We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude manager, no value for money, noisy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Ranked #5 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Rude manager, no value for money, noisy rooms”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

First, the actual resort. Nice entrance. Wooden walk ways look old and tired. Ponds under the walkways are full of algae. If you book a pool/sea view room, be prepared for lots of noise at night from the resort and neighbouring resorts. The rooms facing away from the resort are quieter. The rooms are standard 10 year old 4 star resort rooms, nothing special. The worst part is that the floors are wood in the bedroom and it sounds like bombs are going off upstairs when people walk on their floor above you. I can't understand why they would use wooden floors that make so much noise!

The shower and bathroom looks like something stuck in the 80's. Opening and closing of the cupboards can be heard in rooms on either side of you very clearly. The TV is so tiny it's hard to believe you are in a so called 5 star resort. The only nice thing about this place is the pool. The beach is ok, but a better experience can be had at any of the beach bungalows on white sands beach. The Chill just up the road from Amari is a way better deal. I had a look at the place and it is STREAKS ahead of the impersonally serviced Amari.

Next, the service. Although the main problem was Agoda messing up my booking by sending Amari information that only one person was staying, the thing that spoilt my stay here completely was the attitude of the staff.

I assumed after booking on Agoda which was the same price as the Amari website that I had booked 2 people. I have never had a problem with Agoda's booking system with regard to number of occupants. Checked in on Friday at Amari and they took a copy of my passport and credit card. Didn't mention a thing.

Saturday, wake up and go to breakfast with my fiance and after we finish eating, some woman comes to us to find out what room we are in to tell us there is only one breakfast included in my room rate. I was furious not because of only being one breakfast, but because they told me AFTER we ate. They didn't say anything to me at check in that there was only one breakfast included so I would have to pay for another. Instead, they wait like vultures until you finish eating to inform you that you will have to pay THB740 for an extra breakfast!

I went to the manager Pissamai who just told me to calm down. She offered no apology and solution instead all she did was take out my booking and repeatedly show me that my booking said one person and I would have to pay THB740 for breakfast. That was her solution for the customer. Then I was told I am lucky they didn't charge me for an extra person because my booking was for one person only! I should be getting charged an extra THB1500 per night! I don't know how they employ a woman like that to stand and give the customer the big [...] You - just point at the booking voucher and tell me to take it or leave it. I guess if you prepay they can do what they like. I will never stay at another Amari location in my life. It's a pity because my sister and her fiance will be married and June and were looking at Amari Emerald Cove to stay for 5 nights. Guess now I can tell them The Chill is the place to be.

Room Tip: Don't choose an ocean/pool view. Just take the rooms at the back of the hotel for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank whitebobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lam A, Manager at The Emerald Cove Koh Chang, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We have carefully reviewed your comments in order to address the issues you have raised. Your reservation was booked under single occupancy, and the rate was cheaper than double occupancy because of the differential of breakfast. The details of it appeared on both of reservation confirmations. When guest come with 2 people, we had to transform it to double occupancy. We hope you will also take the opportunity to respond to our on-line feedback questionnaire e-mailed to you after your stay so that we are able to revert back to you in a more personalized manner. Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    278
    78
    19
    10
See reviews for
245
508
48
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Amari on Ko Chang. The island is beautifully green and mountaineous so there are lots of great views to be enjoyed. It is not overly developed either which gives the island more of a natural feel than Koh Samui or Phuket. Hotel is very kid friendly altough there is no kids club or kids facilities per se. There are shops just outside the hotel where you can stock up on provisions and lots of reasonably priced restaurants at a comfortable walking distance from the hotel either along the road or along the beach. Transport to the hotel from the airport was very easy and well organised at the airport arrival area. Our only grumbles were a lower than expected standard of housekeeping (we kept running out of toilet rolls and had to request for more towels) and the price of food in the hotel restaurants which, in our opinion, was not anything special. The pool is great and the beach is lovely. I recommend this hotel to anyone considering a holiday on Ko Chang.

Room Tip: Superior rooms facing the sea are tempting if you can afford the extra but the deluxe rooms are pret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Amari Emerald Cove is about half way down the west side of the island. No matter which hotel you book you'll have to drive down the one, sometimes challenging road over the hills and down to the beach area. After passing all the 2 and 3 star resorts on the way, Amari seems like a bit of a haven, although like most of the other resorts, it's right off the main road. The property and ambiance of the place is great, given the limited space. At night especially with its beautiful orange lanterns and trees lit in white lights, the place is pretty spectacular, and you can forget that the main road is a couple of hundred meters behind the hotel.

Service here is excellent. We had problems with our reservation, thanks to Agoda, and the staff handled it superbly. This attitude remained throughout our stay. Service is prompt and the staff really seems to take pride in the hotel.

Very glad we booked the deluxe room. Beware of the "mountain view" of the superior rooms. Walking along the back of the hotel, it looks pretty depressing to be staring out on the canal and strip of stores behind the hotel. In the meantime, those who book the deluxe rooms get a view, especially at night, that makes you truly want to sit on the balcony and enjoy the sunset and then the beautiful lights of the resort.

Food here was okay and frankly, not too expensive. There's actually a great kids menu, something you rarely find in a better resort these days. The Thai restaurant at the hotel is lovely and I had a great meal for about 6 dollars. We tended to stay at the resort because it was Songkran holiday, and if you ventured out onto the main road you were bound to get covered in water and white paste. There are plenty of restaurants along the strip if you are willing to drive to find them, but many look like they've seen their better days. This is a lovely island where 85% is rain forest, and the big chains haven't gotten here yet, so you're not going to find alot of upscale dining. (If it's luxury you want and jet ski rentals, you probably need to find a different island.)

As for location, we ventured south from the Amari to meet up with friends, and the road was pretty scary in a few places with hairpin turns and steep, narrow slopes. I was glad, upon our return, that our hotel wasn't any further south on the island. Going north to White Sands Beach was nice, and the beach is decidedly better than at the Amari. But again - no major resorts up there to choose if that's what you want - lots of small, older places along the beach and small beachside places to grab a drink or local food. Still, it's worth it just to go up and walk the beach. The Amari property along the beach is protected by a concrete wall. You walk down steps to the beach, but there is coral and rock to watch out for, and the scene, given that you're already in Thailand, isn't as pretty as you might expect from the hotel photos.

The spa is ridiculously overpriced, given the proximity of spas and little Thai massage places to the hotel. The salon, however, is very inexpensive. They are co-located, so the pricing seems odd.

Overall, a nice stay at a decent price. After touring the island over several days we were fairly sure we had the best property on the island. If you could just pick it up and put it on the beautiful beaches north, it would be pretty perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed as a group during Songkran and the resort was packed. Overall the hotel is nice. It seems to be newly renovated (except for the lifts and some older gym equipment - which could be hazardous to use) and offers lots to do. The pool is beautiful facing the ocean; there is a nice selection of restaurants; there is a fitness room which is fine; the spa is lovely with well-trained staff; nice beach activities and small areas for kids; and overall the landscaping is really lovely and well-kept.

The breakfast (included in our rate) was very nice, including Asian variety and Western variety as well as an egg station. The service could barely keep up when the resort was quite busy. We noticed that many of the staff have been working from early morning to late at night every day. Needless to say, when the staff had sluggish service we could definitely understand that they are exhausted. Not sure why there weren't more staff to help with shifts. The Italian restaurant has extremely good food at good prices. The Thai restaurant is the same though food could be better if served hot and not lukewarm. Both restaurants were options with air conditioning.

We had both superior and deluxe rooms. As other reviewers have said, the main difference is that the deluxe room has a DVD player and an ocean view. The view is really lovely but if either the view or the DVD player don't mean much to you to have in your room (the view is available just a few steps out of the building and if you have a computer you don't really need the DVD), it's not worth the extra money as the rooms are exactly the same otherwise.

I rated 'cleanliness' and 'service' as LOW. Housekeeping was abysmal but also they seemed extremely short staffed. We were lucky to have our room cleaned by 6pm even though the 'make the room' sign was on all day. There seemed to be just 2 cleaning carts on each floor, which doesn't seem like very much. The cleaning itself was very superficial. Just a quick bed-making, sleep and possible mop, refreshing the 3 free bottles of water, refreshing used amenities in the bathroom, and some new towels (often not enough). The basin was washed but nothing else was wiped down or cleaned. If we had done the cleanup ourselves, this is what we would have accomplished, which is not much.... Also the babycot sheets are not fitted properly and when asking staff to change them, they do not install them properly. This was not an issue for us as our child is 1.5years, but for friends of ours with a small infant, this is an issue as the sheeting can cause suffocation. We needed to expressly ask for sheets to be changed even though it's clear they need to be changed (some food spillage on white sheets, for example) and even then, there are not enough sheets to be had in order to change them.

Room service is fine though there is no regular clean up of the halls. We noticed other rooms that had plates and trash outside their rooms for pick up that were there all night. In most other hotels of this caliber, this would be monitored routinely.

Finally babysitting is available but only after 5pm. Apparently the housekeeping staff are also the babysitters. The housekeeping staff are extremely friendly and nice, but I am sure that they are very exhausted by the time they are asked to mind children.

We have had the pleasure and honor of experiencing 5 star hotels in Thailand and greatly appreciate the incredible amount of care and detail taken at such establishments. If you are looking for a 5 star experience (based on Thai standards - which is very high), this will not meet your expectations. You will have lots of smiles at reception (but you will have to wait), generally friendly staff (if they are not exhausted) that can't provide much info in the way of activities, excellent staff at the spa, passable service at breakfast, sometimes non-existent staff poolside, and poor housekeeping (not horrific, but for the price, it will not be timely or thorough). But if you are looking for a very nice place to stay with average service, but good restaurants, this is the place to go.

We'd come back if we paid quite a bit less than we did during Songkran.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c000g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Fantastic hotel, good location, food was excellent. Will definitely go back on our next trip to Koh Chang.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Soulja24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
1.1 km away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
8.3 km away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#12 of 72 in Ko Chang
954 reviews
4.7 km away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#3 of 72 in Ko Chang
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#6 of 72 in Ko Chang
399 reviews
1.5 km away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
0.6 km away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emerald Cove Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald Cove Koh Chang

Property: The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Address: 88 / 8 Moo 4, Tambol Koh Chang | Amphur, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#4 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,757 - ₹ 9,392
Hotel Class:4 star — The Emerald Cove Koh Chang 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wild beauty and peaceful setting of Koh Chang, one of Thailand's best-kept island secrets, at The Emerald Cove Koh Chang. This five-star Koh Chang resort on set on secluded Klong Prao Beach offers 165 rooms and suites, all with views of either the sea to the west or the jungle-covered hills to the east. While the soothing modern Thai interiors of the rooms and suites tempt you to relax inside, Koh Chang adventures await just outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Emerald Cove Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Amari Emerald Cove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing