We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They made it right "2"”
Review of Hotel Granada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Granada
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Initially, I emailed Hotel Granada letting them know that we would arrive on July 5th and that we would like to reserve 3 rooms on July 5th and 6th for our dental team of 6. They wrote back letting us know that the rates I sent back to them are online rates only and that they could make the reservation for us at a higher rate or we could make the reservations ourselves online. So, I made the reservation letting them know again that we would arrive on July 5th but mistakingly asked for reservations for June 5th and 6th. There was no further correspondence that might have asked for clarification in the dates.

When we arrived at Hotel Granada, they told me that we didn't have any reservation s. I presented the email confirmation at which time they told me that our reservation was for June 5th - 6th. I looked at the email confirmation again. It stated that we would arrive on July 5th and stated reservations for June 5th - 6th. No one on our team noticed the differeneces on the dates. I guess I just saw July 5th at the top of the form and didn't confirm the rest. Still don't know why the person handling reservations did not request clarification on the dates.

At first, they stated that it was our fault and that there was nothing that could be done. After asking at least twice if there were rooms available, 3 rooms appeared for the 5th but none were available for the 6th and no refund...almost $300! We took the room with hopes that there would be cancellations the next day.

That afternoon and the next day, I shared our story with 2 different types of tour guides. They strongly stated that Hotel Granada needed to work something out for us...that they had a responsibility to do that. The morning of the 6th...no rooms available. Pm on the 6th, asked again...still no. Asked to talk the the manager...out of town. After a minor threat, I was offered the opportunity to talk to the chief accountant. The chief accountant came out and talked to me offering to put us up in another hotel at their cost on the 6th.

Thank you Hotel Granada for putting up with my persistance and for working with us. I believe that we both were at error, but you made it right. You do have a nice hotel, amazing structure with a great pool , quiet rooms and an excellent breakfast! Thanks so much again for taking care of us!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieRedCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 171 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

Our stay began with confusion. Our reservation email said we'd be arriving July 5, and later down the form said we wanted rooms for June 5, 6, and 7th for our dental team of 6 people. Reception said they had no reservations until we produced a copy of the email. Then we were told they could give us a room for the 5th of July but the hotel was full on the 6th and 7th, and there would be no refund. After making plans to stay at another hotel, we were told by several locals we should ask to speak with the manager. The manager was out of town, but the senior accountant arranged for rooms at a different hotel, and the staff was very helpful, providing transportation of all our luggage gratis.

All in all, the hotel was nice, the pool wonderful, breakfast very nice. Lesson: if something isn't right, it may pay to persist in asking for adjustment. Hotel Granada stepped up and made it right! ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank czechonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We booked a junior deluxe suite; the size was very accomadating. The hotel is huge (size) but it is not finished. The noice by 6am will be memorable. There is no elevators, so if you are staying in the second floor and you are carrying luggage make sure to get help. The pool is amazing, however it was difficult to get towels. Our room was not cleaned thoroughly. The tub had soap scum and there were no towels. The door knob was also destroyed (weird). The AC temperature never lowered less than 25 and when we turned on the fan (too get cooler) the fan made too much noice (we thought it was going to fall). The toilet was overflowing (we did not know not to deposit paper). You must know that the toilet paper goes in the bin!!!! do not flush...And there are no signs warning!. There is cable so you can enjoyable watch TV just remember it will not get cool in the room. The breakfast was not good. Be prepare for Gallo Pinto (cold) and limited amounts of fruits. However, the restaurant (main restaurant) is really good!!! Highly recommended. Just dont order hamburger as the meat is very hard. The pizza was good and the Bruschetta was excellent. The "asado tipico" is worth recommending. We never met the supervisor, although we asked because we were so disappointed with our stay. The location is wonderful. Close to the action but distant from the noice. We would try another hotel next time. A shame because the place is nice but The administration could use some studies in hotel management and more training.

Room Tip: If you are not satisfied with your room they can offer another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilengine49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

What a treat, great location in the city, good food, outstanding design and very pleasing to the eye. Staff was on the spot. It is worth the stay just to see the architecture, huge pool and gardens.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This is our favorite hotel in Nicaragua. The price is great for the quality of service and rooms you get, the staff is like family and very helpful. It's for us simply he best Hotel in town. We spent our honeymoon there and there was so much to do, so many places to visit and at night you can go out and walk along main street without fear. We also stay there when on business trips and recommend it to every group we have the chance to..simply because it's safe, clean, family friendly and beautiful!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indiraruv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 45 in Granada
257 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#26 of 45 in Granada
44 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
661 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,055 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel La Mar Dulce
Hotel La Mar Dulce
#32 of 45 in Granada
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granada? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granada

Address: Calle La Calzada, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: ₹ 6,364 - ₹ 8,897 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Granada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 4 star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing