We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Every Penny”

Budget Inn--New Market
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Budget Inn--New Market
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in New Market
Kapoho, HI
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth Every Penny”
Reviewed 2 December 2011

This is not a luxury hotel, it's a 1950s style inexpensive motel. It's cheap, and a bargain (under $50 with tax). Cheap hotels often make up for their low price with dirty unkempt rooms. Not so at this Budget Inn. The bathroom was spotless, even thought the fixtures were old. And while Martha Stewart may deplore the furnishings ;-) we found them delightful in a funky, blast-from-the-past kind of way. The motel is run by an older Indian woman and her family, and they do their best to make it a nice place. I'm in favor of small family run businesses and we will stay here again if we're in the area. It's a perfect pit stop for a road trip. Although it's close to the Interstate, you don't hear traffic, and the area behind the motel is a meadow filled with cows backed by a view of the mountains. And of course, Luray Caverns are nearby, which is a must see phenomenon! This is a more economical option that the hotels closer to Luray.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DeepOceanSwimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    1
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
3
6
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Spent the night here on business travel, and decided to try out one of the older places for fun. This motel was built, probably around 1950, as the Battlefield Motel. The office still has some '50s flair, but the rooms have been remodeled.
The rooms are typical of an older motel. They are pretty big, and decently furnished. The linens were clean, and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom had lost most of its vintage fixtures, leaving only an unfortunate beige/brown two-tone tile on the walls. It was clean, but I had to tap the flourescent bulb over the sink to get it to come all the way on. You get a fridge, microwave, phone, and an ancient electric clock.
I paid roughly $53 for my room, and was pleased at what I got for the price. I slept well, but you are close to US 11 just north of town, so there was some road noise.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roadtripperMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2009

I was on vacation with my family and we didn't want to spend too much money so we decided to stay at the Budget Inn. I had made a reservation and when i got to the motel the clerk was ready for us and we were in our room in 2 minutes. Service was great and the room was definitely above my expectations. The room smelled good and the rest of the room was amazing, too. The room also had a microwave and a refridgerator. I wanted to get a nice sleep so, that my family and i could enjoy the caverns, the bed was well made and was perfect to sleep on. I would have to say it was better than staying at a hotel where you paid over 80 bucks. My family and i were very satisfied with the motel.

  • Liked — I loved the service and the room was definitely an A+
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank helper93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2007

Our car broke down going from New York to North Carolina. The gas station owners where we ended up told us this was the closest place, so we went. We had no other choice but to risk our car breaking down on the highway. When we got there, the lobby desk had all these awards on it, which I don't know how is even possible after being in our room. The guest room we had, had stains on the carpet, the shower had hair in the tub, the guest book that listed local attractions was moldy and stuck together when we tried to open it. The door frame was gapeing, had 3 locks on it and still looked like it could be kicked in. We put a chair under the door nob because we felt like anyone could break in. I pulled the top comforter off and slept on top of the bottom blanket because I couldn't even imagine getting under them. The other bed pillow had stains and we didn't even want to touch it. We waited until the garage fixing our car opened at 7am and ran out of there.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank eriickah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Market hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Market
1.3 km away
Quality Inn Shenandoah Valley
17.1 km away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
984 reviews
19.3 km away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 km away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
26.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
26.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn--New Market? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn--New Market

Property: Budget Inn--New Market
Address: 2192 Old Valley Pike, New Market, VA 22844-3902
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah County > New Market
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in New Market
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,020 - ₹ 3,791
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn--New Market 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Budget Inn--New Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing