We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ganesha Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ganesha Inn
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Rishikesh
KOLKATA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nice place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

i have stayed this hotel for 9 days with mother this is the best place to stay at rishikesh. From airport pick up to check out every thing was excellent, The rooms are very clean and room service is also up to the mark. From the room we can nearly touch the ganges. Specially the owner of the hotel take personal care to all the guests. The food quality is also very nice in one word this is one of the best place to stay at haridwar and you can have taste of varity of dresses from all corners of India.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel2011Kolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    43
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
47
37
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Ganesha Inn is by far one of the worst hotels I've stayed at in India. Though the reception area seems relatively nice and clean, all decked out in white wih a small stylish store at the front, do not be fooled by appearances. 

First of all, the manager has a habit of telling potential guests that all of his rooms are available, only to go back on this once you have agreed to look around; changing the story so that now only the expensive rooms are free (which is interesting as we hardly saw any other guests during our stay and his claim is that all of the cheaper rooms are booed - I saw him pull his stunt on more than one person).  

Second, he will tell you that there is free WIFI, working electricity and AC, and clean sheets. Once you realize this is not the case he will promise to have an electrician in in a half hour, which will turn in to six hours, and will ensure you that your sheets will be changed, which they will not. Our WIFI never did work, but he did waive the Internet usage charges we racked up on he computers downstairs, and our AC and electricity availability was a constant battle even after the electrician had come and gone. On our second morning we also did not have running water for a few hours, which the manager denied when I mentioned it to him.
Aside from this, the beds are uncomfortable, and the cleanliness of the rooms are all around questionable.  

Further, if you're thinking perhaps its restaurant is a saving grace, you will be sorely disappointed. After being unimpressed by the menu we took most of our meals at a hotel down the street (which was amazing). We did try one meal at Ganesha however; at 9am we ordered three of he "American breakfast" meals, which is to come with your choice of egg style and some potatoes and juice. After  checking in with the kitchen twice (and being assured it would be 5 more minutes both times) our food finally arrived at 10:30am..only it was not what we'd ordered. My fried eggs were boiled and the scrambled option was some bizarre sort of spicy mashed egg concoction, and there were no potatoes or juice to be seen. I flat our refused to eat or pay for this meal and, having come to the end of my rope, quickly asked that we be checked out.

It's only strong point is location, as it's in Lakshman Jhula, but I am sure  you can find  much better options for the area. Some of the staff are good at their jobs, and it is clear it is the management who is at fault for this one. Save yourself some headaches and money and go with another place. 

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Melanie_Ewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

I spent only 3 days in this hotel. It was my first time in Rishikesh. I did not want to leave. Staying here made tis part of my trip magical. The owner was fantastic. He went above and beyond for me. I felt very well taken care of by him and his staff. The room and view of the Ganges was incredible! I was even visited by some monkeys on my balcony a few times. It was very relaxing, clean and all around wonderful. Any problems that occurred where resolved immediately and efficiently. So much so that I can't recall anything that went wrong.
When I do return to Rishikesh I will stay here and for much longer!
check out my pictures and see for yourself!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chasgo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

When we read the Ad that saying 'View Ganges, hear ganges, feel ganges' we thought it was just the usual gimmick. But it was really marvellous. Ganges is just a few feet away we shall virtually feel it!, Nice stay, Nice food, Nice people. We hundred percent recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rishikesh hotels
0.3 km away
Green Hills Cottage
Green Hills Cottage
#9 of 51 in Rishikesh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Yog Vashishth
Hotel Yog Vashishth
#7 of 51 in Rishikesh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Akash Continental
Hotel Akash Continental
#25 of 51 in Rishikesh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Aloha On The Ganges by Leisure Hotels
4.1 km away
EllBee Ganga View
EllBee Ganga View
#5 of 51 in Rishikesh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
5.1 km away
Ganga Kinare - A Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ganesha Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ganesha Inn

Property: Hotel Ganesha Inn
Address: Laxman Jhula Road | Tapovan, Rishikesh 249192, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Rishikesh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Rishikesh
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,347 - ₹ 5,280
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ganesha Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Yatra, Agoda and OYO Rooms so you can book your Hotel Ganesha Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing