We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing Ashram experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rishikesh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parmarth Niketan Ashram
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Rishikesh
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing Ashram experience”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Parmarth Niketan is located on the banks of the Ganga in Rishikesh. The rooms are simple and clean and much better than I thought they would be given this is an Ashram. The room had a great view of the River. I practiced Hatha yoga at the Ashram twice a day and it they were well instructed classes. During the week they also held meditation classes in the evening that included anything from silent meditation to Kundalini chanting. The price also includes three simple vegetarian meals a day. The evening Aarti is really special and worth seeing on a daily basis. I did end up leaving a two days earlier than planned as it was really cold when I was there and I was heading down to the South to get some sun. The front office staff were quite rude during my stay, which was the only downside to a beautiful and peaceful time at Parmarth and Rishikesh. I'd recommend Parmarth as an easy introduction to an Ashram experience in India.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Ganges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank roxstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    101
    36
    14
    22
See reviews for
84
44
76
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Patiala, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My parents visited the parmarth niketan ashram, Rishikesh on 5th May 2012 and stayed there till 9th May 2012. I have booked their accomodation by email which is given on parmarth niketan website on 3rd May 2012 and they have booked a room. It was very nice experience that they have reserved a room by just an e-mail. My parents reached there and they have given the room of my parents choice ( ganga view on 1st floor). Right from the beginning to the last date of their staying all the member of parmarth niketan ashram treated them as their family member. very nice holy atmosphere, maintained cleanliness and very cooperative members. My parents enjoyed each n every moment at parmarth niketan ashram , especially ganga aarti. Whoever wants to visit rishikesh must visit parmarth niketan ashram and be present at the time of ganga aarti. Its awesome experience. If you are planning to stay then take ganga view room on first floor. Very nice place and very helping and cooperating members at the ashram.

Room Tip: Ganga view room on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank Vishu_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new delhi
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

i recently visited Rishikesh after a stopover at Haridwar. to start with the entirity of Rishikesh feels so much more peaceful and tranquil compare to the unmanaged scenes of Haridwar.

Parmarth niketan is an ashram located on the banks of Ganges and holds a breath taking 'Aarti' (prayer) each evening on the banks of the river. spectacular place to just sit and experience the peace in the lap of the Himalayas with the holy river flowing by.

the rooms are clean and modest, nothing fancy but have all necessary amenities. and the staff is extremely generous... we were handed the room keys without talk about any fares and charges and on asking about the room rent and charges they said we could donate anything we liked based on our means and wishes.

experiencing the 'aarti' is a must do.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
18 Thank saarthak26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I stayed there for 8 days. It has one of the cleanest and well maintained ghats with a Ganga-Arti every evening. If you are a religious person hoping to find spiritual enlightenment, I doubt you will be rewarded. It is more of a custom-made retreat more apt for introspection and self-study. A lot of foreigners around means that they have to keep most of their yoga/learning programs starting from basic levels which might drain out Indians coz most of us usually know the basics. for. eg a nature cure class which goes on for 2 hours about general benefits of haldi, tulasi, neem, garlic etc (not very detailed or scientific) makes you go a bit fidgety.

The living quarters are simple, spacious and have prompt maintenance services. Hot water, blankets, western style WC, 2 beds, a small kitchen platform, a cupboard, two chairs and a table are what you are provided in twin-sharing. There is a market close by where you get anything you have forgotten to bring from home. not very expensive. If you go for the Ganga-block (hoping for view of the river) do go for the 1st floor as ground floor view is obstructed and the street dwellers make hell of a noise in the night which no authority can do anything about.

There are other options like Vanprastha Ashram nearby if you don't like this one. They are lovely too. In fact better maintained. But I found that this place has a different energy to it. maybe because of the living in Guru and his students or the devotion with which everyone observes the decorum. The watchmen, ayurvedshala, block attendants are very courteous and helpful. Front office might come across as a bit clinical and rude in the beginning (especially if there are a lot of guests) but they are nice people to deal with in the long run.

Food is included in your room charges (which they call donation for some reason, maybe tax purposes). 3 simple vegetarian meals a day. There is a 104 year old baba who you might bump into at meal times. He is fun to interact with.

The Kerala Massage is ok. Not great. They need to train them better. But then, the charges are reasonable too (Rs. 800 for full body massage) so no complaints there.

The building has Kabir dohas inscribed all over. very inspiring.

Go there with an agenda of your own. keep some free time and an open mind to participate in their activities (which you might find very enriching if you are a foreigner), accept it for what it has to offer and you will feel a wonderful energy resonating within you. Good thing is they don't force you to attend everything. I hope to go back there sometime. It calls out to you, to come back. especially the serene statue of Shiva.

Room Tip: Chk your room before moving in. ganga block ground floor has obstructed view of the river (for which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Vandana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I stayed at the ashram for the excellent yoga festival, & then for a couple of extra nights.
There is hot water, clean rooms, great laundry service, beautiful surrounds & lovely people.
The wifi is limited to the Ganga block and is very inconsistent. This would be the only area for improvement.
The food was excellent!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank amoslandrybasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rishikesh hotels
2.1 km away
Aloha On The Ganges by Leisure Hotels
1.8 km away
Hotel Akash Continental
Hotel Akash Continental
#25 of 45 in Rishikesh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.7 km away
EllBee Ganga View
EllBee Ganga View
#6 of 45 in Rishikesh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Ganga Kinare - A Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.3 km away
Hotel Yog Vashishth
Hotel Yog Vashishth
#7 of 45 in Rishikesh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.7 km away
60's Green Hills
60's Green Hills
#9 of 45 in Rishikesh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parmarth Niketan Ashram? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parmarth Niketan Ashram

Property: Parmarth Niketan Ashram
Address: P.O. Swargashram, Rishikesh 249201, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Rishikesh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Rishikesh
Number of rooms: 1000
Also Known As:
Parmarth Niketan Ashram Hotel Rishikesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing