We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent heritage hotel”
Review of Ahilya Fort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maheshwar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ahilya Fort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maheshwar
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent heritage hotel”
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Location is perfect. The concept of moveable dinning is good, but they don't ask you where but keep on changing the place. All inclusive concept is also new and good. Some of the views from the Hotel are just perfect. Infact its very nice for a secluded holiday.

Don't miss the boat ride its simply awesome in the evening.

Don't ever book a the Nagarh Suite or any room with is on the side of Rajbada entrance as it would feel that you are actually staying outside the hotel and that too on a square. no privacy, its actually a part of public place which they have converted to a room so expect a lot people from 7.00 am to 11.00 pm. Food is average and very strict on the schedule. so be in time and specific.

The GM is very helpful and courteous she infact offered a full hotel tour and a exchanged room which was again on the wrong side which we had to live with.

Room Tip: Rooms on the western side are better and good. so don't ever take anything on the eastern side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard h, Owner at Ahilya Fort, responded to this review, 11 November 2016
Thank you Gaurav for your comments. I'll pass the word on to our GM. R Holkar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    37
    11
    3
    6
See reviews for
39
81
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

This is one of the best properties I have visited. I don't know where to begin! For starters...

Location: Breathtaking!
Food: Delicious, Healthy, Made and fed with Love.
Staff: Adorable.
Service: Can't ask for more!
Stay: More comfortable than you own house, probably.

I learned about this property from a friend, saw the pictures and booked it. That it is right on the banks of river Narmada, was a superb surprise. I had booked myself for three nights and then... On the 3rd day, I extended it by a day... And then did the same the next day. Thankfully, there were not many guests. So they didn't have much of a problem accommodating me. Needless to mention, gave me an upgrade to the most beautiful suite overlooking the river and ghaat.

As strange as it may sound, I even cancelled my plan to go visit the Mandu fort. I just didn't feel like leaving this place. Here's why...

The property is an actual fort, it's not just the name. The place has character, and how! Equipped with modern amenities like bath tub, wifi, etc., yet feels like living in 1950s. The interiors are minimalistic and completely in sync with the original architecture of the fort. The colour schemes are soothing, not garish like most palaces in Rajasthan. The flowers, trees, temple, courtyard gives it an old world charm. But the best... Despite the grandeur, you feel so cosy... So at Home!

The staff is like family, coaxing you to eat and insisting to do laundry. Once you pay, everything is on the house. The water, food, drinks, boat rides, etc. The Narmada suite, as mentioned by most reviewers, is splendid. Right on the river, with a private study and balcony. Designed so well as to give you a wonderful view, but not the unwanted sounds, because all glasses are soundproof. However, the smaller rooms with river view are extremely cosy and love at first sight!

The pool, hidden in the trees, resonates the sound of wind chimes hung on the top of the fort wall. That with the bird calls, is an experience you can't miss.

The organic garden gives you everything from mulberry, to avocados, to tomatoes, green chillies, papayas, clementine, you name it! From the various jams and preserves at breakfast, to the daily meals and desert... Most of it is fresh produce. Each menu is customised and full of flavours.

Watch the aarti in the morning from your balcony, spend an afternoon on a jhula listening to the gurgling fountain, walk to the Burj in the evening for a view of the sunset, enjoy a drink on the terrace in the light of mashaals.

Tiny details add to the character of the place. There is a story about everything. It's like living in a different time, away from technology.

What you are paying for is not a hotel, resort or holiday. You are paying for the experience. Not business plans, but only the love and passion of a Man, can create a place like this. Wish I can meet him on my next visit.

Archana is not just lovely company, but a good storyteller. And along with her, the entire staff treats you like you have come back home in summer hols :)

This is the longest review I ever wrote. Not sure still if it can ever do justice to a place as beautiful as Ahilya Fort. I am going back, sooner than soonest.

Stayed September 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ItchyFeetIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard h, Owner at Ahilya Fort, responded to this review, 11 November 2016
Thank you Suchita for your supportive words, which I'll pass on toe the staff, and this will make all of our staff feel that we're doing the right thing. R Holkar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhuj, India
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

We went to this place for two days break..we had the most relaxing time.lovely view of Narmadaji....couldn't go out becoz of rains but whatever time we had spent in the hotel was very nice n relaxing.. Sir Richard Holkar is a very good host ..He makes sure the guest remains comfortable through out the stay.. Food was amazing unlike what you expect from resort hotels..staff was very nice n helpful esp Kunta amazing lady up on her toes from morning till night. Timings for breakfast , lunch n dinner very particular which is very good..Hope to go back again if possible..The decor of the hotel is very nice n ethnic..Rooms are comfortable with minimum required furniture..

Stayed July 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Karunasinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard h, Owner at Ahilya Fort, responded to this review, 11 November 2016
Thank you Karunasinh, I'm glad you liked the food, and Kunta indeed is a great asset.

R Holkar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We just spent three fabulous days at this historic fort which has been turned into a superb hotel. We received a warm welcome from Archana, the lovely manager, the staff and service were terrific, and our room was serene and comfortable. Our host, Prince Richard Holkar, was delightful company, as well as a gifted cook and the delicious meals reflected his great taste. Even my surprise birthday cake had a special flavor! We spent hours in the big swimming pool, surrounded by gardens and ancient trees and after a sunset boat trip on the beautiful Narmada, it was a treat to have champagne on the spacious terrace overlooking the river and the countryside.We all felt so at home and hated to leave and can't wait to come back to the most relaxing and charming place I've been to in India. Thank you, Ahilya, for a most memorable birthday and I give you the highest recommendation!!!

Room Tip: We had the Elaichi room which was cool, quiet and very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ResEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard h, Owner at Ahilya Fort, responded to this review, 11 November 2016
Thank you for your supportive words. And we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Ahilya on the Narmada has breath taking views of this great river ,excellent hospitality and warmth of a homestay. the highlight of our visit was of course the visit to magical Mandu . Richard Holkar is a truly wonderful host and really made us so comfortable and happy . The Staff led by Kunta Bai are very polite and helpful. My test when reviewing a place is whether you would long to go back, I certainly want to go back to Ahilya . On the rooms we had first been shown the Nagarkhana room which is in the public area of the fort so gets a bit noisy and when we requested a change it was done in no time and were were given the wonderful imly room which overlooks the Narmada. Overall a wonderful experience . Hope to be back soon

Room Tip: dont book the Nagarkhana go for the superior rooms like the imly or the neem
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dayankrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maheshwar
0.7 km away
Hotel Sanginee
Hotel Sanginee
#2 of 2 in Maheshwar
7 reviews
63.7 km away
Chokhi Dhani - Ethnic Village Resort
0.0 km away
Kanchan Recreation
Kanchan Recreation
#1 of 15 in Maheshwar
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Devraj Place
Hotel Devraj Place
#8 of 15 in Maheshwar
9 reviews
0.6 km away
Narmada Retreat
Narmada Retreat
#3 of 15 in Maheshwar
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahilya Fort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahilya Fort

Property: Ahilya Fort
Address: Ahilya Wada, Maheshwar 451224, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Khargone District > Maheshwar
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maheshwar
Hotel Class:4 star — Ahilya Fort 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic 250 years old Ahilya Fort sits on the edge of a cliff, high above the sacred Narmada River, surrounded by the beautiful and unexploited town of Maheshwar. The views over the river and ghats are exceptional. Replete with myths and legend, Ahilya Fort offers guests a rare chance to get off the tourist trail and an abundance of things to see and do. With the fabulous, deserted city of Mandu nearby and the famed island temple of Omkareshwar even closer, this is a place at which to spend time and relax but from which you can also explore the area, undisturbed by the other tourists – a stroll down through the town to the ghats is a must. The food is delicious and it’s all-inclusive so, once here, you pay for nothing – be it food, excursions or e-mail! The pool is lovely; terraces and shady areas abound; meals are taken in different areas of the fort; the charming rooms and tents have superb views, balconies & gardens; the weaving center here is famous nationwide. A boat trip at sundown is something you will never forget. Truly a memorable place where you could spend days or weeks!There are 10 bedrooms scattered around the premises and the rates include full board and all excursions. It is the most perfect base for visiting Mandu (1 hour away) and is just a 2-hour drive from Indore. It makes the perfect place to end or start a holiday, as there is so much to do. From here you may also visit Dhar, Baneshwar and Omkareshwar. Being a gourmet himself, your host Prince Richard Holkar has the highest standards and the food here is delicious. Staying here is like a time wrap as the village is still enclosed within the fort itself and is truly wonderful to explore in your own time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ahilya Fort Hotel Maheshwar
Ahilya Fort Madhya Pradesh
Ahilya Fort Maheshwar, Madhya Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing