We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First of Many Visits”
Review of Primland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Primland
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2011

My wife and I were visiting to look at Primland for a gathering of a small group of clients. Primland had been recommended by a good friend who lives an hour away. We had not heard of it until recently and it isn't listed as a AAA or Forbes 5 Star yet. However, after a two night visit, we think that honor will be bestowed soon. Primland has strong legs for being only 4 years old, built we were told by a wealthy European family who fell in love with the mountains.

The service from professional, yet enthusiastic, staff, fine bedding, great views and temperature (consistently 10 degree cooler temps than most of the southeast) made it a fine trip. The architecture, challenging golf and excellent spa put it in the top elite category of US hotels in our asssessment. It even has a world class observatory, shooting sports, horses and fly fishing in a scenic river. Part of the original Appalachian Trail is on the property.

We had been hesitant to visit because of concerns over dining. However, every meal we had was of gourmet quality as the Chef studied at Greenbrier and Inn at Little Washington. In Elements dining room, the food was creative, presentation superb and the dining experience was the best we have ever had in any mountain resort, including top rated Sun Valley, Idaho, and Deer Valley, Utah. Prices were comparable to what other top resorts charge but service was among the best.

In short, we think this is a 5 Star Resort and in the same category of Cloisters, Four Seasons Palm Beach, Greenbrier and Inn at Palmetto Bluff. Its prices are very similar, though there are packages that make it more comfortable. Rooms in the 26 room lodge are of 3 varieties of size and it appeared that all have 100 mile views of the NC or VA mountains. The decor, including baths, is as good as its gets with top notch bedding, furniture and L'Occitane amenities. There are also a selection of "mountain" homes that are part of the 12,000 acre compound, including a one king bedroom luxury "tree house" we saw that overlooks a cliff on the golf course.

The only negative is that it is miles away from everything. Mt. Airy NC is 30 minutes away and Martinsville, VA an hour, but from Raleigh or Greensboro NC only 90 minutes.

We would recommend to friends, family and clients.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ritzytopaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

709 - 713 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

Four couples shared two houses at Primland for a weekend in July,2011. First the good news. The property is very beautiful an the public areas of the Lodge are stunning. We played golf ; the course is extremely well maintained and very attractive. We used the spa services; the Spa infrastucture is top notch and each of us who had a treatment was very impressed. How could so many positives turn to the negative? Well, it has to do with the details---unfortunately, too many of them. I will preface the listing of problems with a caveat----the following items could each individually be overlooked; however, when you are paying top dollar for a high end experience (think Ritz Carlton), the number of mistakes tends to wear you out. We arrived two hours early and were told at reception that it was OK to leave some perishable food items at the house along with our bags even though the cleaners were just about to clean one of the the houses Well, reception did not tell the cleaners, so they skipped over that house by mistake which led to a four hour delay. We were told at the lodge that it was our mistake as we should not have left anything at the house---even though another staff member had advised earlier to go ahead and do so. We were advised by phone when the reservations were made that we would have golf carts at the houses so that the couples could visit each other between houses----none was provided until we had to ask three times. There were four adults in each three bedroom house, but only two bathrobes were provided---a bit awkward when the baths are not all ensuite. One member of our party phoned in advance of our stay to make an appointment for the pilates class as advertised---nobody ever called her back. Another of our party called in advance to schedule the as advertised nature walk for a Sun moning. Having not gotten a resonse, she tried two more time and gave up. Low and behold, we received a call on Sunday morning when some of us were in bed telling us that our guide was at the Lodge waiting. Needless to say we had to cancel as we thought nothing was ever scheduled. Four out of eight of us signed up for the golf package ---which included one dinner and one breakfast for four. Without disclosing the difference, resort management set up all eight of us for dinner at their "saloon" rather than their main, atmospheric restaurant at the Lodge. We were determined to have a good time so we had drinks and dinner, and at least two $100 bottles of wine in an atmosphere looked more like a college dining room---not exacly good value. Finally, when I mentioned to my wife on check-out that at least the golf facility was first class, my golf clubs were given back to me caked withy dirt and I had to carry the clubs to the car----again, not that big a deal in many places, but my very high expectations of Primland left me disappointed. I could go on with some other minor disappointments but I have already been too lenghty. In closing, I will say this on the positive side. With only one exception, I thought the staff at Primland was very warm and friendly. They clearly have the right intent and the right attitude. I have to chalk up the disappointment to poor systems, perhaps training and supervision? Who knows.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank boydmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbouvier, General Manager at Primland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Dear Guest

Unfortunately, when people travel as a small group of 4 couples, it is sometimes difficult to ensure that expectations are not missed and that information is fully shared and communicated to all parties. Although our Mountain Homes, like the one you booked, are charming with extraordinary views they are not at the same standard as our Lodge rooms, which are more of a “think Ritz Carlton” product at more of a luxury price point. It is always our goal to meet or exceed our guest’s expectations and we sincerely regret any misinformation that may have been communicated within your group.

Security reports that your party was greeted at the gate at 12:45 pm, over 3 hours previous to our published check in time of 4 pm. At that time you were asked to proceed to the Lodge and enjoy the facilities while you waited. At 1:30 pm we received a call from your cottage stating that the phones were not working. (For control purposes, in-room phones are not activated until a guest is checked in.) And it was then that we were made aware that because your vehicles were in the driveway of the unit our housekeeping team assumed the house was occupied and not available for cleaning. They moved on to an available unit. And, due to this confusion your cottage was not fully clean until 5:30 that evening, a 90 minute delay from our standard of 4pm.

It is our policy not to allow club cars on the roads at Primland and our reservations agents make this known anytime one is requested. The unit you occupied is at least 3 miles from the Lodge and driving on that road in a club car is not advisable. These carts are only available for guest use with the rental of one of our Fairway Cottages and none other. Your party was so upset about the lack of availability of a golf cart that our manager made an exception and had carts delivered to your units, at no charge.

The Stables Saloon is our casual dining venue focusing on local flavor and products. While we never assume to make automatic dining reservations for any guests, we are sorry that the restaurant did not suit your dining needs that evening. We also apologize for the lack of follow through you experienced with your pilates and hiking appointments is unacceptable and does not meet our standard at Primland and we sincerely apologize for this inefficiency.

At Primland, we take our guest's satisfaction very seriously and no matter what the source of concern, we will immediately attempt to recover the experience for the guest. It is unfortunate that you did not bring these items to our attention while you were here so we could have the opportunity to better accomodate you. Once again, please accept our apologies for your disappointment.

Sincerely,

Mara Bouvier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We live about and hour and a half from this gem. Each time we visit, we try something new. Each time we are amazed at another facet offered. We have played golf in and out of season and are blown away by the beauty and challenge of the highland course. the spa is incredible for the size of this resort. We never feel cramped or herded like large resorts tend to make us feel. The quality of scenery, the architecture, and activities is matched with personal attention. The food is locally sourced and prepared by a chef from the Greenbriar. She even hand makes the chocolates for turn down service! World class shooting facility, I learned to shoot a shot gun one afternoon. Great instruction, I never touched a gun in my life and I was able to break several clay birds. Have yet to get a birdie on the golf course, but it doesn't matter, my husband won't let me keep score anyway. He says a resort course this special can't be ruined by a bad score. Looking forward to our next stay in the treehouse. Make sure you get a room with a balcony. Fairway cabins are incredible. I have not stayed in one of the older houses, but I have heard they are nice. You get what you pay for...peace and quite!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Erinafter5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Primland was absolutely fabulous! The SPA experience was one I will not soon forget. We were completely pampered by top professionals. The services offered in the SPA are overwhelming. Fitness area, womens spa area TOP of the line. The lodge rooms are beautifully decorated with everything you could or would ever need in the room. Beautiful and breathtaking veiws from all points of the lodge. There are cottages and small homes also available that we did not even have time to see. Amazing walking and hiking trails, ATV riding, horseback, swimming, excellant golf experience!! Food was above average, not excellent. Service was exceptional in all dinning areas. A little slow in the Fine dining area. I will be going back in June most probably!

Room Tip: Any room you choose will be beautiful! Each kind of room has its specific price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smash012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We can only echo what has been said by others: magnificent setting, beautiful lodge, gracious and attentive service, rooms that are beyond comfortable, delicious food, and great golf. As has also been mentioned, the food is pricey, but we had a package that included breakfast and dinner that was a very good deal. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Check out the special promotions and packages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJCharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meadows of Dan
31.8 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
470 reviews
12.8 km away
Woodberry Inn
Woodberry Inn
#2 of 3 in Meadows of Dan
310 reviews
26.1 km away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.2 km away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
661 reviews
26.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
14.6 km away
The Virginian Motel
The Virginian Motel
#1 of 1 in Stuart
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primland? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primland

Address: 2000 Busted Rock Rd, Meadows of Dan, VA 24120-4467
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Meadows of Dan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Price Range: ₹ 17,436 - ₹ 41,218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Primland 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape There are many people at Primland with an abiding respect for the land, who know the sounds and smells of the forest so intimately, they will open your eyes to the simple pleasure of a mountain getaway at this refined East Coast vacation resort. They will show you the subtleties of nature and reacquaint you with the restorative powers of silence. Your server will remember just how you take your drink, your children's names and that you like a freshly baked cookie after lunch. You will sense the love your wilderness guide has for the mountain and all its creatures, and the depth of his expertise. You will always find a kind word, authentic humor and an open heart. It was the vision of Primland's founder, Didier Primat, to create a place of immense beauty that offers his guests a return to simple human pleasures in an environment of refined authenticity and sensuality. He developed Primland in an eco-conscious and thoughtful manner, as the ultimate retreat for world-class golf, refined dining and outdoor activities. Our love of the land is expressed in our extensive efforts to minimize our impact on nature, the freshness of our food, the many organic, sustainable ingredients we source locally or grow in our organic garden and the care with which we look after our guests. Didier Primat instilled his passion for Primland in every member of his family and staff , and they carry forward his legacy with soul, with heart and with a commitment to genuine hospitality. Art is an important part of the Primland experience. We consider hospitality to be an art that involves sharing emotion and pleasure through attention to even the most subtle detail. We also feel that surrounding you with inspired pieces of art enhances your experience. Throughout The Lodge, you will find hand-selected works by American artists as well as authentic and rare Aboriginal paintings from the most remote Australian territories. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Primland Hotel Meadows Of Dan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing