We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beer Varities!”

Bald Top Brewing Co.
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Bald Top Brewing Company is a destination historic farm brewery cradled at the foot of the breathtaking Blue Ridge Mountains of Madison County. Offering weekly food trucks, live music and delicious craft beer! Visit our website for holiday hours and a listing of upcoming music artists, food trucks and special events! Come and "drink in the moment!"
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

What a Fabulous stop in between wineries in Central Virginia! Great views and a Wonderful social stop to take in a beer or 2. My wife and I are Belgian beer lovers and they had a variety of beers from light to dark that are very symbolic of a top microbrewery. As the added bonus you can bring your own food!

Thank Chad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, General Manager at Bald Top Brewing Co., responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Bald Top, thank you so much for the kind review and please come back and visit us next time you are in the area! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great beer"
in 13 reviews
"madison county"
in 6 reviews
"food truck"
in 5 reviews
"fire pit"
in 3 reviews
"historic farm"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 2 reviews
"farm atmosphere"
in 2 reviews
"charlottesville area"
in 2 reviews
"stout"
in 6 reviews
"brewmaster"
in 3 reviews
"growler"
in 3 reviews
"ipas"
in 2 reviews
"breweries"
in 2 reviews
"culpeper"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2018

This is a gem of a find! Virginia's first historic farm brewery produces beer that is so delicious -- lagers, ales, porters and stouts. The brewmaster and his team are so talented...and the venue is an absolute treat. Rolling hills with views of the neighboring cattle leisurely roaming the fields. The combination of great beer and great scenery will have you hanging out for hours, and coming back often. Super family- and pet-friendly!

Thank cvafoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Owner at Bald Top Brewing Co., responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

We are delighted to hear this! Thank you and we look forward to hosting you again soon!
Dave & Julie, Owners
Heather, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Stopped here on our way back to town and was pleasantly surprised. The views are beautiful and the tasting room was well down. It was a busy Saturday, and i was surprised at how quiet the room stayed. Most breweries get too loud when they're busy, but not this one. They had quite a selection of beers, something for all taste buds. Will definitely visit again!

Thank gibsongirl104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, General Manager at Bald Top Brewing Co., responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for your kind review, we are so happy that you had an enjoyable visit and hope that you will be able to come back and see us again soon! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Call ahead and try and get the brewer to meet you and talk through his process - astounding! Really a connoisseur of flavors. Don't be put off by thinking you don't like IPAs or won't drink a stout ... give it a try! Not much else in the immediate area, so bring a picnic, or eat before you get there, or bring a frisbee and a deck of cards to hang out.

1  Thank lobsterabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, General Manager at Bald Top Brewing Co., responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for your kind review, we are so happy that you had an enjoyable visit and got to speak with Mike as well! We do have rotating food trucks on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays, but picnics are always encouraged as well :)! We hope that you can come and hang out again with us soon!
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Bald top is fun for everyone! Bring your friends, kids or dogs. There is a wide assortment of seasonally changing one of a kind beers brewed on site. Usually a food truck and live music on the weekends. Well behaved pets welcome. Lots of room for kids to run around and play. Plenty of seating inside and out when the weather is nice. Check out the Facebook page or website for updates on events and happenings...it seems like there’s always something fun going on. A much needed hang out in the Madison area and a convenient destination for those traveling from Charlottesville, DC or SNP.

Thank kmpayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Owner at Bald Top Brewing Co., responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you for such a king and comprehensive review! We are grateful that you had such a good experience here which is a testimony to our staff, beer and venue. Please keep following us and joining us throughout the coming winter. We are planning our first anniversary festivities for the weekend of 19-21 January. Hope you can make it! Cheers!
Dave & Julie, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bald Top Brewing Co. also viewed

 

Been to Bald Top Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing