We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOME”
Review of Ahilya Fort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maheshwar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ahilya Fort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maheshwar
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“HOME”
Reviewed 14 August 2016

for me travelling is all about knowing the people and the culture. well that is what Ahilya fort offers! staff there is amazing! they actually come and interact. prince holkar and co give you a royal experience with their own presence! the gm( Archana) there is amazing and ofcourse kuntabai who is working there since forever! amazing place man!
ps: dont forget the pugs!

Room Tip: surely choose the room with a view with ghats!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tavishisingh408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    37
    11
    3
    6
See reviews for
39
81
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indore, India
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

2 hrs drive from Indore, village Maheshwar has 200+ years fort of Holkar's , it has 15 rooms in it with 2 Royal Suites..
The price includes all I.e food , drinks.. Located on Narmada Ghat it's an experience.. Caretaker Kunta Bai is always ready to see your choice and serve with smile..
Great place to relax in Royal way!!!!

Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rbs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2016

The whole experience of this place was so amazing. it was very quiet, such great staff including the G.M (Archana), we felt like as if we have visited a close friend's house. we stayed here for two nights and I personally opted for the Narmada Suite which was huge and beautiful. The room has great view and very nicely kept !

The food is delicious (most things are organic), our package includes all 3 meals followed by drinks in the evening. we didn't have to pay anything except for the massage, this was actually surprising. One of the night it was our friends birthday and they treated us with a nice cake and bottle of champagne. we all were very touched throughout the stay.

It has a big pool, a bit secluded.

over all i can say, there services made our stay even more wonderful !

Keep it up !

Room Tip: One must stay there no matter wherever you are in MP.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tusharrcmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

A gem of a place, an absolutely authentic experience! I wish trip advisor had 7 stars for a place which is beyond outstanding.
What worked:
1. The suite that we stayed in - the Nagar Khana - very beautifully appointed, extremely comfortable.
2. The food - I could write pages about the food. Unprocessed, organic, and with a twist on genuine local recipes. Super Yum!
3. The service - now this is what raises Ahilya to the superlative . Kunta Bai, a kind of head housekeeper , who has been working with Prince Holkar for more than 3 decades is such a warm , genuine, helpful soul. She goes out of the way to make things good - whether it is by providing flip flops in the room, or hats for a picnic . The waitstaff were very sweet and helpful - especially Jung Bahadur. The manager, Archana was helpful and eager to please. Our driver Golu - I asked him to play old Hindi songs on the way to Mandu, he regretfully said he didn't have the music. Then on our way , he managed to get the music from somewhere and play it!

What could have been improved : I wasn't too happy with the process. The guy I corresponded with was neither polite nor informative, and this was the one black spot in the whole Ahilya experience.

Some tips:
1. Spend time walking on the ghats, gazing upon the holy Narmada.
2. Drink the 'Maheswari' - good both with or without champagne .
3. Do take the Baz Bahadur luncheon and the cocktails on the river experience - expensive, but worth every paisa.
4. The trip to Mandu is a very good experience organised by Ahilya. If you plan to go, pack good walking shoes.
5. Buy saris at Rehwa.
6. If you are travelling here from outside India, it is worth noting that this is small town India, and the atmosphere is very unlike Goa or the metros. It might be wise to pack slightly conservative clothing.
7. If you're looking for big screen TVs, and unlimited huge breakfast buffets, and toiletries replaced daily , this is not the place for you. It's not the best place for families with very young kids , either. Ahilya means good food, great service and beautiful and meaningful experiences for the traveller willing to keep his eyes open. It's not for tourists.

Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsybloood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

I spent there a weekend and I found it really amazing. I travelled all around the world but then only few places that as remain as authentic. You can visit the temple, swim in the river, get tea on the boat.
Great swimming pool. the kitchen was very very good.
people really welcoming

Stayed June 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank rallogas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maheshwar
0.7 km away
Hotel Sanginee
Hotel Sanginee
#2 of 2 in Maheshwar
7 reviews
63.7 km away
Chokhi Dhani - Ethnic Village Resort
0.0 km away
Kanchan Recreation
Kanchan Recreation
#1 of 15 in Maheshwar
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Devraj Place
Hotel Devraj Place
#8 of 15 in Maheshwar
9 reviews
0.6 km away
Narmada Retreat
Narmada Retreat
#3 of 15 in Maheshwar
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahilya Fort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahilya Fort

Property: Ahilya Fort
Address: Ahilya Wada, Maheshwar 451224, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Khargone District > Maheshwar
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maheshwar
Hotel Class:4 star — Ahilya Fort 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic 250 years old Ahilya Fort sits on the edge of a cliff, high above the sacred Narmada River, surrounded by the beautiful and unexploited town of Maheshwar. The views over the river and ghats are exceptional. Replete with myths and legend, Ahilya Fort offers guests a rare chance to get off the tourist trail and an abundance of things to see and do. With the fabulous, deserted city of Mandu nearby and the famed island temple of Omkareshwar even closer, this is a place at which to spend time and relax but from which you can also explore the area, undisturbed by the other tourists – a stroll down through the town to the ghats is a must. The food is delicious and it’s all-inclusive so, once here, you pay for nothing – be it food, excursions or e-mail! The pool is lovely; terraces and shady areas abound; meals are taken in different areas of the fort; the charming rooms and tents have superb views, balconies & gardens; the weaving center here is famous nationwide. A boat trip at sundown is something you will never forget. Truly a memorable place where you could spend days or weeks!There are 10 bedrooms scattered around the premises and the rates include full board and all excursions. It is the most perfect base for visiting Mandu (1 hour away) and is just a 2-hour drive from Indore. It makes the perfect place to end or start a holiday, as there is so much to do. From here you may also visit Dhar, Baneshwar and Omkareshwar. Being a gourmet himself, your host Prince Richard Holkar has the highest standards and the food here is delicious. Staying here is like a time wrap as the village is still enclosed within the fort itself and is truly wonderful to explore in your own time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ahilya Fort Hotel Maheshwar
Ahilya Fort Madhya Pradesh
Ahilya Fort Maheshwar, Madhya Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing