We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent paradise in the heart of chaotic India”
Review of Ahilya Fort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maheshwar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ahilya Fort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maheshwar
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Magnificent paradise in the heart of chaotic India”
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Ahilya Fort was one of the highlights of our recent visit to India...first class accommodation and delicious food and wine with Aimee and her skillful team doing everything in their power to make our stay incredibly comfortable..would highly recommend. And not another cent to pay on the prepaid bill....

Room Tip: All rooms very comfortable and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warwick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard h, Owner at Ahilya Fort, responded to this review, 14 December 2016
Warwick P, I'm so glad that you appreciated your stay. Thank you for the TA post.
r holkar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    37
    11
    3
    6
See reviews for
39
81
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bhopal, India
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

The peaceful, riverside town of Maheshwar has long held spiritual significance in which ahilya fort is a family fortress in a unique site, where your reception is so personal you feel at home. A refined and charming atmosphere

Stayed August 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ankit2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard h, Owner at Ahilya Fort, responded to this review, 30 November 2016
Hello Ankit

Thank you for your Support. You have perfectly identified what we try to do: make our guests feel "AT HOME"
PLASE COME BACK!

R HOLKAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2016

The property is just amazing on the banks of River Narmada.So serene and quite.
The aartis at 7pm are so soothing to your ears.
I traveled with my friends and we had such a wonderful time.It is a complete package in itself.Food receipes are personally prepared and supervised by the King himself.
The service and the staff is just extra ordinary.

Room Tip: Room facing the narmada river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shefali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard h, Owner at Ahilya Fort, responded to this review, 5 December 2016
Greetings Shefali, Thank you for your encouraging words. I hope to see you back again. R Holkar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Serene location, takes you away from the India you may know from the bigger cities. Captures authenticity without the crowds. Much to no surprise the highlights for us was the evening boat rides on the river where the water is clean for you to swim as well which is a rarity in this country. The food was all homemade and most of their veggies come from the property grown garden. The drawback of the riverside location is that it brings a lot of insects although we were provided nets and coils. Overall, one of the better hotel experiences in India.

--A drop of ink may make a million think.
Pawan Manghnani

  • Stayed December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard h, Owner at Ahilya Fort, responded to this review, 18 November 2016
Thank you Pawan for your words of appreciation. I wish we could order the insects to go away, but haven't figured that one out yet, I guess we have to stick to mosquito coils, net and odomos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bittern Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Ahilya Fort was the best heritage accommodation we stayed at in India. The staff seemingly effortlessly know what you need before you know yourself. Everything is done to perfection. We were treated with genuine warmth and hospitality. The rooms were divine and the meals some of the best we ate in India. I cannot recommend highly enough, an outstanding place to stay.

Stayed October 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard h, Owner at Ahilya Fort, responded to this review, 11 November 2016
Greetings Sam R. Thank you so much for your supportive comments. Our new staff has been trained at Ahilya Fort, Labbbo'z' owner. I'll be sure to mention your appreciation to them. Hope to see you again. R Holkar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maheshwar
0.7 km away
Hotel Sanginee
Hotel Sanginee
#2 of 2 in Maheshwar
7 reviews
63.7 km away
Chokhi Dhani - Ethnic Village Resort
0.0 km away
Kanchan Recreation
Kanchan Recreation
#1 of 15 in Maheshwar
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Devraj Place
Hotel Devraj Place
#8 of 15 in Maheshwar
9 reviews
0.6 km away
Narmada Retreat
Narmada Retreat
#3 of 15 in Maheshwar
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahilya Fort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahilya Fort

Property: Ahilya Fort
Address: Ahilya Wada, Maheshwar 451224, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Khargone District > Maheshwar
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maheshwar
Hotel Class:4 star — Ahilya Fort 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic 250 years old Ahilya Fort sits on the edge of a cliff, high above the sacred Narmada River, surrounded by the beautiful and unexploited town of Maheshwar. The views over the river and ghats are exceptional. Replete with myths and legend, Ahilya Fort offers guests a rare chance to get off the tourist trail and an abundance of things to see and do. With the fabulous, deserted city of Mandu nearby and the famed island temple of Omkareshwar even closer, this is a place at which to spend time and relax but from which you can also explore the area, undisturbed by the other tourists – a stroll down through the town to the ghats is a must. The food is delicious and it’s all-inclusive so, once here, you pay for nothing – be it food, excursions or e-mail! The pool is lovely; terraces and shady areas abound; meals are taken in different areas of the fort; the charming rooms and tents have superb views, balconies & gardens; the weaving center here is famous nationwide. A boat trip at sundown is something you will never forget. Truly a memorable place where you could spend days or weeks!There are 10 bedrooms scattered around the premises and the rates include full board and all excursions. It is the most perfect base for visiting Mandu (1 hour away) and is just a 2-hour drive from Indore. It makes the perfect place to end or start a holiday, as there is so much to do. From here you may also visit Dhar, Baneshwar and Omkareshwar. Being a gourmet himself, your host Prince Richard Holkar has the highest standards and the food here is delicious. Staying here is like a time wrap as the village is still enclosed within the fort itself and is truly wonderful to explore in your own time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ahilya Fort Hotel Maheshwar
Ahilya Fort Madhya Pradesh
Ahilya Fort Maheshwar, Madhya Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing