We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$ 9
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$ 9
US$ 8
View deal
SAVE US$ 1
Free cancellation until 19/06/21
Priceline
US$ 9
US$ 8
View deal
SAVE US$ 1
Free cancellation until 20/06/21
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (782)
Filter reviews
782 results
Traveller rating
675
76
20
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
675
76
20
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family dinner chai place to stay common room home away from home hot water these guys laundry service solo trip felt like home highly recommend this place clean rooms amazing place visit rishikesh anu curtains rooftop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 782 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2021

This might be a good dorm from what it seems after reading reviews. However, their "Deluxe Double Room" is in very shabby condition. The sheets had big gaping holes in them and did not seem washed since many days. The quilt had bigger holes and seemed dirtier. So much for the sanitization claims in light of COVID. Not a single staff had mask on (that's their problem though). The room was very small, dingy and without any ventilation. The window opens up in a back alley without any mosquito screen so forget about opening it after March.

The staff seemed nice but the room and the amount I paid for it was a rip off. The owner/management should stick to the dorm model and stop renting out rooms.

The location is right in the bang of Lakshman Jhula market near all cafes and music stores, which is what I always prefer during my stay at Rishikesh.

My rating: 0/5 for the exorbitant money the room cost me on top of dirty, worn out linen.

Room tip: Avoid rooms. Go only for Dorm else look elsewhere.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Gautam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2021

Reaching hostel with big luggage is not easy as it located other side of Lakshman Jula. No auto or taxi allowed in that narrow road. You need to carry your luggage for at least one kilo meter. Hostel people were not ready to provide any help here.
Also, reaching hostel in night is very difficult as it is located little inside the road. You can not find it easily. There is no lighted board of hotel in main road.

Room tip: Bunk beds are good here
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JayaprasadR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2020 via mobile

So I was staying at the Hostel for more than 2 weeks it was an amazing stay the staff is really good it was 4 guys they were so helpful in every way possible the ambience of the Hostel is so good rooms are very clean toilets are very clean blankets and everything is so good but the there is an old man he says he's the owner of the place and he's so annoying he asks a lot of questions and sometimes he's a bit rude as well I don't think he's the owner of the place !!! But nonetheless it was an amazing stay kudos to the real owner and staff loved it!!!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank beyondj2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2020

Having travelled a lot across the country, this is by far one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in! It has a great location as its is right in the middle of lakxman jhula. Cherry on top is the staff who wori there. There are no words enough to describe the kind of hospitality and comfort you recieve from nitin and rishikesh when youre at their hostel. They are vedy friendly and would be able to guide the travellers thoroughly as to what to do and where to eat etc.
They have great comfortable dorm beds with clean white linen.
They also have personal rooms with great view.
Plus to satisfy your social animal they also have a great rooftop sitting area where you could unwind and connect with other fellow travellers.
All in all it is a 10/10 hostel. There is absolutely nothing to complain. Have a great stay.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Rhea_Rastogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2020

I am an avid traveler and have stayed in a lot of backpacker hostels till now across the indian subcontinent. Shiv shakti is has been my best experience so far. They have the best location,right in that sweet spot of laxman jhula. Exactly where you have to be. There staff is extremly friendly and over time they will surely become your friends which you look forward to catch up with on your next trips. Nitin,rishikesh,Sanjay they were very freidnly and most helpful. They will guide you exactly on what to do and where to go. Anu,the owner of the hostel is the vibe setter of the place. She is super chill,very cool and oh-so-friendly. They have very clean beds. Clean bed linen. A very beautiful decor which sets you up with your travel vibe. They also have a very smooth and fast running wifi. Also,they have a rooftop sitting area where the extrovert in you can find some solace and socialize with people from all over the globe. THIS HOSTEL IS A MUST VISIT. I have been staying there for over three years on various trips to rishikesh and i have found the most satisfying experience always. Thank you Shiv Shakti for doing what you do!!!!!!

Room tip: They have dorms for every height available.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tushrasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews