We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
143
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
4
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high ceilings excellent property room suite small refrigerator speaks perfect english water cooler every morning city square rooms are large two twin beds every request beyond the call of duty local art pool area relaxing stay location is ideal flat screen tv
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2015

There is nothing, absolutely nothing negative I can say about Casa Xanadu! Great in-town location, comfortable beds, nice pool, great outdoor sitting area, wonderful breakfast, and the happiest staff I have ever dealt with. Marlene helped us a number of times. Everything came off without a hitch. A most memorable stay, at a beautiful location!

Date of stay: November 2015
1  Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

Best hotel we stayed at while in Nicaragua , reasonably priced hotel manager picked our friends up at the airport ( for a small fee). We had the whole hotel to ourselves. Each morning we were cooked a great home made breakfast (at no extra charge). Would highly recommend staying here very safe clean and fun!

Date of stay: November 2015
1  Thank smant14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2015

We happened upon this charming little hotel/home on our last visit to Granada. The rooms were comfortable, quiet and cool. The pool area was fabulous and we were able to plug in our own msig which made this a very personal vacation. The staff was amazing, our host Marlene made sure that everything was taken care of - Judtih our cook prepared delicious food of our choice every morning and Jennifer not only cleaned our room but also played with our 3 yr old daughter and answered all of her tough questions! We will return!

Room tip: they have a variety of rooms, just let Marlene know what you aare looking for and she will help you pick the right room.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marti_R_Cortez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015

We stayed 3 nights at Casa Xanadu and really enjoyed our experience. We were a group of 4, and stayed in the Shangdu suite, which had a door close to the big water cooler [the names of the suites are not on the door or wall].

Other reviewers have described the place quite well in other reviews, so I will just add that they now have a bar next to the pool. It is not manned, and we didn't enquire about how it worked, but I suspect it is an honor system, where you keep track of what you drank. The reason we didn't use it was because we had asked Marlene (the excellent concierge and manager) to buy us some bottles of rum when she went shopping, and we drank from our own bottles. We also didn't use the ice from the kitchen, (as we go through a lot of ice quickly), so we bought a bag of ice from a convenience store, and kept it in the minifridge in the room.

When you enter the hotel, you can get a little queasy as you look at the floor. The tile pattern is an optical illusion, that makes it look like it rolls up and down.

We asked if they would cook us a meal one night, and the answer was Yes. We paid for the food we requested (they bought it) and they charged a $3 per person service charge to cook and serve it.

The staff also did 3 loads of laundry for us (we had been traveling for a week and a half) and it only cost about $7.50 for all 3 loads (can't remember the exact price).

Marlene was incredible in arranging tours and sometimes being the tour guide. She arranged for the horse cart tour to pick us up at the front door (with an English speaking driver). Another time we took at tour to Masaya Volcano (where you stand right next to the smoking crater!) and a stop at the local craft market.

Yet another time Marlene was the tour guide of a boat trip to the many islands in Lake Nicaragua. She brought bread to feed the monkeys, but we also saw that there was a bird that would take a piece of bread and instead of eating it, it would use it as bait to catch a fish. Amazing!

Our final tour was to Mombacho Volcano, where Marlene drove ahead of our car to guide us to the park. She then left, as she had other things to do. (She also made sure we had directions to drive to San Juan del Sur when we departed another day).

We arrived by car, and there are 2 spots in front of the hotel reserved for guest parking. Don't be fooled by the no parking signs painted in them. A man watches the car overnight, and he costs a nominal fee ($1 or $2 a night -- can't remember).

The post office is just a couple of doors farther down the street from the center of town.

We had one final request for Marlene, and she filled it perfectly. We asked for a tour guide in Managua, where we would be in a couple of days, and she arranged for a friend of hers to give us a [very good] tour there (where we added him to the list of drivers of our rental car, and he did the driving around the city).

We would happily stay at Casa Xanadu again.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Hedo-goer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Whenever I come to Granada which is every three months I stay here. You can see everyone except for two idiots gives this hotel 5 stars. I have read the one adverage and one poor reviews and know there is no merit for their complaints. I am sure if they made their wishes know that management would have "corrected" in their usual accommodating matter. Do not hesitate to stay here the rooms (all with AC) staff and location are excellent

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank consumer32256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews