We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth every rupees”
Review of Ahilya Fort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maheshwar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ahilya Fort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maheshwar
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“worth every rupees”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

from the moment you arrive until when you have to leave this place is pure pleasure. The ambience of the rooms decor, the flowers and plants everywhere, the food is the best I have ever had in any Indian Hotel (and in a different place in the fort every meal), the 4 pug dogs who make you feel you are at home, the pool, the wonderful staff service, the way you can have a drink at the bar and it is not charged, the sunset boat ride with afternoon tea and not to mention THE NGHT DINNER TRIP to the Island which was just incredible. My friends and I could not fault this Fort. The best part is not having to open your wallet for tips, internet or drinks etc, everything is included. Hard to get to but well worth it in the end.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AmandaKIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    37
    11
    3
    6
See reviews for
39
81
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

As I am a Tour Escort , I know so many hotels in India but this one is really something out of the world. Not many know about this hotel , I cannot even call it a hotel , it is a home in a garden with its own charm, situated on the banks of Narmada . Even my own foregin friends would go swim every morning of our stay in this river. I cannot tell you about the evenings in this place . You have to go and live.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rajainde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eheston@mindspring.com
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

This was my fourth trip to India; my first visit to Maheshwar. Ahilya Fort is the first Heritage Hotel I have booked. My wife and I booked a spacious, well-appointed standard room for two nights as a Christmas present to each other. The hotel is luxe in a very charming and understated way. The service is excellent without being intrusive or obsequious, the multi-course meals were some of the best I've had in India, made from family recipes with ingredients grown on the grounds. The location of the fort/palace/hotel on a bluff above the beautiful - and swimmable! - Narmada River is outstanding. The view from the patio at sunset brought tears to my wife's eyes when first viewed the evening of our arrival.

Meals, alcohol, tea included in the tariff. No tipping during the visit. You are encouraged to leave a tip for the entire staff on departure. Am eminently reasonable and congenial policy.

In summary a great place to chill, well worth the expense, and the travel to and from Indore. Not a lot to do in Maheshwar other than chill. Day trips can be arranged to a nearby temple town, which I'm told is terribly crowded, and to Mandu, though there is enough to see in Mandu to warrant spending the evening there. Given the hassle and adventure of travel in India, I found Ahilya Fort to be a welcome respite and would gladly have spent an extra day.

Prince Richard Holkar is a surviving member of the royal family who owns and operates the hotel. His taste is evident. He is also actively involved in the well-being of his former subjects as evidenced by the school he has established and the handloom factory which employs women from the town. The fabric is exquisite and garments can be tailored to your specs.

Room Tip: Purchase the family cookbook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eheston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Our booking was difficult and no apologies forthcoming. The first night we spent in Looboo's Lodge, a miserable space where the cracks in the door admitted mosquitos, they had sprayed it with some ghastly smelling chemical, but did at our request find bedside lights. There was not even a brochure to inform us of the activities available. Very second rate. The second night we were moved into a lovely room with balcony and all that one would expect of a Relais Chateaux hotel.
There are seven 'luxury' rooms and three others and a couple of tented spaces. Friends occupied the standard rooms and they were dark, uncomfortable, the hotel dogs slept outside their door and barked on and off all night. The ablutions of the Indian staff could clearly be heard in the early mornings, travellers to India will be aware of the hacking, spitting and coughing which goes on.
There is a distinct feel of 'them and us' about Ahilya. If one is 'someone' you are likely to get special treatment, like champagne offered on the tea time boat trip, or dinner also on a boat with other boats carrying food and a bar in attendance. Whilst it is entirely the perogative of the owner to chose his companions from amongst his guests, it does make those left behind feel like second class citizens and appears rude.
It is an expensive hotel which is fine if one gets what one pays for. There seems to be no reason why all the rooms should not be of the same standard. Constant outbreaks of rage could be heard from arriving guests about their accommodation.
We were subjected to a long and tedious concert one night where drinks were not allowed, there seemed to be no choice in this matter.
The swimming pool which is beautifully situated had loungers covered in bird droppings and no one came to ask if we'd like a drink, a towel or anything else.
Lunches were excellent, dinners less so although the pre dinner nibbles were delicious.
The Indian manageress is delightful and tries her best against the odds to sort out problems. She is in charge of grouping people together for meals which in our case worked out very well but this is not always the case.
With reservations one would recommend this hotel but they need to be very sure of the quality of their room before booking.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jennymakepeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

My first suggestion is that you never make our mistake of booking a standard room as the three rooms that are put in that category are not even fit for staff to sleep in. Having changed rooms twice, the final room overlooking the courtyard by the village entrance had an old dressing gown used as a curtain. We had very little sleep as the nightstaff and others were on duty outside our window and the noise went on all night. One couple who were offered the first room we moved from had such a row, they left the hotel instead of staying there. The food was delicious and we loved the different locations for each meal. We were rather surprised, however, by the host, Mr. Richard Holkar, choosing half of the guests to go to dinner on his boat while leaving the others feeling like second class citizens dining around the pool. As all the guests pay to stay at this hotel, this lack of courtesy does not become the owner . Sadly we left the hotel with a bad taste in our mouths but if you make sure you have a de luxe room it is a good place to be.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank keentravellerSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maheshwar
0.7 km away
Hotel Sanginee
Hotel Sanginee
#2 of 2 in Maheshwar
7 reviews
63.7 km away
Chokhi Dhani - Ethnic Village Resort
0.0 km away
Kanchan Recreation
Kanchan Recreation
#1 of 15 in Maheshwar
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Devraj Place
Hotel Devraj Place
#8 of 15 in Maheshwar
9 reviews
0.6 km away
Narmada Retreat
Narmada Retreat
#3 of 15 in Maheshwar
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahilya Fort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahilya Fort

Property: Ahilya Fort
Address: Ahilya Wada, Maheshwar 451224, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Khargone District > Maheshwar
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maheshwar
Hotel Class:4 star — Ahilya Fort 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic 250 years old Ahilya Fort sits on the edge of a cliff, high above the sacred Narmada River, surrounded by the beautiful and unexploited town of Maheshwar. The views over the river and ghats are exceptional. Replete with myths and legend, Ahilya Fort offers guests a rare chance to get off the tourist trail and an abundance of things to see and do. With the fabulous, deserted city of Mandu nearby and the famed island temple of Omkareshwar even closer, this is a place at which to spend time and relax but from which you can also explore the area, undisturbed by the other tourists – a stroll down through the town to the ghats is a must. The food is delicious and it’s all-inclusive so, once here, you pay for nothing – be it food, excursions or e-mail! The pool is lovely; terraces and shady areas abound; meals are taken in different areas of the fort; the charming rooms and tents have superb views, balconies & gardens; the weaving center here is famous nationwide. A boat trip at sundown is something you will never forget. Truly a memorable place where you could spend days or weeks!There are 10 bedrooms scattered around the premises and the rates include full board and all excursions. It is the most perfect base for visiting Mandu (1 hour away) and is just a 2-hour drive from Indore. It makes the perfect place to end or start a holiday, as there is so much to do. From here you may also visit Dhar, Baneshwar and Omkareshwar. Being a gourmet himself, your host Prince Richard Holkar has the highest standards and the food here is delicious. Staying here is like a time wrap as the village is still enclosed within the fort itself and is truly wonderful to explore in your own time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ahilya Fort Hotel Maheshwar
Ahilya Fort Madhya Pradesh
Ahilya Fort Maheshwar, Madhya Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing