We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
127
26
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
26
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspink marblebeautiful hotelone nighthistoric churchcomfortable bedsholy weekcolonial gembeautiful poolspoke very good englishbig roombreakfast was includedbeautiful architecturesmall windowpool areahighly recommend this hotelplace to stayhigh ceilings
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Let me start with the building itself. It's a beautiful renovated old mansion which feels so full of history and colonialism that you'd expect Zorro to jump to your rescue at any given time.
The staff was really friendly and helpful. But they managed to forget to tell us that our tour was looking for us and left us a message. Which we did not recive.
The breakfast was top notch and had a fine selection of different types of food.
Our room was fresh with two very comfortable beds and a nice shower. The only downside (which in our case was a blessing) was that the cheaper rooms lack windows... we came during Holy Week, which meant a lot of noice from bands and the church so on our case the lack of window was perfect. Especially since the staff opened up a big room with a balcony so that we without windows could see the spectacle.
The pool area was really nice and relaxing and is good as long as there isn't to many families with children. The shape of the building works as an amplifier once you're in the pool..
oh, and the price is also good for what you get.
If I ever go back to Granada I definitely know where to live!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sofia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene S, Gerente at Hotel Real La Merced, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Sofia D,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We apologize for the tours situation, will look into it. Nevertheless, thank you for appreciating our culture, conservation and the history. We are proud that our guest like yourself can enjoy what our efforts , this mean a lot to us. Please come back anytime!

Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

At the start of our trip I sustained a leg injury at the US airport and from that moment, ambulation was more than difficult. That said, we were hotel bound pretty much for the majority of day and night (4 nights)with a few walks around town. All day we were present to see the staff clean the hotel, the rooms, the floors, the pool, the chandeliers and anything else you can imagine.... not a dust bunny to be found! The hotel was as everyone described, beautiful architecture with a pink marble staircase, nicely furnished rooms, a large wonderful pool and a great restaurant for breakfast.

In addition to the physical surroundings you would not find a nicer group of people at the front desk who are at the ready to help. Cristiana, assistant manager, gave special attention, made several suggestions that required less walking so we would not miss seeing the beautiful sites.
The staff genuinely understands what hospitality means and has taken service to a new higher level. This hotel should be rated as a top hotel in Granada. Thank you to everyone for helping to make our stay a terrific one and a special thank you to Cristiana for being the warm, sincere and helpful young woman that you are.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank slokyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene S, Director Comercial at Hotel Real La Merced, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Dear Slowly,

Thank you for your visit and reading this put a smile on my face. We are happy to help and make our guest experience the best and enjoyed Granada as much as possible. We could not be without guests like yourself. Hope we can see each other again.

Best,
Cristiana S.
Vice. manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We stayed here for 4 days at the end of our trip in Nicaragua. It's a great place with friendly staff, and the rooms and location were perfect. The room we had was on the second floor, and although it didn't have windows, we were happy as it was very quiet. The pool in the main common area is beautiful and we spent some time just sitting and lounging around it and reading. The staff were really helpful with holding our luggage on our early arrival and late departure.
The room itself had a nice cold fridge to store beers as well as great A/C to come back to after a day of hiking or kayaking.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene S, Gerente at Hotel Real La Merced, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Thank Mr. Brian for staying with us and we try our best to help you and your family feel good in your Nicaraguan Vacation. Hope you ca come back to our country very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

We stayed in the King Suite on the second floor facing the church with a great view. It had a comfortable bed with lots of space in the room. Rene the manager was concerned regarding the church bells that ring from across the street and asked if we wanted ear plugs. We declined as we thought it was part of the experience. The front staff booked a massage at a local spa and that was helpful. The pool was quite large and had a jet tub. I had a concern that the pool area in the inner courtyard would not get enough sun during the day but it was fine. The staff were seen cleaning all areas of the hotel during our stay.

Room Tip: Best room is King Suite with balcony on second floor facing the church. Great view.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene S, Gerente at Hotel Real La Merced, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Thanks for staying with us. Hope you can come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Absolutely stunning property! The pool and courtyard was perfect, it looked straight out of a movie. Beautiful views of the cathedral from the second floor. The rooms were big, very comfortable bed and great bathroom. The pool was a great way to spend the afternoons! Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MAViscosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene S, Gerente at Hotel Real La Merced, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Thanks for being our Guest and describe hotel Real La Merced with such wonderful words. Hope you can come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews