She gamely picked up one suitcase and we had to follow with a large suitcase and one small case. We had two flights of stairs with no lift. We felt this was unacceptable in a four star hotel. We are in our 60s and healthy but it was all a bit much in the heat.
Breakfast was very good and varied with sweet and savoury options with daily specials such as bruschetta and frittata along with hot options such as scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon.
The pool area is very nice with plenty of sunbeds and kept very clean.
Lunch however was awful. There is a snack bar at the pool and no lunch at the restaurant. The hot dogs and burgers were microwaved and did not resemble anything like they should have. I would normally never order this type of food in Italy but there was very little else. I had a tomato and onion salad which was Ok but very little else available.
We ate in the restaurant one night and it was acceptable, nothing special. The impression I get is that this is set up for self catering accommodation and therefore hotel guests get little choice.
The shuttle service was very prompt and the driver friendly, however the service is limited to day time beach runs and very few evening runs into Tropea which is a good two miles away. This is a problem because taxis are very few especially at the weekend.
The beach is free and well organised with lots of sun beds and lovely golden sand. Very child friendly.
Not a bad hotel and good value for money but I wouldn't return as we prefer a more adult friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Junior suite with nice patio.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

If you want a resort that is absolutely breathtaking and will go above and beyond to meet your every need, look no further!
I am in awe of Hotel Tirreno and their amazing, beautiful and well maintained resort. We spent a week there with over 60 family members (from all around the world) and every member of our family feels the same!
One of our guests sadly broke her foot during her Italy travels and Michele (the manager) sent a worker to meet her at the hospital, transport her to another for X-rays (the first hospital didn't have the necessary equipment) and stay with them to ensure they fully understood what the doctors were saying.
Their staff is beyond accommodating and kind. The morning after checking in every staff member knew us by first name, this made us even more at home!
We were fortunate enough to celebrate our wedding at Hotel Tirreno. The reception was flawless. The presentation was above and beyond what we could have ever dreamed of. Michele was always available for every question and walked us through the evening events, which were magical and breathe taking. He is the absolute best wedding planner! Whether we were at reception speaking with Imma, at the pool bar chatting with Tiziana or having Giovanni climb a tree to get us a fresh lemon for our water, nothing seemed impossible. There wasn't a single person on staff that wasn't exceptional!
I will absolutely be back!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Adventurer609931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews