We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Enchanting Mountain Resort”
Review of Primland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Primland
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Although I often use TripAdvisor, this is the first time I've felt that I wanted to write a review. Primland is an amazing place -- the mountains, golf, sporting clays shooting -- it was all at the highest level. We stayed in the Blue Ridge Suite and it will for most of you be the best suite/room you've ever stayed at.

One thing I wanted to especially mention was the helpfulness and interest by the new manager, Mara. She has genuine interest in how the guests are doing at the resort. She made sure all our needs were met and was obviously attentive to how we were doing, without being intrusive.

There are so many great activities. We will be back to do some more sporting clays and next time we plan on doing some horseback riding. Golf was really special -- probably the best course I've played (and I've played in some top 100 U.S. courses). My 10 year-old described it as being better than the Masters (ok, so that's of course not true, and he has never played Augusta, but you get the idea).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoazandRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

714 - 718 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2011

My husband and I just got back from a one night stay at Primland. It was rainy and foggy so we didn't get to go hiking as planned but we really enjoyed our stay. The Piedmont suite was beautfully appointed and very clean. Staff was friendly and our chef tasting menu at Elements last night was great along with some wonderful wine. We are planning another trip and will bring friends and family along.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitched5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Primland is a beautiful mountain resort. The views were fabulous and the grounds well kept. My boyfriend and I stayed this past weekend in the Woodchuck cottage, 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. Our cottage was very private with a hot tub and gas wood stove. Most every thing was clean with a few exceptions....turned on the ceiling fan in the living room and dust went everywhere (we had food on the coffee table at the time) and my socks were dirty after walking on the floor. The cottage was well supplied with the exception of the laundry detergent. All of the rooms were nice and well decorated. The master bathroom wall had been repaired but not repainted. The cottage had a grill that we used our first night. Not very big if you were cooking for a large family. Our biggest disappointment was the food at the restaurants. We had lunch at the 19th Clearing Pub for $68, a little pricey but good. Biggest disappointment was the food and atomsphere at the Stables Saloon. For $141, we had two steaks, dessert and two drinks. I must say, the Stables Saloon was one of the dullest places I have ever eaten. Like another reviewer, would rather eat at Frankie Rowlands. Best part of our stay was the couple's massage. Holley and Kelly were wonderful. Excellent massages with a flair for romance. All in all I would rate our stay as average.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rockinwksgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBradbury, General Manager at Primland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2011

Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to welcome you to Primland ! Thank you for the honest feedback you posted here regarding your stay in Woodchuck, one of our Mountain Home properties. I have shared the posting with my staff, and we have addressed in detail each of the shortcomings you described. Thank you too for your feedback about your dining and spa experiences.

Please accept our sincere apologies for these lapses in our service. We regret disappointing you in any way and on behalf of my entire team, we endeavor to regain your complete confidence in us. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Primland as our guests one day. I am available at any time to help make the arrangements for you personally. My direct telephone number is 276.222.3807.

Warm regards from all of us at Primland,

Brooks Bradbury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

My husband, myself and another couple stayed at Primland for the New Year's weekend. I must say this is one of the most wonderful NYE we have ever had. We rented one of the cabins. The guys shot clays and the ladies went for a hike. The NYE dinner was magnificent. The service was impeccable and the staff was great. The band was wonderful! Lacey Green was the lead singer and sounded like a young Allison Kraus. On Saturday, we relaxed at the Spa. We had the best massages we have ever experienced. Please ask for Thea or Sandra. You will not be disappointed!

We are planning our Primland trip for next NYE!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tunkylala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend breather in late August for our first visit. The facilitiy is very modern and first-class. We had been on property for ten hours when I asked a staff member if business was doing okay since we had barely seen anyone since arriving. "Oh, Yes. We're nearly full up this weekend," was his reply. This makes an important point about Primland. It is designed to feel like your own resort. you will see people from time to time, but mostly, you feel like your're alone. Golf is one of the best available on the Blue Ridge. The proshop staff is top notch. Pay attention to slope rating. It's harder than that.

Spa is very well appointed. There is a Cherokee theme to the Spa that's a little stretched, but the staff is very professional.

We stayed in a fairway cottage which was excellently appointed (despite the claim of a full kitchen there is no stove).

Dinner in the lodge is four star. Dinner at the Stables is a little weird because we were one of very few patrons. The decor in the stables is a little lacking. On the whole, this was a dream excursion.

This is the best four-star resort within driving distance of Charlotte, NC.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retract_mai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meadows of Dan
30.4 km away
Oak Haven Lodge
Oak Haven Lodge
#3 of 4 in Floyd
54 reviews
26.1 km away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
790 reviews
26.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Uptown Suites of Stuart
15.8 km away
Wolf Creek Farm B & B
Wolf Creek Farm B & B
#1 of 1 in Ararat
24 reviews
21.7 km away
Mountain Rose Inn
Mountain Rose Inn
#1 of 1 in Woolwine
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primland? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primland

Address: 2000 Busted Rock Rd, Meadows of Dan, VA 24120-4467
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Meadows of Dan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Price Range: ₹ 17,546 - ₹ 45,295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Primland 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape There are many people at Primland with an abiding respect for the land, who know the sounds and smells of the forest so intimately, they will open your eyes to the simple pleasure of a mountain getaway at this refined East Coast vacation resort. They will show you the subtleties of nature and reacquaint you with the restorative powers of silence. Your server will remember just how you take your drink, your children's names and that you like a freshly baked cookie after lunch. You will sense the love your wilderness guide has for the mountain and all its creatures, and the depth of his expertise. You will always find a kind word, authentic humor and an open heart. It was the vision of Primland's founder, Didier Primat, to create a place of immense beauty that offers his guests a return to simple human pleasures in an environment of refined authenticity and sensuality. He developed Primland in an eco-conscious and thoughtful manner, as the ultimate retreat for world-class golf, refined dining and outdoor activities. Our love of the land is expressed in our extensive efforts to minimize our impact on nature, the freshness of our food, the many organic, sustainable ingredients we source locally or grow in our organic garden and the care with which we look after our guests. Didier Primat instilled his passion for Primland in every member of his family and staff , and they carry forward his legacy with soul, with heart and with a commitment to genuine hospitality. Art is an important part of the Primland experience. We consider hospitality to be an art that involves sharing emotion and pleasure through attention to even the most subtle detail. We also feel that surrounding you with inspired pieces of art enhances your experience. Throughout The Lodge, you will find hand-selected works by American artists as well as authentic and rare Aboriginal paintings from the most remote Australian territories. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Primland Hotel Meadows Of Dan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing