We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful retreat.”
other travellers have booked this property
Alone Mill Schoolhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alone Mill Schoolhouse
Kitchen area TV Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Alone Mill Schoolhouse
Kitchen area
TV Room
Pool Table Room opens to Kitchen/Dining Room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Alone Mill Creek
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lexington, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Reviewed 25 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Oct 2017
Thanks! I'm glad you all enjoyed your girls getaway at Alone Mill Schoolhouse.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Thanks! We love it when our guests enjoy the Schoolhouse.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KenLang
UK
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Location, Excellent property”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Prior to staying here, my communications with Charles were superb. He always responded immediately to any queries I had and provided excellent directions and a whole host of things to do in the area.

The property itself is very well appointed and clean. It's ideal if you wish to use the grounds for outdoor leisure ( we didn't as it was too late in the year) and there is also an indoor option, with a pool table and all equipment available.

The main attraction for us was the great location, with Lexington, the Goshen Pass, many walking trails and other attractions not too far away, we could easily have stayed for for over a week and not run out of things to do.

There's also free Wifi and a whole stack of books and leaflets to plan your stay.

We'd happily stay here again and would love to do so.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing--no problems
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2015
Thank you. We agree, attractions in the area are limitless! Come to Rockbridge County, Virginia & start exploring.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yankeesfa...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most relaxing and amazing house!”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Had the best time. Came for my great grandmothers 90th bday. The house was awesome. It's was really big inside the bed room had plenty of room. There were 7 of us. The bathrooms are great with plenty of room. The living room shows a couch in the photo and may look a little small but it has a big chair and there's much room. There were some really good books of pictures of Americas history. There was a lot of room in the kitchen and dining area with a big table and lots of bar stools. The pool table was great. Everything is near by such as a horse ranch and the river as well as Walmart. We had ample towels and blankets and the sun doesn't shine in the bedrooms in the morning so your able to sleep in nicely. The house was so clean, neat and tidy. Everything was perfect. We had visitors such as a few animals. When you go outside its so quiet and peaceful and you can hear the creek water flowing. It's gorgous in the entire area. It's a shame we could only stay the weekend but we definitely plan on coming back this summer and doing the amenities in the area such as horse back riding, fishing and kayaking. The roads where plowed and the snow shoveled. When contacting the owners on this site they respond in timely manner. We greatly appreciated everything. I highly recommend staying here. It's cozy and very warm with heat adjusting in each room. Plenty of space for a large group and the beds were very comfy I slept better here then I have at home in a while. A very comforting environment. There is plenty of stuff to do. We even played uno as they have games provided at the house.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuni, Virginia
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Close to Horse Center, but off the beaten path, very quiet and peaceful.
Liked least: Son-in-law complained about no cell service, the rest of us were happy without it.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing