We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the rough!”
Review of Primland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Primland
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2010

One of the employees who has been with Primland for decades described Primland as a "diamond in the rough". We couldn't agree more. After seeing a large article in our local newspaper over a year ago, I decided we had to visit Primland. We planned a 4 night, 4 day stay in October with our family of me, my husband and two children in their 20's. We came from one way in NC and the children met us halfway coming from another part of the state. Had no idea what to expect. Our mountain home we rented was absolutely fantastic with a great deck, hot tub overlooking the mtns,.and a house that was extremely comfortable in every way. We pre-booked golf for the men, and skeet shooting for all of us.

I want to say that the employees are all fantastic. I can't even list all of the names of the people with whom we came in contact with who were wonderful in every way. Most of these folks have been with the company for years. This is five star service in a rustic atmosphere.

My husband and I had dinner in the Pub on our arrival, and the lodge is gorgeous and very comfortable. We had a great pub dinner with drinks with a great bartender. Only one other group was in for dinner even though I think the place was at capacity. The whole time we were there we felt almost like we were the only ones on the 22,000 acres. There are more employees than guests. The lodge has beautiful inn rooms, two restaurants, a huge game room with pool table and ping pong table and TV. A huge theatre, first come first served with your blu-ray movie. Awesome! Spa with indoor pool and spa and outside lounges for warmer days. Large fitness room with good selection of machines. Lovely public rooms with modern fireplaces. The wraparound decks of the lodge are incredible with comfortable furniture scattered everywhere to see the views of the golf course and mountains. We had a picnic at one of the tables after golf.

We had already decided to cook all the rest of our meals. The restaurants are expensive, but our children would prefer to eat basic home-cooked food than more gourmet food, and they were so happy in their crap clothes for the whole time.

This was one of the most relaxing vacations we have taken with the children. We tend to go and do and see, and this was so laid back. The hot tub was awesome and was checked for chemicals by the staff daily. Golf was incredible. Fabulous course and views. Hiking was very nice. The easy trail is really a moderate trail. The moderate trail is nice. We didn't get to the difficult trail. Skeet shooting for people who had never picked up a shotgun was great. Carl was our guide who is head of hunting, so he was such a great instructor. We did an hour and half of instruction which was shooting at different stands. Then another hour and half of shooting at pairs at different stands. With Carl's help we were able to know where to shoot and all had over a 50% success rate of hitting the clays!! Much better than we even hoped for. Our 20 year old daughter was the only one who hit the bouncing rabbit clays! It was a highlight for our family to enjoy together.

We fished twice in the stocked pond and pulled in huge catfish and bass as well as over 25 small bass we threw back. Carl cleaned our fish for us and we cooked them for dinner. Service was so wonderful they even brought minnows in a huge container to the pond for us with an aerator with fish food and then said just leave it and we'll get it later.

We saw people doing the ATV rides, but we'll have to do that next time. When we asked they all had a wonderful time on the trail rides. Others did horseback riding and had a great experience.

We didn't know what to do with our garbage from the kitchen as with the animals, there are no outside garbage cans, we called and within 5 min, our garbage was picked up. We needed more paper towels and they delivered them right away. Even in the homes, toiletries are provided as well as TP, paper towels, all linens, dish liquid, washing machine and dryer needs and dishwasher powder.

These people really want to meet every need.

We were surprised to find the wildlife that is everywhere. There are huge bird fields for hunting but even down by the fishing ponds, the pheasants are just wandering around for you to be around. Beautiful! Deer and birds of prey everywhere. Rabbits on the trails and enjoyed seeing the hunting dogs in the kennels.

I really can't say enough about this resort. I couldn't be more impressed and we have already talked to neighbors and friends to go with us on another visit. Go and enjoy!!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guidebooktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

722 - 726 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2010

I surprised me husband with a weekend away at Primland for our one year wedding anniversary. I called and spoke with Chastidy who helped me plan everything. She was very helpful and made planning this trip a breeze. It truly lived up to its name and it was even more beautiful once we got there and saw the views. The lodge is beautiful and the design throughout is very well put together. It was a little too "modern" for my husband who is an avid hunter and is used to going to more rustic hunting lodges but he thought it was still nice. Our room was amazing and had a great view of the blue ridge mountains. The activities were great. We did a round of sporting clays and five stand which were both challenging. You can tell that there is a lot of thought and care that goes into setting up the clays field. We had one of the nicest trappers named Lauren who was so sweet and took us around the clays field. Sammie also joined us who was just as nice and helped with the five stand. Saturday morning we went pheasant hunting with Chuck as our guide and had a great time. The pheasant hunt was challenging and I think it was just a bit too early in the season to hunt in some of the fields. We had great weather but a little just a little too hot for hunting. We were told that late November/early December is the best time to go. But nonetheless we had a great time being outside and hunting with Chuck. I can honestly say I have never hunted in a place where I have the blue ridge mountains all around me. Saturday afternoon we went on a 3 hour ATV tour, which I thought might be too long. I was wrong, it was the perfect amount of time and we got to see the most beautiful views and drive though some beautiful locations. Our Guide was Carl and he was extremely nice with alot of knowledge about Primland. We drove over 30 miles!
FOOD: Elements was not our favorite. The little bit of food that we did get was good but it just wasn't very much food.
We had lunch 2 days in a row at the 19th hole and the food was pretty good. Our last night there we ate at the Stables (this is where we heard other people say you could get a normal sized meal). We both had 2 ribeyes (as big as our heads) with a shallot butter on top with asparagus and mashed potatoes on the side. Now thats what we were waiting for! After a long day out hunting and driving around on an ATV, we wanted something substantial and we got it. For dessert we got ice cream with apple pie. Delicious!
Overall we had a fantastic time and really enjoyed our stay. We both were very impressed with all our guides and how friendly each one was. Thanks primland for a great weekend!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanzanite00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Primland exceeds every travelers requirements and desires for a spiritual and
relaxing stay..
Great facility, delicious food, varied wine selection and attentive wait staff.
The spa treatment and attendant was one of the best I have ever received.
My facialist Brenda exceeded all expectaions with attention to my selections of service.
Beautiful views from every room of the Blue Ridge mountains.
The golf couse was one of the most difficult in execution but spectacular in layout
and views.
Looking forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan60893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We highly recommend The Lodge. It was clean, comfortable, elegant and beautifully decorated. The food was wonderful and the service was superior. We were treated like royalty by the staff. This was the best experience we have ever had at a resort. The view from our room was spectacular.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eculler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

PROs... gorgeous resort, incredible golf (perilous for beginners!) - perfectly maintained course, stunning views, fabulous meals at Elements - the Colette du Boeuf is beyond delicious and service is tremendous, lovely cottages, fun ATV trip, the best spa treatments ever - I highly recommend Brenda... she is topnotch! Great pulled pork sandwiches in the boxed lunches for the golfers --- ask for barbecue sauce if you like it, as there isn't any on the pulled pork. Beautiful night sky... the stars are so much brighter and the Milky Way is easily visible. We saw shooting stars and satellites --- just an amazing experience. Spend some time out on the huge deck at the lodge - the views are lovely!

Observations... hardly any guests were there except maybe 15 other people on Saturday, but we enjoyed the peace and the R & R. We were the only two on the golf course on Monday, and loved that as well! Of the four restaurants, only Elements and The lodge grill room were open. The Stables Saloon and the Woodlands Grill Room were not available for meals, probably because so few people were there at the end of August.
If you take the Astronomy Tour of the dome/telescope viewing, hopefully everything will be working when you go. Nothing functioned when we were there.

Notations... some of the info on the website is inaccurate, maybe because they are making changes since opening not too long ago. There is no ATM there, so have some available cash.
Make sure to go over details of any activities before you go - for example, if you are new to fly fishing, maybe make sure you have your own guide instead of one guide for two people. Reason --- you'll be split up with the guide running back and forth between you. If you've never shot a gun before, take a lesson before doing sporting clays. I wish I had, but it was fun anyway.
If you stay in the cottages, be careful driving the golf carts at night. There are no headlights, which can make for a scary but fun ride up and down the gravel path in the dark. If you feel tall grass on your legs, you've left the path :<}
There are closets in the cottages, but no dresser for clothes or luggage rack for your suitcase. Not a big deal --- we just kept our suitcases on the floor.
If you're thinking of bringing a special bottle of wine for a celebration in the restaurant, don't. Apparently it's illegal to bring your own wine and pay a corking fee in Virginia.
They have plenty of wine there, so just order a bottle.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chambs80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meadows of Dan
30.4 km away
Oak Haven Lodge
Oak Haven Lodge
#3 of 4 in Floyd
54 reviews
26.1 km away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
790 reviews
26.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Uptown Suites of Stuart
15.8 km away
Wolf Creek Farm B & B
Wolf Creek Farm B & B
#1 of 1 in Ararat
24 reviews
21.7 km away
Mountain Rose Inn
Mountain Rose Inn
#1 of 1 in Woolwine
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primland? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primland

Address: 2000 Busted Rock Rd, Meadows of Dan, VA 24120-4467
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Meadows of Dan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Price Range: ₹ 17,477 - ₹ 48,094 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Primland 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape There are many people at Primland with an abiding respect for the land, who know the sounds and smells of the forest so intimately, they will open your eyes to the simple pleasure of a mountain getaway at this refined East Coast vacation resort. They will show you the subtleties of nature and reacquaint you with the restorative powers of silence. Your server will remember just how you take your drink, your children's names and that you like a freshly baked cookie after lunch. You will sense the love your wilderness guide has for the mountain and all its creatures, and the depth of his expertise. You will always find a kind word, authentic humor and an open heart. It was the vision of Primland's founder, Didier Primat, to create a place of immense beauty that offers his guests a return to simple human pleasures in an environment of refined authenticity and sensuality. He developed Primland in an eco-conscious and thoughtful manner, as the ultimate retreat for world-class golf, refined dining and outdoor activities. Our love of the land is expressed in our extensive efforts to minimize our impact on nature, the freshness of our food, the many organic, sustainable ingredients we source locally or grow in our organic garden and the care with which we look after our guests. Didier Primat instilled his passion for Primland in every member of his family and staff , and they carry forward his legacy with soul, with heart and with a commitment to genuine hospitality. Art is an important part of the Primland experience. We consider hospitality to be an art that involves sharing emotion and pleasure through attention to even the most subtle detail. We also feel that surrounding you with inspired pieces of art enhances your experience. Throughout The Lodge, you will find hand-selected works by American artists as well as authentic and rare Aboriginal paintings from the most remote Australian territories. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Primland Hotel Meadows Of Dan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing