We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful bucolic hotel”
Review of Hotel Tirreno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tirreno
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Parghelia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2017

To keep up with the back country charm of Tropea, this hotel is nestled close to the Mediterranean sea, with a beautiful driveway and fruit trees everywhere. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We had a junior suite, and the room was meticulously clean and well maintained, spacious but very basic, really in line with the overall setting. We had a private terrace as well wonderfully fit for morning coffee. There is no glamour here, just a comfortable, warm atmosphere, kind of like being at a bed and breakfast in the countryside. The pool was super nice and very clean, overlooking the sea. However, the hotel also maintains a beautiful private beach a short walk away which we used a lot. Breakfast was included and was served in an attached old house with a charming courtyard. The quality was top notch, but almost farm like, a fact which added to overall bucolic experience. If you cared to, you could also grab a peach or fig from one of the trees around the hotel... Renting a car in Tropea is almost a must as public transportation is severely lacking, but the hotel offered ample free parking, so that was never an issue. I cannot recommend that hotel enough.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wmaalouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017

Great time in Tropea. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. The food at the restaurant was also great. Shuttle to the beach was a life saver as the walk was too far for my elderly father in law. Beach was fabulous, with crystal clear water. Loved the town as well.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeCozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a week with our 2y old son.

Even before arriving, they were helpful and responsive on email with our questions.

When we arrived our room wasn't ready, but we only had to wait 30 mins or so until it was. We were upgraded to a sea view apartment which was great, as the extra room and kitchen area were really handy with a toddler! The room decor was a little dated and not to our taste but spotlessly clean every day and more than adequate for our needs. We also had a lovely big terrace area with great views of sea.

The breakfast was full of variety and beautiful fresh fruit. We didn't try the restaurant.

The pool was my favourite thing about he hotel, it had beautiful scenic views and there was always enough space and sun beds no matter what time you arrived. The children's pool was also perfect for our little one. The private beach area was also great, again you would never be short of a subbed.

The only negative I would have to say about the hotel is the shuttle service (particularly for the beach) was pretty infrequent, and the times didn't really work well for us trying to manage a small child's routine. We ended up doing the walk to the beach most days, which is manageable as our child still sat in a buggy, but would be impossible for small children walking or anyone elderly or impaired. Also not such a pleasant walk uphill in the heat amongst the littered streets! Similarly we walked to Tropea one night, which is fine except the 200 steps into the town! It was an experience, but after that we tried to work around the shuttle times! It would have been perfect if there was an additional drop off at 6.30pm as we had a very hungry toddler after all the swimming!

Overall the staff were very friendly and accommodating, the hotel complex was spotless and a lovely place to stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank mayianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefania P, Responsabile reception at Hotel Tirreno, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Guest,

We are happy you had a wonderful experience and that you even took the time to share this with others. Thank you very much for vacationing with us and we look forward to welcoming you home again next year!

With best regards,

Stefania Piccolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

The staff at this hotel are all excellent, friendly and helpful
The breakfast buffet is very good with great choice and constant replenishment
The views from our mini suite are simply superb
The pool is very clean and nice to swim in but very sunny and exposed in the heat we experienced
The beach is very easy to get to and is nice if not the very best of sand we have experienced in Italy
My main issues with the hotel which stop it being 5 star is the bathroom is incredibly small for a suite of any kind and the beds are very,very hard indeed
All in all a good choice for a break by the sea in this region

Room Tip: Try to get sea views they are great to wake up to
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hayesone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefania P, Responsabile reception at Hotel Tirreno, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Guest,

We are happy you had a wonderful experience and that you even took the time to share this with others. Thank you very much for vacationing with us and we look forward to welcoming you home again next year!

With best regards,

Stefania Piccolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

I stayed here with my husband for six nights in July in a junior suite. It is a resort hotel with self catering apartments as well as hotel rooms. Our room was spacious if a little dated. The shower was small but adequate. There was a lovely patio out front with sea views and deck chairs, table and chairs.
My initial feeling as we arrived was disappointment after a long train journey and we had a long wait at reception as there is only one young woman on duty. She was checking in another guest and then left us to our own devices while she showed the other guest to her room.
When she returned to check us in we realised there was no one else to help with the luggage. She gamely picked up one suitcase and we had to follow with a large suitcase and one small case. We had two flights of stairs with no lift. We felt this was unacceptable in a four star hotel. We are in our 60s and healthy but it was all a bit much in the heat.
Breakfast was very good and varied with sweet and savoury options with daily specials such as bruschetta and frittata along with hot options such as scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon.
The pool area is very nice with plenty of sunbeds and kept very clean.
Lunch however was awful. There is a snack bar at the pool and no lunch at the restaurant. The hot dogs and burgers were microwaved and did not resemble anything like they should have. I would normally never order this type of food in Italy but there was very little else. I had a tomato and onion salad which was Ok but very little else available.
We ate in the restaurant one night and it was acceptable, nothing special. The impression I get is that this is set up for self catering accommodation and therefore hotel guests get little choice.
The shuttle service was very prompt and the driver friendly, however the service is limited to day time beach runs and very few evening runs into Tropea which is a good two miles away. This is a problem because taxis are very few especially at the weekend.
The beach is free and well organised with lots of sun beds and lovely golden sand. Very child friendly.
Not a bad hotel and good value for money but I wouldn't return as we prefer a more adult friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Junior suite with nice patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parghelia
2.3 km away
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
#1 of 20 in Tropea
291 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Piccolo Residence
Hotel Piccolo Residence
#6 of 14 in Parghelia
111 reviews
0.0 km away
Porto Ulisse
Porto Ulisse
#7 of 14 in Parghelia
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Tropis Hotel Tropea
Tropis Hotel Tropea
#4 of 20 in Tropea
384 reviews
2.6 km away
LABRANDA Rocca Nettuno Tropea
9.8 km away
Hotel Village Eden
Hotel Village Eden
#2 of 20 in Tropea
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tirreno? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirreno

Address: Contrada Cervo Snc, 89861 Parghelia, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Parghelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Parghelia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Parghelia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Parghelia
#2 Family Hotel in Parghelia
Price Range: ₹ 7,123 - ₹ 24,203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tirreno 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is situated in the district of Parghelia, just 1 km from Tropea and with a splendid view of the Tyrrhenian coast and the Aeolian Islands (Stromboli Vulcano). The resort consists of Hotel Rooms and Suites, both surrounded by voluptuous greenery. Some of the services offered: swimming pool with baby area and Jacuzzi area, private beach with umbrellas and sun beds, shuttle service to/from the private beach and Tropea city center, inside car parking, transfer from the railway stations of Tropea and Tropea and from Tropea harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tirreno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Tirreno Hotel
Residence Tirreno Parghelia
Hotel Tirreno Parghelia, Calabria, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing