We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic family holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Sol du Mazel, St Pompon, Dordogne, France. Hope Cottage and Rose Barn.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sol du Mazel, St Pompon, Dordogne, France. Hope Cottage and Rose Barn.
Outdoor dining at Hope Cottage overlooking the meadow and pool Fabulous heated swimming pool 12m x 5m with Roman end for the smaller kids
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Sol du Mazel, St Pompon, Dordogne, France. Hope Cottage and Rose Barn.
Outdoor dining at Hope Cottage overlooking the meadow and pool
Fabulous heated swimming pool 12m x 5m with Roman end for the smaller kids
Open plan living at Hope Cottage
The dining and kitchen area at Hope Cottage
Master bedroom in Hope Cottage
Second bedroom at hope Cottage with two single beds
Hope Cottage
Shade to relax by the pool.
Everywhere in the Dordogne is beautiful
Climbing frame in full view of the gites
Looking back up to the gites.  Rose Barn on right, Hope Cottage on the left.
Exploring St Pompon
The excellent Envie en Mets restaurant in St Pompon
Domme market
Hope Cottage looks down to the pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Domme, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Seeandemm
Paris, France
2 reviews
“Idyllic family holiday”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Sol du Mazel is quite simply perfect for a family holiday. We stayed in Hope Cottage with two small children for a week and are already planning our next visit. The owners have clearly put a lot of thought into making it child friendly and it really does make noticeable difference: everything we could need or want from the practical (multiple potties) to the delightful (huge wooden forts in the enormous and beautiful garden). We cannot recommend it highly enough for a family with young children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary B
1 review
“Holiday heaven for the whole family”
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Hope Cottage is situated in a really sweet village a manageable drive from Bergerac airport. The village is a short, picturesque walk from the cottage and conveniently has a small supermarket, boulangerie and restaurant. We had a really wonderful time staying in the cottage. The weather was lovely, and there was a delightful family in Rose Barn who we got on really well with. The pool was beautifully warm with so many toys there was never a dull moment, and the fabulously equipped garden kept the children entertained for hours. We ate wonderfully, enjoying a barbecue most nights, having shopped in Sarlat with it's enormous supermarket(s). The welcome pack was most helpful with loads of comprehensive instructions and ideas for activities suitable for all weathers. It was great that the house came with wifi too! We had such a great time and are hoping to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blestbake...
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great Cottage in wonderful grounds in a beautiful location!”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at Hope Cottage during the May half term week. We travelled with friends and used both cottages, which worked very well, plenty of space for all of us!
Hope cottage is beautifully decorated and equipped to a very high standard. The grounds are wonderful for children and adults alike. Our party enjoyed the forts and plenty of space to run around.The pool was great and we would have used it more if the weather had been a bit better. When it was wet there were plenty of games and toys to be used inside.
Sol du Mazel is in a beautiful part of France and there are many lovely towns to visit along the banks of the Dordogne. We would recommend a visit to Le Restaurant in Montclera.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portuscot
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb base to visit Dordogne”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed a week with a 2 and 4 year old. Huge grassy play area and fenced pool. Restored cottage with beautiful natural-looking interiors. Loads of indoor and outdoor toys and books, which my kids loved. Next door cottage has table facing to the other side to maintain privacy. Lovely village 10 mins walk, and main Dordogne sights are within 30 mins drive. Photos do not do the cottage justice!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen W
Lindfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic family holiday”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Hope cottage is a fantastic place for a family holiday. The cottage itself was very clean, well equipped (fab induction hob and sharp knives, lovely walk-in shower!) and we enjoyed cosy evenings in watching movies. The terrace is perfect for sitting out to eat, drink and watch the kids play in the garden. We really enjoyed the pool area, lots of inflatables for the kids and hammocks and sun loungers for relaxing. There are lots of things to see and do within easy reach – beautiful hilltop towns and villages, castles, chateaus, dinosaur parks and caves etc. as well as traffic free cycle paths (make sure to pre-book bike hire in peak season) and of course canoeing down the Dordogne (which was a particular highlight for us and our two girls (4 & 6). Out of all the holidays we've had in France, I would definitely recommend this place above all!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing