We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Stay at Howard Johnson in Lexington, Va”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“My Stay at Howard Johnson in Lexington, Va”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions and have never had a bad experience. Friendly staff, great view, good rooms and right off of I-81. The hotel is located only 5 miles away from the Lexington town center which has many restaurants (the sushi on Main St. N is great) and sites to see. Also, the price of a room at this location is a very good bargain. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. If you are looking for good value, friendly staff and
a good rest, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Rooms (even numbers) facing the north have a great view of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redsoxnation103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    287
    220
    104
    75
See reviews for
436
190
84
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Just spent the weekend here. First impression was favorable: located on top of a hill, view was remarkable! Front desk staff was friendly and efficient, room was clean and very big. Then I realized; no table & chairs, no couch/loveseat. Only a desk & chair and 1 upolstered barrel chair. Not a problem for me, I liked the extra space. Had a fridge but no microwave and the TV was an old tube type 27-32" with sound problems on some channels.. Pool not open this time of year. Breakfast room was large, seating over two dozen, and offered egg patties and biscuits and gravy along with waffles, cold cereal, some fruit (1 apple) apple / orange juice, coffee, tea, mini muffins and sticky buns, english muffins, two breads, but no bagels! I thought that was a standard. Covers for the coffee cups would be nice also.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lehigh acres, fl
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Excellent front desk staff, very clean room, very clean bathroom, comfortable bed. I researched all the local hotels on trip advisor and settled here because of the positive reviews. Any negative reviews published about this hotel were obviously put there by unreasonable people with unreasonable expectations. Do yourself a favor and stay here, I'll definately be back.

Room Tip: The view from the balcony off the room is fantastic. Ask for a room on the front side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We traveled as a couple with a toddler, from NJ on our way to our final destination of eastern Tennessee, and we needed to find a stopover location on our 12-hour drive. Our priority was thus to find a place to overnight that was clean, safe, and affordable. This place met all those requirements.

The HOJO is located on top of a hill, which when we arrived in the middle of the night, did not notice what a gorgeous scenic view of the countryside this had!! We only noticed it the next day at breakfast in the lobby. Pulling up to the site, the exterior was hideous. It was a dingy, gray, low-income-style housing block with huge floodlights overlooking the parking lot. I was immediately apprehensive, which didn't get better with the stale smell in the lobby. But it was late (10PM) with a sleepy toddler, so we weren't going anywhere.

Thankfully the room smelled fine (we had requested a pet-free smoke-free room). The balcony was bare-- I can't imagine anyone who'd use it-- but it was outfitted well and most importantly, there were no bugs or pests to be seen. The bed was comfortable, the fridge was welcomed, and free wi-fi was a plus.

The free breakfast in the lobby was stale and too sweet. Store-bought English muffins, white bread, bagels, lemon poppyseed muffins, some fresh fruit, cereal (Fruit Loops or Kellogg's.. two choices only), juice (from concentrate) and milk. We grabbed a banana and apple. There was a waffle-making machine with pre-mixed batter, that was the only hot and fresh item available.

For the price we paid ($70/night), it was everything we needed for an overnight 7-hour stay at HOJO. Glad we didn't see any bugs, and happy nobody was mugged. Everything above and beyond was gravy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel on April 29, 2012. I was hesitant to book this hotel but all the reviews convinced me to try it. It is a couple miles out of town and sits high so you have beautiful views of the mountains (on the front side). The property is well maintained, swimming pool was very clean. The little putt putt they have needs some attention. The room was larger than most, we had two double beds. There is a door that goes out on a small balcony with each room but you have indoor corridors and there are two elevators. The towels were kind of thin and the floor in the bathroom looked like a design from the 70's but it was clean. The mattress looked new and the carpet and wallpaper. I always check for "bed bugs" when I go into a hotel and there were none here. The door to the hallway and the bathroom door also show their age, but all in all it was a pleasant surprise. You can't beat the price. The breakfast was good, they had two waffle machines and the usual cereal and bagels and mini muffins and some type cinnamon buns and I believe they had some eggs. I did not check out all the breakfast items. There was coffee and milk and juice. The lady who worked the breakfast area as well as everyone else here was very nice. We enjoyed our stay and will probably stay here again.

Room Tip: I would choose a room on the first floor facing the front of the property. Good access to your car a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 16 in Lexington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
5.6 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
5.6 km away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
5.6 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
5.9 km away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Lexington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Address: 2836 N Lee Hwy, Lexington, VA 24450-3132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lexington
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,008 - ₹ 9,244
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Lexington
Howard Johnson Lexington
Lexington Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing