We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell in love at the Hill Top”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hill Top Swiss Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I highly recommend Hill Top Swiss Cottage to anyone planning to travel to Rishikesh. The views are amazing, that alone is reason enough to stay. But if you need more, the rooms are clean and neat, the vicinity is quiet. The staff is friendly and kind. There are restaurants, internet cafes, shopping, even massage within walking distance. Exceptional Yoga room just off of the main office (reception), which is bright, airy and clean, it also includes its own bathroom. It was my good fortune to have been at the Hill Top for my stay in India. I love Rishikesh and everything it has to offer and that was thanks to my experience at the Hill Top. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Rishikesh and neither should you. thumbs up!

Room Tip: Best views from second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian_Swan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 147 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Hill Top is your home away from home. Clean spacious rooms, amazing staff and owner, all your needs met and always someone there to make your stay a pleasant one. In Utam and Nishant's hands you will be well taken care of. On top of all of this, which is hard enough to find in India, there are amazing views, proper showers and everything important to see, do or eat is within walking distance. It's far enough from everything so you can enjoy some peace and quiet, but close enough to everything to get there within minutes. To sum it up: beautiful, clean, friendly and affordable. Why go anywhere else?

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vandeneijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

do visit this place if you go to rishikesh, scenic beauty. Rooms are very neat and clean. fabulous place for foreign tourist to stay and enjoy. The services are amazaing and the owner too. The rooms are not costly and range are present for all types of people. amazaing hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ranamahendrasingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We are long term travelers with basic needs - general level of cleanliness and enough space for our (minimal) stuff. This place exceeded every place we had stayed thus far (two months in India)!

We stayed in the 1000R ($20 USD) room. It was above the office. The room was completely clean and recently done. The bed was comfortable. There is a small couch and coffee table in the room. The TV has plenty of channels. The power does go out often, but that is a city issue not hotel's. You do have to turn on hot water heater 20 min prior to your shower, but that means you can have 24hr hot water if you want.

The bathroom was clean and spacious. There is a small armoire in the room, which is nice if you want to unload a few things. There is even a small balcony off the back! The view is south, so you don't see much of the town or river, BUT there are no hotels out back...which means it is private, and you don't have to worry about anyone seeing in the room. (We stayed in another place with a view of the town, but that meant that several people in hotels below us could see in the room.)

There are windows (with screens) to the back porch as well as next to the front door...this means you can get a cross breeze if you want. The back porch railing was perfect for hanging clean clothes to dry.

Every morning I went to yoga, and when I would get back to the room, I would be so comfortable. It was the only room in India that made me feel actually happy to be in the room.

The location was good and bad. It was good because you are away from the noise and honking. It was kind of bad because it was a solid 20+ minute walk to town. That being said, I wouldn't change my location if I were to return to Rishikesh. The restaurant (Oasis) was also good and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: #201 was our room. It was great. Any room in that "block" will be good (you'll underst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LifeDocumented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

best hotel i stayed in india in matter of rates also. nice big rooms with a million dollar view with best staff. way 2 go HILL TOP ... i hv becme ur fan. keep going n best of luck

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rishikesh hotels
1.1 km away
Aloha On The Ganges by Leisure Hotels
0.0 km away
OYO 4475 Hotel Akash Continental
4.8 km away
Ganga Kinare - A Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Shiv Shakti Hostel
Shiv Shakti Hostel
#1 of 213 in Rishikesh
561 reviews
1.0 km away
Divine Ganga Cottage
Divine Ganga Cottage
#2 of 126 in Rishikesh
761 reviews
1.0 km away
Rishikesh Sadan
Rishikesh Sadan
#42 of 57 in Rishikesh
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Top Swiss Cottage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Top Swiss Cottage

Address: Tapovan Hill Top Swiss Cottage Badarinath Road | Tapovan, Rishikesh 249192, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Rishikesh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 213 Speciality Lodging in Rishikesh
Price Range: ₹ 715 - ₹ 1,560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hill Top Swiss Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HILL TOP SWISS COTTAGE is situated at the hill top of High Bank, a place very famous among western travellers. it is a place that is to yourself with ample time to introspect and spend time with family, perched on a hill top and the ganges view rooms. The Oasis Restaurent and German Bakery in its premises is very famous serving the best cuisines in the area.It is situated on the right high bank of the Ganges at Tapovan, Rishikesh. Facing the roaring Ganga, retreat is surrounded by thick reserve forests at the base of Himalayan foot hills and is the one of the best accommodation available along the Ganga.Hill Top Swiss Cottage is the ideal destination for families and those who are looking for complete rejuvenation. Yoga, Mediation, Ayurvedic massages, Nature walks are at their best at the retreat.Being the most happening accommodation, Nature walks, Jungle treks, mountain biking, rock climbing, rafting, Kayaking & wild life trips are few of the many activities one can take. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip and Hotels.com so you can book your Hill Top Swiss Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing