We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Best experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Great Ganga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Great Ganga
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Rishikesh
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

The Great Ganga is the best hotel i have checked into in the number of visits i have made to Rishikesh. Great food, Great service, Cordial Staff- It is a complete Package!
If its Rishikesh, It is Definitely The Great Ganga!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nilay0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    68
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
52
38
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
beirut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

i stayed in great ganga hotel a week with my friend, from 26 march till 2 of april. we picked it from tripadvisor and it was the best choice. very good location, near the market, the ashrams. clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful especially the manager who helped us a lot ..
the food is very good, for those who are afraid of spices , dont be, u can have non spicy food. for me i was hoping for more spicy food ;
u must try also their spa. it's very good. we had massages daily . i recommend the powder massage and the kalari is very relaxing for the muscles.
we had a wonferful week back there. they all make u feel like home.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I had stayed at Great Ganga a few years ago and had such fond memory of the place, I didn't want to go anywhere else while back in Rishikesh. By all standards, this is still very much the right place to stay in Rishikesh in this category: the staff is absolutely wonderful, the location perfect, the food as good as healthy. Simply a great place and there's no doubt why all reviews agree.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elsa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

As others have said, the staff at Great Ganga Hotel are so friendly, helpful and accomodating. The staff went out of their way for service such as programming my TV for English stations and bringing a cell phone to my room when the main switchboard was not working.

The room was extra large, and very clean, other than a slight smell of mold and mildew. I kept the exhaust fan running 24/7 and this helped my sensitive nose. The bath tub is poorly designed, so this is where the water issue comes from. I liked having the small refrigerator and the coffee maker in the room. Not all the rooms have queen beds, so ask for one.

I stayed for 10-days and had a custom "spa package" designed for me at their in-house spa called Neer. They don't promote it much on their website. I had a different spa treatment every day included with the room rate. Most were pretty good, especially for the price and the atmosphere. I am a spa junkie! Rishikesh does not offer much in the way of affordable and decent spas, so I was happy to find this experience at Great Ganga. My favorite was the Hammam, a Turkish steam. The spa attendant gets in the tiled room with you and exfoliates your body with special products.

Ask for a room near the spa for a great view of the Ganga! For me, this was the best part of their location.

On the downside -------The spa music was not loud enough to drown out the street traffic below. My other complaint was the electricity went off excessively during my stay. August is still rainy season and we had several deluges during this time. I would wake-up hot and sweaty every night when the power and a/c went off for extended periods.

Otherwise, a lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firecrackerbaby2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed in this hotel during a 3 night stay in Rishikesh. I had spent two weeks in India prior to coming to this hotel and it was a breath of fresh air. Desk staff were very helpful with all my needs and also helped with arranging my tours. Lots of useful advice from them. Rooms are reasonably sized and very clean. Resturant provided excellent meals and resturant staff were very friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rishikesh and will definitely be there again. The location is perfect....cannot get any better. Shiva, Vinod, Rohit and Tripti are very pleasant people to deal with and being my first visit to Rishikesh, they provided me with an outstanding level of service which I found rare in India.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 105....nice views...beware of monkeys on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajith108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rishikesh hotels
2.1 km away
Aloha On The Ganges by Leisure Hotels
2.9 km away
EllBee Ganga View
EllBee Ganga View
#6 of 51 in Rishikesh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
4.0 km away
Ganga Kinare - A Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Atali
Atali
#1 of 51 in Rishikesh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.7 km away
Green Hills Cottage
Green Hills Cottage
#11 of 51 in Rishikesh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.5 km away
Ganga Beach Resort
Ganga Beach Resort
#43 of 51 in Rishikesh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Great Ganga? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Great Ganga

Property: Hotel Great Ganga
Address: Kailash Gate,Muni-ki-Reti, Rishikesh 249201, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Rishikesh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Rishikesh
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,208 - ₹ 3,959
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Great Ganga 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Great Ganga is situated at one of the best areas in and around Rishikesh, at Muni-ki-Reti, the place where the holy Ganges meanders out of the hills and enters the plains. The Hotel is designed in such a manner that one can enjoy the enchanting panoramic view of the Holy Ganges, surrounded by the lush Green serene hills from each room. It takes just 5 minutes casual walk to reach the banks of Holy Ganges from the Hotel. All rooms are equipped with air-conditioners heaters and have private balconies from where one can enjoy the fabulous view of the river Ganges, the Chandrabhaga river and Rishikesh town. Yoga classes & ayurvedic massage therapies are also available. The Hotel is situated in an atmosphere of serene tranquility & peace which brings inner comforts & body relaxation. We have a multi-cuisine vegetarian restaurant open from 7 am till 11 pm. The highlight is the nearly forest a most appropriate surrounding for nature walk. The internationally famous aarti ceremony performed every evening can be witnessed from the roof top of the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, TravelGuru and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Great Ganga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing