We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
197
15
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
197
15
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming hole cow pasture gathering room other guests ping pong owners john bell rings covered pavilion buffet style disc golf peace and quiet corn hole western virginia enjoy nature hiking trails are get away from it all bath county
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Had an absolutely wonderful 20yr Anniversary stay at Fort Lewis Lodge in Bath County. We were told about this place but had to experience it for ourselves. We were not disappointed! From the gracious hosts, to the people we met, to the fresh farm grown food we enjoyed, everything was perfect. The owners John and Caryl Cowden along with their son David, Erin and Staff were wonderful. My wife was “patient” with me as I had to talk to every staff member and see every inch of the property we were staying on. With miles of hiking trails, swimming holes, a new wood burning stove sauna, hot tube, kayaking...there was just so much to do! We are already thinking about when is the next time we can get back to Fort Lewis Lodge and I hope it is sooner than later.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TheProffittFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

Fort Lewis is a reminder that peace and quiet, walks by the river, and waking up to the sound of birds is still possible. We feel like we’re going to a family mountain house. It has all the charm of grandmother’s mountain house with her quilts and dinner bell, with the privacy of separate rooms and cabins and good options to do what you want with your stay. If you’re looking for a luxury resort this is not it; if you want to feel cared for and like you did as a kid after a family
visit, this is where to go. The lodging is simple and comfortable. The grounds are the same, with the grandeur of the VA mountains’ simple elegance and the quiet of country roads. The crown jewel is dinner. Do not miss this. We live outside of Manhattan and have not had a meal this good since my own grandmother made it. We couldn’t wait for breakfast— all part of the price of your stay. The only disappointment is you won’t get the recipe for the stewed tomatoes or corn pudding, and we don’t grow green beans that taste like this. But I’ll be trying my best to replicate all of it. Without a doubt, with kids, without kids, with friends, solo, make this a stop along your journey, or your destination. Take a swim in the river when you get there. Sit under the pavilion and stretch out before the mountains to read, grab a drink at the intimate bar and head to the fireplace to chat with friends and family before dinner, and head over to dinner when you hear the bell. Definitely go for a moonlit walk and maybe open your windows to hear the sounds of the countryside as you drift off to sleep. Head to the communal coffee and enjoy the chill of the morning hours as you wait for the breakfast bell. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

We love Bath County, Virginia! If you love the mountains, lake and river fun, and hiking, this is the place. It's possibly the most beautiful county in Virginia. Ft. Lewis Lodge is absolutely perfect. We stayed in the Bend House, which is one of the most custom homes I've ever been in. We like to cook for ourselves; but if we didn't, we could have stayed in one of their beautiful and unique other properties and eaten the Lodge's wonderful food. The property abounds with activities, and Lake Moomaw is just down the road. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The Bend House is the only housing with a kitchen, and a whole separate guest house with beds for 10 more!
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbieabbott1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

This was a new adventure for us as we usually opt for the beach vacation. Instead we wanted to try hiking and the quiet beauty of the woods. We were not disappointed in this place. The staff is so personable and the lodge is in a beautiful setting. The food that’s included is quite nice. They serve a great variety and really pay attention to detail in this respect. Even special dietary requests was no problem for them.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Wonderful place too stay. Lots of choice, from cabins to two whole houses. One of these self catering the other with B&B and dinner. Many activities to do in and around the area, beautiful scenery. Idilic for a quiet vacation

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HermanandSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews