We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was an overwhelming experience !”
Review of Ahilya Fort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maheshwar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ahilya Fort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maheshwar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2016

The whole experience of this place was so amazing. it was very quiet, such great staff including the G.M (Archana), we felt like as if we have visited a close friend's house. we stayed here for two nights and I personally opted for the Narmada Suite which was huge and beautiful. The room has great view and very nicely kept !

The food is delicious (most things are organic), our package includes all 3 meals followed by drinks in the evening. we didn't have to pay anything except for the massage, this was actually surprising. One of the night it was our friends birthday and they treated us with a nice cake and bottle of champagne. we all were very touched throughout the stay.

It has a big pool, a bit secluded.

over all i can say, there services made our stay even more wonderful !

Keep it up !

Room Tip: One must stay there no matter wherever you are in MP.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tusharrcmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Ahilya Fort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

A gem of a place, an absolutely authentic experience! I wish trip advisor had 7 stars for a place which is beyond outstanding.
What worked:
1. The suite that we stayed in - the Nagar Khana - very beautifully appointed, extremely comfortable.
2. The food - I could write pages about the food. Unprocessed, organic, and with a twist on genuine local recipes. Super Yum!
3. The service - now this is what raises Ahilya to the superlative . Kunta Bai, a kind of head housekeeper , who has been working with Prince Holkar for more than 3 decades is such a warm , genuine, helpful soul. She goes out of the way to make things good - whether it is by providing flip flops in the room, or hats for a picnic . The waitstaff were very sweet and helpful - especially Jung Bahadur. The manager, Archana was helpful and eager to please. Our driver Golu - I asked him to play old Hindi songs on the way to Mandu, he regretfully said he didn't have the music. Then on our way , he managed to get the music from somewhere and play it!

What could have been improved : I wasn't too happy with the process. The guy I corresponded with was neither polite nor informative, and this was the one black spot in the whole Ahilya experience.

Some tips:
1. Spend time walking on the ghats, gazing upon the holy Narmada.
2. Drink the 'Maheswari' - good both with or without champagne .
3. Do take the Baz Bahadur luncheon and the cocktails on the river experience - expensive, but worth every paisa.
4. The trip to Mandu is a very good experience organised by Ahilya. If you plan to go, pack good walking shoes.
5. Buy saris at Rehwa.
6. If you are travelling here from outside India, it is worth noting that this is small town India, and the atmosphere is very unlike Goa or the metros. It might be wise to pack slightly conservative clothing.
7. If you're looking for big screen TVs, and unlimited huge breakfast buffets, and toiletries replaced daily , this is not the place for you. It's not the best place for families with very young kids , either. Ahilya means good food, great service and beautiful and meaningful experiences for the traveller willing to keep his eyes open. It's not for tourists.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gypsybloood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

I spent there a weekend and I found it really amazing. I travelled all around the world but then only few places that as remain as authentic. You can visit the temple, swim in the river, get tea on the boat.
Great swimming pool. the kitchen was very very good.
people really welcoming

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank rallogas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016

This was a surprise. I had never expected this level of service, attention and hospitality. We stayed in a suite which had a mesmerizing view of Narmada. Very well appointed. Subtle luxury. Very calm. Very well trained, attentive and friendly staff. Food was amazing. They went out of their way to ensure we had an excellent stay. I will definitely visit them again and will recommend my friends to stay there atleast once. This place will keep you engaged yet provide a very relaxed stay. This is not a typical weekend break kind of a place. Go there if you want to detach from the daily routine and explore your self. Read, explore local history, visit their herb garden, enjoy the peace, take a dip in the pool, yoga, boat ride, shopping, evening arti at the ghat...and the list can go on and on. The best part of our stay was the warmth we received from the team working at The Ahilya Fort.

Room Tip: Book a Suite instead of rooms. They don't have TV in rooms which is very refreshing.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gypsymonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016

We enjoyed our stay at Ahilya fort in November 2015. The fort is easily accessible from Indore and the drive is comfortable as the highway is in good condition. One of the highlights at Ahilya fort is the food (all your meals are included, even the delicious pre-dinner cocktails). A lot of thought and care goes into making the meals interesting and full of flavour.

We took a day trip to Mandu (recommend this because the monuments are quite amazing even though the road to Mandu is not in the best shape). The staff at Ahilya fort packed a delicious lunch for us.

The property is well maintained and feels like an oasis in the hustle and bustle of Maheshwar. The view of the sparkling Narmada river from the fort is one I will not forget. I woke up early in the morning to see the sun rise over the Narmada from the fort and it was breathtaking.

The staff are helpful and always on hand on assist and advise. Other memorable moments included the riverboat excursion at sunset and the gorgeous temple attached to the fort. Ahilya fort is a perfect getaway for 3-4 days.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maheshwar hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Sanginee
Hotel Sanginee
#2 of 2 in Maheshwar
7 reviews
0.0 km away
Kanchan Recreation
Kanchan Recreation
#1 of 15 in Maheshwar
55 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Devraj Place
Hotel Devraj Place
#8 of 15 in Maheshwar
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Royal Residency Maheshwar
0.6 km away
Narmada Retreat
Narmada Retreat
#3 of 15 in Maheshwar
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahilya Fort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahilya Fort

Address: Ahilya Wada, Maheshwar 451224, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Khargone District > Maheshwar
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maheshwar
Hotel Class:4 star — Ahilya Fort 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic 250 years old Ahilya Fort sits on the edge of a cliff, high above the sacred Narmada River, surrounded by the beautiful and unexploited town of Maheshwar. The views over the river and ghats are exceptional. Replete with myths and legend, Ahilya Fort offers guests a rare chance to get off the tourist trail and an abundance of things to see and do. With the fabulous, deserted city of Mandu nearby and the famed island temple of Omkareshwar even closer, this is a place at which to spend time and relax but from which you can also explore the area, undisturbed by the other tourists – a stroll down through the town to the ghats is a must. The food is delicious and it’s all-inclusive so, once here, you pay for nothing – be it food, excursions or e-mail! The pool is lovely; terraces and shady areas abound; meals are taken in different areas of the fort; the charming rooms and tents have superb views, balconies & gardens; the weaving center here is famous nationwide. A boat trip at sundown is something you will never forget. Truly a memorable place where you could spend days or weeks!There are 10 bedrooms scattered around the premises and the rates include full board and all excursions. It is the most perfect base for visiting Mandu (1 hour away) and is just a 2-hour drive from Indore. It makes the perfect place to end or start a holiday, as there is so much to do. From here you may also visit Dhar, Baneshwar and Omkareshwar. Being a gourmet himself, your host Prince Richard Holkar has the highest standards and the food here is delicious. Staying here is like a time wrap as the village is still enclosed within the fort itself and is truly wonderful to explore in your own time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ahilya Fort Hotel Maheshwar
Ahilya Fort Madhya Pradesh
Ahilya Fort Maheshwar, Madhya Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing