We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and location”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and location”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

This hotel has great location next to Granada cathedral, the staff is nice and I liked the full colors of the room and settings. It also has 2 swimming pools, which is great after climbing the volcanos and exploring around, and the breakfast was really really nice. Staff was also really helpful and warm. My only critic, it is not so charming as many other Granada's hotel set in old renovated colonial houses.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabienen29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    147
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
139
222
51
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Beautiful, affordable, great location, clean, pleasant staff, .....very quiet even though is in the heart of the city...looking forward to my next stay here... Granada and Hotel Colonial are both amazing!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josue_fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Every time we go to Granada, we stay here and the hotel seems to get better and better. The customer service is fabulous, rooms are beautiful, spacious and comfy, pool is pristine and the breakfast is great. We booked a room the same day and the staff was quick to accommodate us, we had a room overlooking their beautiful pool. We had breakfast at the restaurant and they were so polite and the food was delicious. I love this hotel and will stay here every time I visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We pulled into Granada without any reservations and had an easy booking. The rooms are amazing. Pools are perfect to hide from the sun, and the swim up bar can't be beat. Very affordable as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicehines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Cost Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Colonial in Granada, Nicaragua. We couldn't have been more satisfied with our stay at the Colonial. Stepping in out of the rush of the center, we could feel the tranquility of the place. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. There are 2 pools, one with a bar, where it was easy to relax. The city on the first weekend of Holy Week was very busy with tourists, and along with that, many vendors competing for our business. The hotel was a haven of quiet, even though it was within a block from the center. The location was excellent, easy to walk through the historic section or to the lake. I would also recommend Erick's tours. We had an excellent bilingual guide for the tour of the islets, and an extremely personal taxi driver named Antonio who took us to Catarina and Masaya. If you speak Spanish, he is a great story teller!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,027 reviews
0.6 km away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 43 in Granada
319 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
663 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
7.6 km away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#2 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Property: Hotel Colonial
Address: Calle La Libertad | Central Park, 25 mtrs to the West, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,894 - ₹ 7,925
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing