We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Va!”
Review of Jacob Swartz House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Market
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jacob Swartz House
Ranked #2 of 3 New Market B&B and Inns
pcmclain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best stay in Va!”
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We went for a hot air balloon ride actually in Oct. of 2008. Our ride was the first thing the morning, but after we got back, she told us to be hungry.! No disappointment here. She brought a fabulous breakfast to us. She provided materials with local things to do.
They had an interactive civil war reenactment one night and it was the best $10 we spent! The cottage is precious and my husbands favorite place was the screened in deck!
We want to go back again but live 11 hours away...... Hopefully we can. Virginia our host was the best!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pcmclain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Virginia the Innkeeper lady is top notch. We've stayed here 2-3X now, loved every trip. Was able to fish, she had a BBQ for us to use, the house perches over the river, what views and sounds. Thecottage is huge, well laid out, all the amenities and more, by far the nicest layoff and biggest you'll find anywhere.
If you want to read, relax, fish, stroll, just ease back, this is the place and the food and snacks were superb. Great breakfasts every day, huge amount of food and delicous.
This is a must stay anytime we hit that area of VA.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clayhammer03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2009

Most B&B's give you breakfast, but Virginia had a warm peach cobbler waiting for us when we arrived for my birthday weekend in May 2009. The entire experience was absolutely delightful. She had a fully stocked kitchen with sodas, beer, popcorn, and plenty of "real" food if you wanted any. Plus, there were mugs in the freezer. There are so many wonderful things to mention, but you need to visit this place yourself. The screen porch off the Master Bedroom is wonderful. You can see and hear the Shenandoah River below. This one is a keeper!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CasperVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2008

We've been here so many times! We happened across it on our way down to Roanoke in 2004. It was our favorite part of the trip so we try to go back once a year.

The house is completely private and great for our family of 4.
Virginia's breakfasts and desserts are "to die for"!

A nice porch overlooking the river. If it's warm, take the path down to the river. It's gorgeous and the kids loved wading and throwing rocks into the whitewater!

TV room is full of great movies to watch.

You have everything you need there and it's close to all of the caverns.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Tin roof is noisy if it's raining
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MdWeekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2008

My husband took me here for a birthday surprise. It was perfect! The privacy was be best part- you get the whole thing to yourself! Such a cute little house with a beautiful porch overlooking the creek and woods. There were many books and movies to look at as well as tea and snacks. Breakfast was delicious and the hostess was very gracious. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Privacy
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sh663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Market
2.7 km away
Quality Inn Shenandoah Valley
18.8 km away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
961 reviews
25.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.0 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Woodstock
266 reviews
30.1 km away
Comfort Inn Harrisonburg
Comfort Inn Harrisonburg
#10 of 22 in Harrisonburg
257 reviews
2.4 km away
Days Inn New Market  Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Swartz House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Swartz House

Property: Jacob Swartz House
Address: 574 Jiggady Rd, New Market, VA 22844-2030
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah County > New Market
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in New Market
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing