We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Dynamite Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Patios Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Patios Hotel
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dynamite Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We found this hotel to be top notch. Off the square in a residential neighborhood, which is a nice way to get to know the lay of the land. Close to good restaurants. Very clean, welcoming and excessively charming.
They have wonderfully sweet staff and good breakfast and the best coffee we found during our stay.
If I go back to Granada, I would spend more time here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
71
159
20
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
474 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Nice looking boutique hotel but an emotionally dead and unprofessional staff. A pig with lipstick. Rude and lacking any sense of customer service. Issue I have with smaller foreigner owned hotels, in developing countries is that the "owner" often still sees you as an intruder and not a "guest." Perhaps if the owners were nationals and less opportunistic Nordic then maybe they might be able to be less rigid, angry, and inject more "soul" into their establishment. Hotel worth avoiding as its reminds me of staying with the "in-laws." Simple requests were frowned at and flipped to appear as if it's your fault for having any type of standards. They also threatened to call the police on me over a $50 dispute. Really? You're that tacky? His name was: Max. Unbelievable how rude this person could be.

Internet is unstable, unreliable, and very 2001. Water was out first morning of my stay. Had to go to reception wrapped in a towel. Attention would have been informing the guests of a water issue. Not allowing them to wake up and do their business and have to go to the reception in a towel asking for water. Yuck. Bed sheets were filthy and not changed (see photo). When I showed the front desk, only excuses were provided. Pool had bodily fluids floating at the top. Looked like saliva or worse. When pointed out to the reception management was more frustrated at the fact of cleaning the fluid than the incident itself. Not looking for any more areas of disgust and NO attempt to clean the pool further. Ok pool but not if you get infected from lack of care. Construction at 7:30AM., Asked for a second towel, which was removed by housekeeping and had to ask twice for a replacement. When it was finally given, it smelled like an old gym towel. Pointed it out by asking for a fresh one- it was "my fault". Allowing me to walk away with a smelly towel. Service is getting another and not discussing the issue any further. Instead they had me keep the dirty towel. No water in the room for guests, no fans in food area so by the time they come to take your order you need another shower, no turn down service, no sign of "attention" or gratitude, no flowers in the room… NOTHING. Not even a nightstand next to the bed. Would cost extra? Exactly. It's as if you're inconveniencing them for even showing up. What this hotel lacks entirely is attention to the guest. They don't care. They don't want you just your money. They would truly prefer to rent the room to your wallet and avoid the guest all together if the could. So why be a guest at what's nothing more than a highly decorated "youth hostel" posing as a 3 star hotel?

Never an apology. Why? Because it's your fault for coming to "their house" and not staying in a real hotel. Why I avoided the spa and food here. No confidence in it being up to a higher level or the kitchen being clean for that matter. Look how they left the bed sheets and disregard public areas like the pool. And frankly, didn't want to spend money where its not appreciated.

To make matters worse they wanted to call the police on me. I said bring it on… call them now. My last night at the hotel after one of my guests leaves, I am approached by reception to inform me that they have a policy of charging $50 for anyone showing up as a visitor. Threatening me to call police if I didn't pay up. On the website it notes, $50 "per additional person", but that clearly pertains to two staying and arriving at the hotel at the same time, versus a friend or colleague coming to see you. I had invited friends to come enjoy the hotel and relax outside of the noisy, polluted, and beggar filled tourist center. Should someone come meet you for business, for dinner, a chat, or for whatever personal reason they want a take of it. As if they were hotel pimps. Unsophisticated and desperate.

Is this is how they treat their guest on the last night? Aggressive and demanding money while threatening to call the police? A hotel trying to gouge the guest of any revenue possible. If the "owners" are incapable in providing service, training their staff, and maintaining a hotel to a certain standard then they need to go into another business that isn't service driven. Or at least don't misrepresent themselves on their website by stating, " Our goal is to give our guests a unique experience in a peaceful place" " It is a place where you can either stay lazy spending your whole day at the pool or you" Can what? Be threatened by management to call police over a petty dispute? Not so "peaceful" but definitely a "unique experience."

There's a review regarding Pure Nica spa on the same street and it epitomizes the attitude of Los Patios. As long as the "cashier" is ripping you off and not the owner then "all" good, after all who cares about the client?

As much as I wanted to enjoy this hotel, unfortunately the staff didn't impress and had me want to leave. Fortunately, I was leaving the next day and didn't have to deal with their indifference. Had it been any longer I would have checked out and put myself in a hotel closer to the town center and in a safer neighborhood. The area is impoverished, dangerous, and scattered with vagrants. Refer to photos they don't show you on their website right outside the hotel. Not recommended unless you are used to barrios and the inner city.

I work way to hard to spend my money and any establishment that doesn't seem to want it doesn't deserve my respect. Suggest trying other options in Granada and not wasting your time with a hotel that doesn't care about you. The fact is THEY simply don't care and there is no other way to put it. Should the hotel respond to this review, expect excuses and being defensive as that's all I had while staying there. STAY ELSEWHERE they don't want you here just your money. Hotel Los Patios was a most unpleasant welcome to Nicaragua. Making Mexico, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Panama, and anywhere else much more worthy of tourism.

Added: Was approached by reception this is what she said: "We don't want your kind here. You brought "boys" to your room for sex and we have a campaign against that." WOW! They thought my friends were prostitutes and I was her for sex trade. When I told them how dare they make that accusation, Management came to my room and said, "We want you the (vulgar curse word) out. You must get the (vulgar curse word) out and go right now." "My kind?" All in front of other guests. Sounds homophobic and discriminatory. If any of their accusations were true, it appears they are ok with having friends they assume are prostitutes as long as they get a $50. take. There you have it. Be warned.

Room Tip: Stay at other hotel. Avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosPatiosgranada, Owner at Los Patios Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
I have read your review on Trip Advisor and I am sorry to hear about your experience at Hotel Los Patios. After reading your comments, I discussed the matter with each of my staff. We are a new hotel and I appreciate your feedback in the areas where we can improve. Our goal remains the same to provide a good service to our guests that they would have a positive experience at our hotel.

Apparently, we were having problems with our water pump the day of your stay and we could have handled the situation better.

It is interesting, though; that your experience was quite different from the other guests who stayed in Los Patios during the same days as you did, April 2-4th. Their comments can also be seen on Trip Advisor. They enjoyed a pleasant stay at Los Patios and had a good experience.

With reference to your pictures and comments on Granada and/or Nicaragua, in all fairness, please keep in mind that Nicaragua is the poorest country in Central America and is still developing. There are many beautiful places to visit here. You should put into context your negative comments about this country. Our neighborhood is made up of local people whom we know, as my husband and I and two children lived here for a couple of years before our home was converted into a boutique hotel. We were never scared or frightened in our surroundings. It is a shame that your focus is of the poor people here in Granada that cannot afford to repair their homes. Perhaps Nicaragua was not a good fit for you.

In any case, I do apologize for your experience in Hotel Los Patios. We will work on the areas that you commented on to improve.

Kind regards,
Los Patios Hotel
Ingeborg Winther
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Fantastic small boutique hotel in Granada. Wonderfully modern in design, with features including a giant chess board! 6 rooms, all with great air conditioning and fans, tv, large walk in shower. All very clean. You even get given a mobile phone to use whilst you stay, if you should need one! There's an open plan kitchen with an honesty system so you can help yourself to drinks all day. Breakfast is amazing - fruit, juice, coffee, cheese & fresh bread, pancakes with honey and lime (you must try them, they're so tasty), or eggs & bacon. Service is very friendly. Pool is most welcome to dive into and cool off, plenty of sofas, a day bed, and hammocks to chill out in. This is the perfect hotel for singles, couples and friends. The only small downside when we were there was that there was a family with two small boys staying, and its really not the place for kids to hang out as there isn't much for them to do. Not the hotel's fault at all.

There is one negative review on this site - please ignore it. We were staying there at the same time, and we witnessed the falling out between the guy and the management. Subsequently, he was asked to leave, and he did so ungraciously. Please don't be off put by the comments about dirty sheets or bathroom, as this certainly wasn't the case anywhere else in the hotel, and I think it's just a case of sour grapes.

We would highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for a fantastic, modern oasis that you love to come back to after exploring what Granada has offer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessw1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Excellent hotel. I loved the place. It was so beautiful.
I was here with my husband in just a standard room, but the room where perfect! The servicelevel was higher, than most of the places i have stayed and payed for a suite.

The room was very clean and the pool was to. So nice to get up in the morning and be able to go outside and take a swim in the water. The spa-area looked nice as weel, although i did not try it out.

If you want to get away to a peaceful hotel with great facilities and lovely serviceminded staff - this is the place!
Very romantic place to be with your partner and with your family as well i would imagine!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marikana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We just returned from a 4 night stay at Los Patios. We traveled with our 9 year old daughter and had a great time. We stayed in the balcony suite which was absolutely beautiful, spacious and had a lovely balcony with an amazing view over the tile roof tops of Granada and of the volcano in the distance.

The staff was wonderful and helpful in every way. Very welcoming and made us feel at home. In fact, we were the only guests there at the time so we did feel like this stunning hotel was our home for a few days!

Breakfast is delicious and served with style. We had a few snacks as well and those were good, too. We loved the open feel of the place and all of the different areas to sit and relax. The pool was a bonus for us as it was very hot while we were there. I was able to swim laps in it which was a nice way to get some exercise.

The location is a bit removed from the center of town. It's only 6 blocks or so but when it's 95 degrees outside those 6 blocks can seem long. But we got used to it and felt safe - even in the evenings. We weren't out late so I can't comment on that.

We took a few tours (Las Isletas, Lake Apoyo - which were both really fun and beautiful) and we did the workshop at the Chocolate Museum which was also worth doing.

If you're heading to Granada, I can't recommend this hotel highly enough - every detail is so beautifully thought out and just gorgeous. We travel a lot and I would put this hotel at the top of my list of beautiful places I've stayed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#5 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.4 km away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
7.3 km away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Patios Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Patios Hotel

Property: Los Patios Hotel
Address: Calle Corrales 525, Granada 00000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,953 - ₹ 11,967
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Patios Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Patios Hotel is a boutique design hotel located in Granada, considered the most beautiful city in Nicaragua. The hotel features five patios, an outdoor lap pool with natural spring water and a recently built Spa area. In designing the hotel, the Danish owners blended the modernity of Scandinavian style with the tradition of Spanish colonial style.Amenities in each of the five hotel rooms include air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable tv, wireless internet service, as well as many other details to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Our deluxe suite features its own personal balcony with a magnificent view of the Cocibolca Lake and its islands, the Mombacho volcano, the Cathedral and the mountain chain of Granada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Los Patios Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing