We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
695 results
Traveller rating
499
156
30
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
156
30
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up bargreat locationthe main squarecentral parkhot waterthe hotel is cleanair conditioninghighly recommend this hotelrooms are spaciousvisiting granadathree nightscommon areasla calzadaan oasispoolscolonialjulian
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 695 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017

After a long day in a car traveling to Nicaragua, we were very happy to come to Hotel Colonial. With its great location and beautiful, colonial style, it provided a safe and welcoming place to spend our night.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tamara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Director General at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Mrs. Tamara,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a great review! Its was a real pleasure to have you stay here with us . We are happy to hear you liked our location and unique colonial style. We hope we can welcome you again soon! Thank you!

Best Regards, Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

I honestly do not know why this kept showing up as a top hotel in TripAdvisor. I booked it over Plaza Colon because it was SLIGHTLY less. The photos of the courtyard pool are amazing, but the rest of the hotel is dark and dingy and in need of a serious update. We paid extra for a junior suite that was GROSS. Unfinished, missing doors, tile in bathroom was grungy, cracked and old. Icky kitchenette. Looks like they may have started to upgrade and just left it. Had a little patio (that looked at rooftops), and the sliding glass door didnt work, making it worthless. Water didnt work one morning. IT was disgusting. This place is barely a 2 star place. We moved to Plaza Hotel Colon for a few dollars more. This is a Four star place! Gorgeous, well kept up. Clean. Absolutely amazing.

Room Tip: Dont go there.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Director General at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Mrs. Catherine,

With the same patience and kindness that we tried to deal with your requests during your 1 night stay, we will as well address your expected review. We really tried to find something constructive to get out of your comment but it is simply hateful, words like "gross" or "disgusting" are not only UNTRUE but uncalled for. We have hundreds of guests and reviews that can disagree with yours. Very suspicious to us that you mention another Hotel twice in your comment, but still we will accept it.

We will simply agree to disagree. When you wrote us by email you requested a room with allot of light. We detailed you the rooms we had available and made the recommendation of this Junior Suite that is on the 3rd floor with plenty of natural light, very spacious. At check in you expressed you did not like it so the receptionist did all she could in showing you basically every room we had available and you did not like any of them ( bottom floor, second floor, rooms with balcony or window ) you saw every room type in the whole Hotel! But decided to stay in the Junior Suite. The room has been updated and furnished and has a very nice patio/balcony and kitchen, perfect for long stays. Thank you for pointing out the sliding door, we acknowledge it was not working properly and we have gone to check and it has been fixed right away. Regarding the water pressure, we have a small noticeable note on all our bathrooms explaining the water pressure problems that our city experiences in occasions, we cant control when the water is shut off in the city or pressure drops, but what we can do is, if you let us know ( as detailed in the note) when and if this happens we can turn on our pump and you will get excellent pressure in less than 1 minute.

We think maybe you did not like the Colonial style Hotel and that is OK, no need to nitpick... its just a difference of taste/decor that you were looking for and that is OK too. Thank you anyway for staying with us and we hope you have a great rest of your trip.

Best Regards, Laura Acevedo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

I chose this hotel based on the Trip Advisor reviews. I was expecting a quaint hotel with an old charm. Personally, I was not charmed by any part of this hotel. Let me say this hotel leaves much to be desired. Perhaps my expectations were set to high. Don't get me wrong, I wasn't expecting the Ritz Carlton. Luckily, we only stayed here one night. If you are on a budget and just need a place to crash this is the place for you. If you want comfort, a feeling of security, a hot shower and amenities you should keep it moving. They do provide parking for your vehicle. The parking is located adjacent to the building in what looks like a mechanics yard. The gate to the parking area is pad locked and requires hotel staff to let you in and out (at night). Please note,there is no lighting n the parking area. You will need a flashlight. The windows can easily be opened with a little force. When we arrived there were no towels in the room. I walked to the front desk, as calling the front desk was not an option to request towels. When the towels arrived it was not a full set; we received all large towels. We checked out of the hotel around 4am and quickly made our way back to Managua to check into another hotel.

The positive: The hotel staff is very pleasant.
The Negative: The pool area, The entire room, The beds, The shower, The hot water (lack of) in the shower, Parking, Bugs/Lizards, and the windows.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Director General at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Mr Marc,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and by that giving us a chance to clarify your complaints. We notice it is your first review ever here in TripAdvisor and we would have hoped its was better.

First wed like to address the room, which is a very spacious Double with 2 queen beds, it was a really nice room right by the first pool. Regarding the towels, When you arrive at the Hotel before check in, if the room is available we of course allow our guest to check right in without any additional charges, since your room was just cleaned when you checked in, the maids where in the process of getting these to you. Also in the room, there is a phone that works perfectly, and right next to the phone is a note that says DIAL 9 FOR FRONT DESK . But we are glad that as soon as you asked for them we got these to you right away. The set of towels we offer are the large body towel and a medium hand towel. In the rest of the negatives you don't really specify why you didn't like them (the pool, room, beds) you generalize so in that confusion we cant really know or address these.

Now wed like to address the parking space. Hotel Colonial use to not have a parking area and guest use to have to park nearby, we worked really hard with the City Hall and other entities to try and get the lot next to us for our guests, it was hard because it is considered a Colonial Structure , and although its an open space lot its considered a historic building. We finally achieve this just last year. We with the permission of city Hall we were allowed to fix the rooftop tiles and structure, and restore the place as much possible. All this for our guests! It is a closed garage with a big padlock and yes, the guest do have to ask at the front desk for access, for security reasons we have to have control over who goes in and gets out. We have security cameras right outside , and the day and night guards making their rounds. Regarding the "mess" we did have a guest who came in having car trouble and our staff was kind enough to call for help and got this mans car fixed, maybe that was the mess you saw ,but it wasn't in the way on yours or any other car so we don't understand how this could have affected you. We do apologize for not lighting up the garage when you checked out at 4am, we are very sorry and this was our fault. There is a light in the nigh time and we will make sure this doesn't happen again.

Thank you anyways Mr. Marc for staying with us, we will take all that we can in to consideration and work hard to improve.

Best Regards, Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

I was just at Hotel Colonial yesterday and today, with my husband and our baby. The Hotel its beautiful, the staff is friendly and courteous it’s very convenient and surprisingly affordable for being almost across the street from the most visited site of the Granada Cathedral. Hotel Colonial is design and decorated so beautiful with original paintings and had made tiles, it makes you feel like you’re back in time of the era of the city’s foundations V centuturies ago. They have not one, but two pools with a bar right next to it...We will definitely come back and tell everyone I know about it, Hotel Colonial you and everyone must experience it!...We Loved it!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, and quite!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rudyard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Director General at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to know you liked your stay with us and enjoyed our Hotel and staff. We hope to welcome you again in the future!

Best Regards, Laura Acevedo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Had a great stay in Granada here: the pool is excellent, hotel is clean, and the staff are so accommodating. Thank u to everyone at the hotel, especially adrien ! Would recommend to all sorts of travellers

Gracias !

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Negin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Director General at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Mr. Negin,

Thank you so much for writing us a comment about your stay. We are happy to know you liked our pools, cleanliness and staff. I will give your regards to Edrien. Thank you for your recommendations!

Best Regards, Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews