We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, noisy and fullnof culture” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakshman Jhula

Lakshman Jhula
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 59.00*
and up
Private Day Trip to Haridwar and Rishikesh Day from Delhi
Ranked #3 of 51 things to do in Rishikesh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
104 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful, noisy and fullnof culture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Shops and people everywhere. A great place to spend the day. You'll find a taxi booth on one side of the bridge. A few temples around, and a lot of stores/shops. Many great cafes. Monkeys everywhere, which is really funny. Be careful on the bridge, as it gets crowded with cows, monkeys, motorbikes, trolleys and people. Full of life and culture.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sral2214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    417
    184
    37
    8
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“hotel sk Regency Rishikesh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

i tell u,i like the rishikesh is a very good stasion for holiday for two night,we enjoy rafting and laxman jhula and ram jhula,pooja all so , and hotel staff,food,location,over all is ok, rishikesh is very famus for trekking,rafting ,camping, adventure us , river is all so there,hills is all so very think is in rishikesh.you can come with famiy,friend,company tour

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank vishal b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Indian experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Beware of monkeys, they could be a nuisance!! Its rewarding to walk on this age old suspension bridge and watch the time less flow of holy Ganges. Holy Ganges is equivalent to a deity for Hindus. I have been there many a times, there are number of shops, you can buy souvenirs at reasonable price.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank amisprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must visit in Rishikesh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Beautiful View of the Ganges !!!! It is one of the most well known places in Rishikesh. Infact It's a symbol that depicts rishikesh. It's an old narrow bridge overlooking the mountains surrounding the flowing Ganges. Watch out for monkeys though who come straight for any eatables that you are holding. It is better to just give it to them, and they are happy and leave you alone.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank W567Ddun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“A great view along with great feeling .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Knowing that the mighty river Ganges was just a couple of hours drive away from Mussoorie, we wanted to visit Hardwar and Rishikesh. So we were off to Dehradun in a Govt. bus that offered an almost rickety ride. The bus went till Dehradun Railway station. We came to know from some locals that we had to go to another bus stand (ISBT) to get buses to Hardwar and Rishikesh. There are a lot of share autos available to ISBT bus stand. With no specific plan in place, we got into the first bus that came our way, which was to Rishikesh.

We found out that the places to visit, Ram Jhula & Lakshman Jhula, about which I have read and heard so much, were at a walkable distance from the bus stop. Hence we walked the distance other wise there is autos available .

Stepping on the cold and clear water of Ganges, losing myself in the lovely sight offered by the clear water, pebbles and the hills on the backdrop, walking over Ram Jhula, crossing Ganga on a boat on the way back, I just loved the place.

But there was pestering of buying pori for the fishes and photo in the bridge and all stuff. But the view from the top the bridge was outstanding , such a simple bridge where is onle enough place for walking I still cant fathom how two wheelers are driven so carelessly in it !

Seeing so many two wheelers whiz past us in Lakshman Jhula made me wish vehicles should not be allowed through Lakshman Jhula.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank shanks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lakshman Jhula also viewed

Rishikesh, Uttarakhand
 
Rishikesh, Uttarakhand
Rishikesh, Uttarakhand
 

Been to Lakshman Jhula? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing