We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Local Madison Brewery

A rustic site with great beer and live music on the weekend. Great in any season. However... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Bina0529
,
Madison, Virginia
Great beer and amazing service. Don't miss!

Just a few minutes off Rt. 29 on a beautiful farmette, this brewery is lovely and has a customer... read more

Reviewed 28 August 2018
JG132
,
Virginia
Read all 43 reviews
  
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
33
7
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
7
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great beer madison county food truck fire pit historic farm beautiful scenery farm atmosphere charlottesville area stout brewmaster growler ipas breweries culpeper
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful scenery and enough seating inside but on a cold day, the 2 tents weren't going to be able to keep the patrons warm. And the lack of bathrooms, while adds to the rustic atmosphere, in the cold weather, they don't show much respect for their patrons. Just something a little "different" about this place and glad there are a lot more options up and down Rt29.

Thank meems53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT Owners I, Owner at Bald Top Brewing Co., responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for providing your feedback . We agree on the conditions and are making plans to improve the infrastructure inclusive of a larger brewery at the top of the hill. As for being a little "different" we are sorry for that as it sounds like it was a negative. We would appreciate learning more as we're always open to suggestions to help us improve every customer's experience. If you can, please email us and let us know.

Thank you.

Julie, Dave, Mike and the BT Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

A rustic site with great beer and live music on the weekend. Great in any season. However, Spring, Summer, and Fall weather provides great outdoor experiences. Dogs and children are welcome and there's lots of room to run and play. For winter weather, there's a small building and accompanying tent. Live music varies from oldies to country to bluegrass. Lots of fun for young and old alike.

Thank Bina0529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT Owners I, Owner at Bald Top Brewing Co., responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for the nice comments and rating! We hope you will come back soon and visit us - even in winter as the barn can be quite cozy - especially when we fire up the pellet stoves!

Sincerely,

Dave, Julie, Mike and the entire BT Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Just a few minutes off Rt. 29 on a beautiful farmette, this brewery is lovely and has a customer focused attention to detail.

We were greeted immediately after entering - while the two barkeeps were busy with other customers, they made a point of welcoming us.

We decided on splitting a flight and were very pleased with all the beers.

As we sat at the bar, the barkeeps were very generous with the small pours to let folks sample before ordering a glass. The stout is awesome!

The brewery also offers what they call crowlers to go. Large cans of their most popular pours.

Even the little details like PLENTY of tp in the bathrooms are the small touches that let you know this establishment really thinks about its customers.

The owner was on site and was also pleasant and accommodating. We will definitely be back. Apparently plans are in the works for a B&B on-site. Sounds like a great weekend!

Thank JG132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BT Owners I, Owner at Bald Top Brewing Co., responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks JG! We are glad you came and had such a nice visit! We do pride ourselves in being customer-focused as we strive to make every customer's visit memorable and refreshing too!
See you again soon,
Julie, Dave, Mike and the BT Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

I recently was in the Culpeper-Madison-Charlottesville area and stopped at the Bald Top Brewing Co. What a delightful experience with the owner and brewmaster giving an extensive and personalized overview of this unique and pastoral historic farm brewery. Highly recommend if you're in the area!

1  Thank Emilie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Owner at Bald Top Brewing Co., responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Hi Emilie,
We are so glad to hear that you had a great visit yesterday! Thank you very much for your kind words, we take pride in making sure that everyone of our visitors has a great time while visiting Bald Top.
We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Dave & Julie, Owners
Mike, Brewer
Heather, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This was a great stop to hang out and have a drink and listen to some live music. They had a food truck there and I ordered a gluten free meal and had a coke. I don’t drink beer but my friend does and she said they had some pretty good ones. We plan to go back this month for more music and to try a different food truck.

Thank JustMarsha30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

What a Fabulous stop in between wineries in Central Virginia! Great views and a Wonderful social stop to take in a beer or 2. My wife and I are Belgian beer lovers and they had a variety of beers from light to dark that are very symbolic of a top microbrewery. As the added bonus you can bring your own food!

Thank Chad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, General Manager at Bald Top Brewing Co., responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Bald Top, thank you so much for the kind review and please come back and visit us next time you are in the area! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

This is a gem of a find! Virginia's first historic farm brewery produces beer that is so delicious -- lagers, ales, porters and stouts. The brewmaster and his team are so talented...and the venue is an absolute treat. Rolling hills with views of the neighboring cattle leisurely roaming the fields. The combination of great beer and great scenery will have you hanging out for hours, and coming back often. Super family- and pet-friendly!

Thank cvafoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Owner at Bald Top Brewing Co., responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

We are delighted to hear this! Thank you and we look forward to hosting you again soon!
Dave & Julie, Owners
Heather, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Stopped here on our way back to town and was pleasantly surprised. The views are beautiful and the tasting room was well down. It was a busy Saturday, and i was surprised at how quiet the room stayed. Most breweries get too loud when they're busy, but not this one. They had quite a selection of beers, something for all taste buds. Will definitely visit again!

Thank gibsongirl104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, General Manager at Bald Top Brewing Co., responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for your kind review, we are so happy that you had an enjoyable visit and hope that you will be able to come back and see us again soon! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Call ahead and try and get the brewer to meet you and talk through his process - astounding! Really a connoisseur of flavors. Don't be put off by thinking you don't like IPAs or won't drink a stout ... give it a try! Not much else in the immediate area, so bring a picnic, or eat before you get there, or bring a frisbee and a deck of cards to hang out.

1  Thank lobsterabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, General Manager at Bald Top Brewing Co., responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for your kind review, we are so happy that you had an enjoyable visit and got to speak with Mike as well! We do have rotating food trucks on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays, but picnics are always encouraged as well :)! We hope that you can come and hang out again with us soon!
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Bald top is fun for everyone! Bring your friends, kids or dogs. There is a wide assortment of seasonally changing one of a kind beers brewed on site. Usually a food truck and live music on the weekends. Well behaved pets welcome. Lots of room for kids to run around and play. Plenty of seating inside and out when the weather is nice. Check out the Facebook page or website for updates on events and happenings...it seems like there’s always something fun going on. A much needed hang out in the Madison area and a convenient destination for those traveling from Charlottesville, DC or SNP.

Thank kmpayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Owner at Bald Top Brewing Co., responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you for such a king and comprehensive review! We are grateful that you had such a good experience here which is a testimony to our staff, beer and venue. Please keep following us and joining us throughout the coming winter. We are planning our first anniversary festivities for the weekend of 19-21 January. Hope you can make it! Cheers!
Dave & Julie, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews