We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
64
3
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
3
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews digital detox luxury tents the river white water rafting char dham the cottages volleyball court swiss tents name suggests evening walk jolly grant airport rock climbing buffet spread body surfing warm hospitality mind blowing special thanks
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2018

I had booked this property purely based on the reviews on TripAdvisor and my instinct! And both were right on the mark! Right from the 1st interaction on email with Mr Nikhil Sood, the things went on very smoothly and everything was handled professionally with personal touch.
The property is situated 14 kms down Devprayag, in interiors, which is quite a secluded place, perfect for our requirements! Having read so much praise about the property on this forum, my first reaction on reaching it was little disappointment, which vanished in minutes, and turned into wonder, once we were shown our tent cum cottage! Right on the banks of Ganga, with sound of flowing river, literally music to our ears and soothing to our aching muscles after the tough 6 hours journey from Auli ! The Banyan tree was right outside our cottage.
The check-in process was very smooth, hardly took couple of minutes. The cottage was neat and clean, bathroom very spacious and clean. The toiletries supplied were also of good quality.
The USP of this property, besides its location, is its service! The whole staff is very courteous, warm, helpful and friendly. and this is true for all the staff we interacted! Infact we had received a call in the morning inquiring about arrival and when we reached around evening , we were served with snacks of our choice very quickly! The food overall was homely and very tasty at all times.The dining room itself is very pleasing and vibrant! We were the only couple in the resort on the day of check in, was an added bonus ! Bonfire was also arranged for us and in all meals, buffet was arranged for just us 2 of us ! In past , I have been in similar situation at many resorts/ hotels, were we have been only guests, and services are usually compromised when we are alone, here there was no compromise on anything! Speaks of work ethics!
The rafting experience was also very good.
The whole atmosphere of the resort is serene and calming!
Any cons? Only one, I would say. the linen now appears little old and worn out, and they need to invest in new sets of it!
Overall we had a wonderful 2 nights stay, and wished to stay more, but for the prior bookings of flights.
We will be returning for sure, we promised ourselves!

Room tip: cottages number 8 to 12, 12 being the best!
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank prjotwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tito K, Owner at Banyan by the Ganges, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Mr Jotwani,
Thank you for your wonderful and insightful review. I especially would like to thank you for the praise that you have showered on the staff at Banyan ! We have tried to inculcate a sense of ownership amongst all of the people who look after the property and its Guests and I am really pleased that you felt welcomed and comfortable during your stay at the resort.
We have taken note of your comments on the bedsheets (on inspection we realised that a couple of them had gotten entangled in the washing machine and the fibres were showing) and we have already changed them to newer ones!
We at Team Banyan thank you for your visit & feedback and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Happened to visit this place last weekend and was amazed how lovely the whole experience was. The resort is located just a few steps up from the river bank with a huge banyan tree in its grounds and from the river view rooms you get the view all the time. The rooms are spacious, very clean and upkept. The best part i liked about the place was the amazing staff they have at the resort, everyone is so courteous and were ready to help us with all our requirements, right from guiding us on the route to reach the place,providing us milk for the kids, little medical help, kayaking, fishing, taking us to the river..so thank you Mr Khan and Deepak, Naresh at the resort..kudos
The food was so good, full marks to the kitchen team, all the dishes they served were so relishing. I just loved the place..till the time i visit you guys again will miss it..

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank manav_sh2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

I travelled with three of my other friends and all absolutely loved this place, great hospitality by Sukhbir ji and his team.

We stayed here for two nights but will never be able to forget the stay. Food was amazing, camp site is very clean, rooms are kept clean and tidy all the time. Staff are. very well knowledgeable of the area and for adventurous activities.

Dip in to Ganga is must at this place, amazing views from the river.

Already looking forward for the next stay

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank n4nish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

What a joy it was to stay at Banyan by the Ganges! This luxury camp is truly a labour of love and the care that has gone into it is visible everywhere. Right from the location, the quality of the tents, the view, the proximity to the river, the magnificent banyan after which this property is named, the well-trained and courteous staff who go out of their way to make sure your stay is pleasant, the amazing dining room built out of river stones... this is the place to spend your next vacation.

There are no TVs here, thank GOD!

My heartfelt compliments to those who designed this property. Truly perfect in every sense of the word.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rohitlikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tito K, Owner at Banyan by the Ganges, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you Rohit for your visit to Banyan and for your insightful Feedback.
Yes there are no TV's and there never will be....after all this is a place for Digital Detox and reuniting with Nature and with Oneself!
Look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

The moment , we entered this property...we lost ourselves in continuous wildness of Ganaga flowing 200 fts down there. Luxury tent and restaurant with tradition cuisine and aroma of herbs in food made us mesmerized. Staffs from nearby village made us visiting Garwal in countryside. It was like forget ourselves for few days to bath in nature and laugh in nature...For rapid water lover..rafting and fishing for rest lover ..you find there.Thnx Manish Da for introducing this heavean to us.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank surajs64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews