We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice gem”
Review of Garden and Sea Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden and Sea Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 New Church B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2016

My girlfriend and I spent the Fourth of July weekend there; we had the Attic room, which is on the third floor of the main house. (There are 3 houses.) The rooms on lower floors, however, are better equipped and furnished. The owners and staff are a delight and offered suggestions on what to do when the weather took a turn for the worse. (Be sure to consult the notebook in your room - it has helpful advice on places to eat and to visit.) As others have noted, the parlor (where snacks and games are) is a nice touch. Breakfast is very nice, but be sure to stroll the grounds to look at the whimsical sculptures or to relax in the hammock. The inn is convenient to Chincoteague and to Wallops Island.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first and second floors of the main house are larger and nicer than the Attic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PhilC-fromMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2016

Enjoyable stay in the nicely furnished sandpiper room despite that there is no thermostat in the room to regulate temperature. The bath ropes were a nice touch :) The main house could use exterior repairs, it doesn't negatively impact the quality of the stay. The garden is peaceful and relaxing, staff and owners very accommodating. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gerdag60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

I needed a place to stay close to Wallops Island for just one night. I am so happy I found this place. The grounds are beautiful, the room was impeccably furnished, the service was personal and friendly. Extra touches like cookies and tea available for guests in the sitting room just really showed how much care went into the place. When they found out I couldn't stay for breakfast they provided a fresh baked muffin for me to take on the road. I can't wait to return for a weekend with my husband and our dog.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank 2kids2dogs1bird1fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful time here. It is our second time back with 2 kids and our 2 dogs! (For return guests they allow kids younger than 8). We returned because It is a very pet friendly B&B and the breakfasts are very delicious!
They provide beach towels for the dogs. We also enjoyed the pet friendly beach, hiking trails, and the beautiful sunset cruise tour. The wild ponies are always awesome to see!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank cll55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

This was my first bed and breakfast experience and it was very good! Dorothee and her team made me feel very welcome. I came to visit during 4th of July weekend. Although the house was pretty much full, I still received great service. The breakfast is served hot, delicious and fresh. Dorothee and her staff are very knowledgeable about the area and can tell you what there is to do. The inn is in a great location convenient to Chincoteague, Pocomoke, and most everything the Eastern Shore has to offer. I plan to return in the very near future!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Church
14.1 km away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
792 reviews
14.7 km away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,276 reviews
16.8 km away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,343 reviews
5.4 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in Pocomoke City
138 reviews
10.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Pocomoke City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden and Sea Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden and Sea Inn

Address: 4188 Nelson Rd, New Church, VA 23415-3151
Region: United States > Virginia > New Church
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Church
Price Range: ₹ 7,167 - ₹ 15,310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden and Sea Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian near Chincoteague Island! Escape to the Garden and Sea Inn for an elegant, yet casual respite. Enjoy our spacious rooms with large private bathrooms, mostly with jacuzzi. Visit the Eastern Shore's charming, quaint towns and marinas - we are ideally located for those who plan to visit not only Chincoteague Island, but also the rest of the Eastern Shore. Relax on one of our porches or at the outdoor pool. Pets welcome! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing