We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
145
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
4
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high ceilings excellent property room suite small refrigerator speaks perfect english water cooler every morning city square rooms are large two twin beds beyond the call of duty local art pool area relaxing stay location is ideal flat screen tv air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2018

Excellent property for mid-to-long term stays in Granada!

Stayed in the front room. Kitchen with silverware and microwave on the entering floor.
Stairs up one level to the main bedroom and a junior side one bedroom. Large bathroom space.

Breakfast is downstairs in the main area in the back. Choices are between a fruit platter or traditional Nicaraguan breakfast with eggs, plantains, and bacon. Service was overall very good.

Location is close to the Post Office down the street in case you want to mail anything to anyone.

Room tip: For longer term stays, consider the closest room to the entrance. That room opens to a kitchen/microwave in the downstairs area.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmondson2018, Public Relations Manager at Casa Xanadu, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thanks for this review. Our average guest stays for 3 to 5 days and enjoys being in a restored colonial mansion rather than a hotel room: central but quiet. As for menu at breakfast our most popular is Huevos Rancheros! But we also offer Belgian Waffles and any number of other breakfasts and Judith our cook will also make anything to order at no extra charge. So stay as long as or as short as you like!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Xanadu. The staff was exceptionally polite and helpful. The included breakfast was delicious. The hotel is gorgeous; we especially loved the high ceilings in our room. The beds were comfortable. The hotel is close to the center of town, so getting around was easy. We’d recommend them to anyone.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BlueDevilOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmondson2018, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Xanadu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Thank you for your review of Casa Xanadu. The entire staff at Xanadu strives for 100% 5-star reviews but more importantly they sincerely want you to have a great place to stay during your visit. You mention the high ceilings. The high point is 25 feet from the floor! The original architecture was preserved during renovation due to is uniqueness. This combined with the location indicates the original owners were very wealthy and probably important also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

I stayed here April 13 - 15, 2018. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They had several options for breakfast.

My room was HUGE! The outer room had two single beds, a small refrigerator and a flat screen TV with Netflix. The Inner room had a queen bed, soaking tub and small closet. The bath was considered semi-private because it had swinging doors, not a full door. There were also swinging doors between the two bedrooms.

The rooms share an amazing vaulted ceiling. The AC worked great and there also were fans.

Rooms were also very clean. I am hyper-sensitive to fragrances and did not have any concerns with odors.

It took me awhile to notice that the only windows in the room were above the door to the hall and a skylight above the master bed. At first I wondered if this would bother me, and found that I really liked it. The room was very bright during the day, and cozy and private in the evening.

Hotel is centrally located. Another guest mentioned that it is across the street from a wall...the wall is part of a church yard and I did not think this was a drawback.

The hotel itself is beautiful — an old colonial mansion.

Room tip: My room did not have any exterior walls, which I believe contributed to a very quiet night with restful sleep.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmondson2018, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Xanadu, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you for your very detailed review of your first and lasting impressions of the Xanadu Mansion. The history of its renovation by our family should have been photographed. The challenge was to preserve the colonial architecture yet provide every modern day convenience to guests. I am happy that it pleased you enough to take time to write about it in your own words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

We loved our stay at this place and wished we had stayed longer. The staff is very helpful, the room (incl.airco) is veryyy big and clean (with jacuzzi!). Swimming pool is big enough to actually swim in and is well maintained.
It is a little bit more expensive than some surrounding hotels, but the breakfast (and free drinking water) is included in the price which makes it totally worth it. It is for me the best option to stay in this area.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Linelinelineline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmondson2018, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Xanadu, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you for your review and comments about what makes Xanadu Mansion a better place to stay. We hope to provide superior accommodations as you have mentioned. After all this is your vacation! Our staff has been with Xanadu for many years and loves working here as much as our guests love visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

First,Vanessa is a gem.The manager and the the crew were wonderful, muy amables.The house/rooms were gorgeous, clean, smelled so good, loved the local art, sheets, beds, amenities.Excellent experience

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sierras1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews