We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and doesn't deliver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sanskriti Vedic Retreat
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Rishikesh
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night during May. Originally planning to stay more we left as soon as possible having realized how poor the value for money offered by this hotel is.

- The room itself was clean, but nothing to write home about
- The hot water is the shower did not work
- We where not provided with blankets and had to repeatedly ask for some
- The hotel staff locks the gate to the accomodation floor at 10pm (apparently for security reasons) yet does not provide guests with the key - so in effect you're locked in!

- overall, we found the staff to be rude and unattentive. This hotel offers a one star service for 5 star prices. Definitely avoid!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nayalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanskriti1982, Manager at Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Hi,

I really appreciate your concerns for Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, Rishikesh.
we want you to visit us again so we can have a humble opportunity to change the mindset about us.
We are open again after a lot of hard work and ready to welcome people like you who enjoyed and miss the stay with us. We are finalizing the finishing touches and ready to serve you. Very soon we are posting pictures of Sanskriti .

Looking forward to welcome you

with warm regards

Krishn Vaish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012

The rooms were Ok, mattresses not very thick but OK by Indian standards. No wifi in our room but sporadic in dining room. The food that was available was very good but were out of many things. Massages were good. Nice view of Ganga and nice balcony by restaurant. When we wanted to check out went downstairs an hour ahead of the time we needed to leave and it took longer than an hour. Although they knew we were leaving that day they had not gotten our bill ready. Then they could not process our credit card because their machine was broken so we had to pay in cash which was very inconvenient. they were not at all apologetic.

Room Tip: the room right below the lobby gets wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanskriti1982, Manager at Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Hi,

I really appreciate your concerns for Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, Rishikesh.

We are open again after a lot of hard work and ready to welcome people like you who enjoyed and miss the stay with us. We are finalizing the finishing touches and ready to serve you. Very soon we are posting pictures of Sanskriti .

Looking forward to welcome you

with warm regards

Krishn Vaish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We were two families who stayed for 3 days at this place. The cleanliness, staff and overall ambience is great. The place scores 100% on location being right next to the Ram -Jhoola providing easy access to the evening Aarti. Also the bazaar is just below the rooms, so one can stroll and buy stuff or take a boat ride across Ganga anytime of the day. Rooms are good-sized, bathrooms clean with nice hot water. The views from the rooms are to die for sp in the early morning and evening hours. There is a nice cafe which has good veg food. One needs to pre-order for lunch and dinner and even though as Indians one might find the 'spices' a bit low, the preparation is very good. The spa has well trained people and the massages are value for money. The hotel also helped us book a river-rafting outing at a cost less than what was usually charged. The owner made it a point to meet us and kept us informed about everything. Thank you Deepti for your wonderful place. I have already recommended it to many friends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anurakshat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanskriti1982, Manager at Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Hi,

I really appreciate your concerns for Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, Rishikesh.

We are open again after a lot of hard work and ready to welcome people like you who enjoyed and miss the stay with us. We are finalizing the finishing touches and ready to serve you. Very soon we are posting pictures of Sanskriti .

Looking forward to welcome you

with warm regards

Krishn Vaish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We were a group of 4 from UK who visited Sanskriti in March 2012.
We originally intended to stay for two nights but having visited the premises prior to our stay we decided against this, as the living facilities did not meet our expectations.

Instead we thought we would use the day spa facilities.

We prearranged with the reception to ensure that there would be enough therapists to provide five treatments for each one of us (approx. 3 hrs for each person) on the day. This was also further confirmed with the reception on the day before our arrival.

On the day we arrived as agreed in the morning but found there was only one therapist available and almost two hours were spent by the reception staff to arrange for other therapists. During this time we also overheard the reception staff speaking to the owner who refused to give approval for a therapist as this therapist wanted to charge more then 100 rupees. Given that for example a massage treatment was around two thousand rupees we sensed some staff exploitation.

After two hours two further therapists arrived who were completely unfamiliar with the surrounding, accessories and available equipment. They had to constantly ask the one in house therapist where things were kept.

The treatments that we had were of a very low standard in comparison to the prices charged, Treatments were also unhygienic as for example Manicure and Pedicure was carried out using the same bowl of water and this same water was also used by the therapists to wash her hands. Towels used for wiping hands and feet were torn and dirty.
Same slippers and robes were reused for different clients. In one case the towel used for massaging was also the same provided for having a shower!

Also forget any offering for a drink after your treatment unless you are willing to pay, as this is a two star facility at five star prices!

The premises are also not suitable for anyone with even a slight disability as access is by means of a very steep stairwell. One of our group members also slipped and fell over after the shower due to a stair being in the most inappropriate place together with non- grip soles on the slippers.

The owner was present during our treatments and we had actually spoken to her on the phone prior to our visit. She did not however have the courtesy to greet and apologise on the happenings in the morning and just ignored us!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanskriti1982, Manager at Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Hi,

I really appreciate your concerns for Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, Rishikesh.

We are open again after a lot of hard work and ready to welcome people like you who enjoyed and miss the stay with us. We are finalizing the finishing touches and ready to serve you. Very soon we are posting pictures of Sanskriti .

Looking forward to welcome you

with warm regards

Krishn Vaish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had such an amazing time at this location!! The staff was wonderful and welcoming and the food and service were outstanding. The rooms were clean and well appointed, there was good wireless access in the lounge area, and the staff was knowledgable and helpful about things to do in Rishikesh. The spa and aruyvedic treatments were all top notch. The location is great!! You can watch the Ganga out your window or deck and you can walk easily all over Rishikesh. We felt well taken care of as foreigners on our first trip in India. It is a little hard to find, but once you are there you realize it is a well hidden gem.

Room Tip: It seemed to be that all the rooms were terrific - no major differences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanskriti1982, Manager at Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Hi,

I really appreciate your concerns for Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, Rishikesh.

We are open again after a lot of hard work and ready to welcome people like you who enjoyed and miss the stay with us. We are finalizing the finishing touches and ready to serve you. Very soon we are posting pictures of Sanskriti .

Looking forward to welcome you

with warm regards

Krishn Vaish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rishikesh hotels
1.7 km away
Aloha On The Ganges by Leisure Hotels
3.2 km away
EllBee Ganga View
EllBee Ganga View
#5 of 60 in Rishikesh
409 reviews
4.2 km away
Ganga Kinare - A Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Dewa Retreat - A Himalayan Boutique Hotel
10.4 km away
Aranyam River Retreat
Aranyam River Retreat
#4 of 60 in Rishikesh
237 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Ishan
Hotel Ishan
#6 of 60 in Rishikesh
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanskriti Vedic Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanskriti Vedic Retreat

Address: Ramjhulla Near Shivanand Hospital | Opp. Shivanand Ashram, Rishikesh 249203, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Rishikesh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Rishikesh
Price Range: ₹ 3,286 - ₹ 5,283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanskriti Vedic Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanskriti vedic retreat located in the himalayan foothills-rishikesh.the spiritual and mythological land where the celestial ganges descended on the earth. The sanskriti vedic retreat will take you to the ultimate bliss in this land of divine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Yatra and Agoda so you can book your Sanskriti Vedic Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing