We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timberlake Motel Lynchburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Timberlake Motel Lynchburg
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We were not expecting much for a room with two double beds for less than $70/night and when we checked in with a clerk behind bullet proof glass and a hallway that reaked of stale smoke, we thought we were in for a long and unpleasant night.

However our non-smoking room was clean, fresh smelling, quiet, and very nice. A good sized fridge, microwave were there and although it was old, the heating unit worked very well. The bathroom was smalll but with all new fixture and good quality towels. Beds were very comfortable.

Small improvements would be a) and extra blanket and b) new light switch faceplates (get rid of the badly painted ones). No closet or ironing board, etc. but very quiet and no road noise. B'fast was waffle maker or cereal with OJ and coffee. The TV was low definition but had all the major channels including ESPN and CNN.

For the money we felt this was VERY good value and were overall quite pleased. considering that one spends most of the time in a room asleep, we look for quiet, clean and safe. You get all that at the Timberlake. Nothing fancy, but much better than other budget places I have stayed.

Room Tip: For quiet ask for a room away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mafarmerga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    147
    44
    19
    12
See reviews for
169
54
45
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We had the opportunity to spend 2 nights at this hotel. It was clean and convenient to the sites in the area. The breakfast is good (waffle, cereal, coffee and OJ). We got the managers special rate.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmanonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

aA good budget motel , close to the main roads , Ideal centre for touring Virginia , I stayed here 14 nights . the breakfast was a cook yourself waffle with maple syrup , but there are a lot of great cheap eating places in the area within 5 minutes drive . The staff are friendly & helpful;.The décor slightly dated , the ice free . Two coca cola machines although one was empty throughout my stay . the pool was filled and available . A good deal , but budget , I was more than happy with the price .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeway, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Planning out a vacation and using the internet can be like a game of roulette at the best of times. I knew after doing some research that the Timberlake hotel was not going to be high end, nor did I expect it. We merely needed a night with beds and a pool for the kids to swim in. I recognized that this was an older Motel - the kind I always stayed in with my parents when we travelled. There was 4 of us. 2 adults and 2 - 13yr old girls.

Upon arrival we walked into our room and it was indeed not only musty but our non-smoking room had definately been termed that recently. The room smelt heavily of cigarette smoke. We could have asked for a different room, but upon realizing the entire motel, up to and including the parking lot smelt of smoke we figured it was probably better to just grin and bear it. We wouldn't be there long enough to worry about it and went to dinner.

Upon returning I asked the girls to go check out the pool and see if the water was warm enough to see if they wanted to go for a swim. Well, their answer was a resounding NO...since the pool was full of debris. They said it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in some time. - Not a big problem it was getting later in the evening anyhow.

We went to the ice machine to get ice and to say the room walls were very thin would be an understatement. It would seem that there was some guests who were a bit more adult, "expressive" and loud in the rooms by the ice machine. Granted the hotel is not responsible for what goes on behind closed doors but if you are travelling with younger kids it is something to keep in mind.

The breakfast area was small but there was cereal and waffles, juice and coffee. However as we arrived just after 8:30 in the morning the cleaning staff was using up all the food which was put out as well as the coffee. The breakfast was available until 9.

If you are looking merely for a bed this is the place. If you are looking for somewhere that has anything above that - this may not be the place for you. I can say I will not return to this motel at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, VA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

My parents, in-laws, husband, and I were seeking higher ground during a potentially disastrous storm. Thankfully, all was well when we returned. My family did not want to go too far, but we wanted to be away from the heavy winds, rain, flooding, and power outages so we opted to choose Lynchburg. I reserved this place based on the reviews. I'll admit I had an "uh-oh" moment when we turned into the parking lot. I knew it was an old Mom & Pop motor lodge, but it looked nicer in photos to me. I went in with ambivalence, I was greeted by the manager and a kind, helpful LU student working the front desk. I liked the fact that it had an interior corridor. Things seemed neat and tidy, some furniture was more worn than others, but still okay. The windows opened which was good because the room was a little musty. All was well when we returned after dinner. The motel provides a breakfast room with hot coffee, cereal, and waffles, I would have liked some fruit, but was glad for what was available. The breakfast room was clean, had white linen table cloths, and the morning help was very attentive to keeping the coffee dispenser full of good, hot coffee. Each room had a refrigerator with room for drinks, snacks, and left overs, also a microwave. A washer and dryer was available if needed, too. Back to the LU student, he was very helpful with restaurants, directions, getting me extra pillows, and towels. I wish I knew his name, I just know he's from NC. All in all don't expect the Ritz, but it was a great value for the price , and most importantly housekeeping seems to work hard to keep the place clean. I would definitely return if I was ever in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmokyMountainLover00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
7.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
10.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
10.8 km away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
10.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
16.6 km away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberlake Motel Lynchburg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberlake Motel Lynchburg

Property: Timberlake Motel Lynchburg
Address: 19980 Lynchburg Hwy, Lynchburg, VA 24502-3971
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
#6 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,044 - ₹ 11,594
Hotel Class:2 star — Timberlake Motel Lynchburg 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Timberlake Motel Lynchburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberlake Motel Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing