We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote, peaceful with spectacular scenary”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rishikesh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Himalayan Hideaway Lodge
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Rishikesh
Reviewed 4 November 2010

The Himalayan hideaway is NOT in Rishikesh...it must be some 15 kilometres up the Ganges canyon along a road recently made very difficult by monsoon flooding. But it's worth the trip. The location is maybe some 50 metres above the Ganges on the side of the gorge...you can't see the river from the hotel because of the trees but you can certainly hear it. The accommodation is in small houses/large huts...it's relatively simple but functional and clean with electricity and hot water. My room was certainly spacious with a good sized bed. There's something of a walk up to the dining room (a small hike if you're unsteady on your feet or inclined to shortness of breath) but the breakfast and dinners are fine if limited in choice. The staff are helpful. I was only there for two nights but this was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RB27952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GanevesGadabouts, Owner at Himalayan Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thank you for your review and even though I am responding almost 4 years later, I am happy to say that there have been only improvements since your visit.
And although the rooms remain where they are and its "a bit of a hike" the food has got better. It remains simple but there's a better selection and more variety.
We have learned the art of pruning (!!) and you can now see the Ganga from atleast 4 of the rooms except perhaps during the monsoon.
We have made some beautiful trails going down to the river and its all come together quite nicely.
Do come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 91 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2010

I was a bit concerned booking the stay here since there were not that many reviews on the net about it. I hope this can help anyone who is looking at this wonderful place to stay at.
Everything we experienced at the Himalayan Hideaway was of excellent quality. The service, the food and personal attention were great. The views from the rooms breathtaking! The Ganges at the bottom of the cliff and you can hear the river flow as you go to bed.
Very kind and friendly staff that take interest in your personal experience! Rooms had large beds and ac...
One thing to watch out for are the bugs. If there was anything that was not excellent, but still ok, it would be the price for the transport hired from the hotel.
There are many activities to do and we loved it there!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beatbox_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GanevesGadabouts, Owner at Himalayan Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thank you for your review of 4 years ago. I am happy to report that we've never given up on improving our product and taking all comments on board.
We have since reviewed our transport rates and all other rates many times over and I think if you were to return you'll find our transport rates much more balanced and in perspective.
The garden has matured and we get a lot of birds, langoors, rhesus and even a deer every now and then.
The bugs (!) are also there. We keep the mosquitoes away by providing mosquito repellent coils in the balconies, and electric devises in the rooms. Yet mosquitoes and other bugs are a very seasonal response to nature and we've got better with dealing with their presence without necessarily being destructive......
Do come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Very rustic feel about the property with most rooms facing the woods or river. The river view isn't much of a "river view" as the woods are too dense for a clear view.
The food is very good. Only buffet and no set menu .We tried the Indian, continental and they gave us a complimentary cake freshly baked for my husband on his birthday on my request and it was wonderfull !!

I would not advise this hotel for elderly people or families with toddlers as the rooms are set apart far below the reception and dining room and you need to take the cobbled path stairs every time you need to leave the room.

Overall a very good hotel !

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank iamharrypotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GanevesGadabouts, Owner at Himalayan Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

You were the first review ever for our Lodge. Thank you! In the last four years we have continued to try and maintain the rusticity and simplicity of the Lodge.
The garden has matured. The food continues to improve.
We have even learned the art of pruning and so the river is visible from a few of the rooms ;) although in the monsoon there is such a growth spurt that we do no cutting and pruning at that time and wait for the rains to get over. So June, July and August the plants and trees are allowed to grow and just be soaked in the heavenly rains!
Do come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
Thank ValeriaDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GanevesGadabouts, Owner at Himalayan Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rishikesh hotels
7.9 km away
Aranyam River Retreat
Aranyam River Retreat
#4 of 60 in Rishikesh
237 reviews
8.9 km away
Aloha On The Ganges by Leisure Hotels
9.4 km away
60's Green Hills
60's Green Hills
#9 of 60 in Rishikesh
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Mahayana Resort & Hotels
Mahayana Resort & Hotels
#23 of 60 in Rishikesh
22 reviews
8.8 km away
Kunwar Residency
Kunwar Residency
#11 of 60 in Rishikesh
165 reviews
8.9 km away
Hotel Ishan
Hotel Ishan
#5 of 60 in Rishikesh
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himalayan Hideaway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himalayan Hideaway Lodge

Address: Badrinath Road | Village Kalthari, Rishikesh 249201, India (Formerly Tree of Life Himalayan Hideaway Lodge)
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Rishikesh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Rishikesh
Price Range: ₹ 7,093 - ₹ 9,994 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Himalayan Hideaway Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Himalayan Hideaway is located 19kms from Rishikesh on the Devprayag in the Himalayan foothills, surrounded by a mixed forest with the Ganga flowing past. There are 10 rooms scattered over the hillside. We are not a resort or a hotel. We are simply a Lodge. The rooms are built and designed like a Colonial Forest Rest House. Our rooms are named after legendary climbers and explorers who have climbed in the Garhwal Himalaya. Our garden is indigenous and planted with only the native species of the area. No exotics. If you are looking to getaway from the city and unwind, have a desire to be in nature, want to step off the treadmill of city life for a couple of days, then the Himalayan Hideaway might be what you are looking for. Himalayan Hideaway is for those who want a leisurely and maybe not a lazy retreat. We offer white water rafting, bird watching, short and long hikes and Yoga. The food is wholesome and plenty. In short we offer you a warm and welcome retreat in nature. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing