We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Horrible Service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lansdowne Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Horrible Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I was traveling when my plane was delayed. The airline made me a reservation here and I was very excited because it seemed to be a very nice hotel. Before arriving I went ahead and ordered food since I knew I would be arriving after the kitchens had closed. The server was very helpful and I was excited that everything was going so well.

When I arrived at the hotel however, this all changed. I went to check in and another person who was checking in ahead of me was having trouble getting her credit card to authorize since she hadn't been expecting this additional charge. I stepped in since I work as a front desk supervisor when the man behind the desk, Erin told her she would be unable to check in. After a few minutes I was able to convince him to lower the amount she needed to authorize since she would only be there for a few hours and most everything was closed.

At this point I went to check in and tried to explain I only had my debit card but I had used it to the limit for the day. Erin still tried to run it and was unable to. I told him the only thing I had on me was a twenty but he could use that to check me in. He told me he couldn't do that. I asked to speak to a manager since I had never heard of a policy where you couldn't take cash and just make it a no-post room so I can't charge anything. The other man at the desk, Talat told me he was the manager and proceeded to verbally berat me in front of other guests that just because I knew how my system worked didn't mean I knew how there's did (There are only 5 front desk systems used in the US, I know 4 of them and the other is used exclusively by a different company). He them ended my telling me the best he could do would be to lower the amount needed to check in and make it so I couldn't charge anything to my room. Well, thanks I wish I had thought of that.

Once I made it to the room it was very nice. The furniture was comfortable and the bathroom was very clean. The food I had ordered was delicious and I am very grateful to the kitchen for that.

The next morning I needed to catch the 6am shuttle to the airport. I was in the lobby at 5:55am and ready to go. At 6:10am another person waiting for the shuttle went to the front desk to ask about the hold up. He was told the driver hadn't yet arrived. Ten minutes later I went to speak to the front desk and was told quite abruptly that the driver still hadn't arrived and was then ignored when I tried to ask how they planned to remedy the situation since I did have a bit of a time crunch. Finally at 6:35 someone was ready to drive us and we ended up having to pack twice as many people into the shuttle since the people for the 6:30am shuttle had arrived.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faye_whitaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear faye_whitaker
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Lansdowne with us. We truly appreciate hearing how we may improve to better serve our guests. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your check in process and the shuttle service. We have notified the proper management of your issues and concerns. We are pleased you enjoyed the rooms and the food service and hope to have you back for the “true Lansdowne experience”. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    435
    262
    130
    78
See reviews for
379
457
79
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marriottsville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We were a group of 4 girls who stayed for the weekend. The hotel was very clean and staff overall was friendly. My only complaint was the Wi-fi didn't work well in the room so I had to go down to the lobby to check my email but that wasn't too bad. The spa was lovely and we all had a spa service done. I would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAS12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear RAS12,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback of Lansdowne Resort. We are happy to know that we were able to provide you with a pleasant experience and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon! Thank you for the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I choose this 4 star hotel over upscape 3 stars (which are half the price) to get good service, a clean room and a restful night sleep.

The rooms are dated, but clean and nice.

The reason for the poor review, and I know this is not a situation that most travelers will normally encounter, but there was a fire alarm test starting at 8am, and my experience with the front desk staff is indicative service at the facility.

After working until 3:30 am, their central fire alarm system starting going off in my room at 8 am (4 1/2 hours sleep) non stop.

I called the front desk and they said they are running tests on the system. The front desk manager was nearly beligerent that it is not their problem I was woken up at 8am and did not even apologize for the situation.

I do not understand why they have to start tests at 8am vs. 12pm and why they have to sound the fire alarm in an occupied room as part of any test. Honestly, who schedules tests with a fire alarm at 8am in a resort where people come to relax.

I tried to go back to bed and it is now 9:07 and they are running the fire alarm again.

I travel a lot for business. This 4 star resort is one of the worst overnight experiences I have had.

I spoke with the GM and he offered a return voucher, but I don't know when I'll be back. The GM offered to cover breakfast, but that will give me back my unproductive day I will have after 4 hours sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrlandoGreg34515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear OrlandoGreg34515,

Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay. On behalf of the team, let me apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your time with us and for interrupting your sleep. We are vigilant in our maintenance of the resort especially when it comes to our guests’ safety. We found it necessary to conduct fire alarm testing to ensure our alarm system was functioning according to code. Please know that we have spoken to the Front Desk team so that they are better equipped to answer guests’ questions regarding testing being done on the property. Only through feedback from our guests can we ensure the best possible service experience. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
278 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Got a very reasonable groupon for the hotel, spa, and breakfast here. We had been here years before, and I remembered it was close to DC, but felt like a world away. It was a short ride, and there certainly is a lot more development in this area, but when you're at the hotel, and looking out back towards the golf driving range, you do feel far from civilization. Even though every fast food and big box store you can imagine is within a 5 minute drive.
The room was a decent size but dark. The pillows were very "smooshy" (I did not call housekeeping to ask for others though) and the bed seemed comfortable. Except every time my husband moved, the whole bed SHOOK. There was also loud music outside our room (317) and other rooms' doors' opening and closing were very loud. Voices in the hall kept waking us up. So not the best night's sleep. Maybe bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper!
On the other hand, the valet was helpful and gave us maps and restaurant suggestions. The front desk and bellman were also friendly. There was plenty of counter space in the bathroom and the shower was hot - but the pressure was not strong. We took advantage of the fitness room before having massages. The locker rooms in the spa are much nicer than those outside the fitness room. The massage therapist looked small but whoa - powerful hands, and great massage! The breakfast buffet was ok. The chairs have seen better days, and the pancakes were still raw in the center, but there were plenty of choices. Nothing over the top, but omelettes, waffles and pancakes to order; bacon and sausages and eggs; lots of fresh fruit, oatmeal, yogurt and cereals. Service was good for the buffet (juice, coffee). I would definitely go again for a quick "night away"

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nreyesok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear nreyesok,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Our goal is to consistently provide the highest quality in both product and service and it is vital to our continued success to know when we have fallen short of our own high standards. I have forwarded your comments about the pillows and bed to our Executive Housekeeper for his review. We truly appreciate your repeat patronage and were pleased that you had an overall great experience. We thank you for your feedback and hope to see you back again to enjoy our free Sounds of Summer concert series beginning in June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central PA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Got shuttled here from the airport due to a missed flight and was pleasantly surprised for my quick 8hr stay. The bellhop was right on it as we were dropped off out front. It was a Friday night and glad check-in was easy and that food could be had in the bar till midnight. After a long frustrating day with the airline it was nice to retire to a very nicely decorated and comfortable room. The bathrobes were a plus as we only had our carryon luggage. Had no issues with the bathroom or water pressure, in fact it was spacious and well apportioned. The hotel desk even gave us toothbrushes as they knew we arrived with not much more then the clothes on are backs, compliments of the airlines. After a good night’s sleep the shuttle was right on time to meet us out front at 6:30am for the return ride back to the airport. I would have no problem returning again to this hotel and stay here for the nearby wineries in this area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelalloveragain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear travelalloveragain,

I was happy to read that you felt so comfortable at Lansdowne Resort, it is our goal to make all of our guests feel at home. So glad you enjoyed the talents of our culinary staff and Guest Services. We hope to have you back at the resort to enjoy our free Friday night concert series, Sounds of Summer and enjoy our aquatic complex along with the local wineries. Many thanks for your thoughtful compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leesburg
6.5 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Leesburg
6.4 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg
6.7 km away
Comfort Suites Leesburg
Comfort Suites Leesburg
#3 of 7 in Leesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Clarion Inn Historic Leesburg
7.8 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles - North/Loudoun
9.6 km away
Aloft Dulles Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort and Spa

Property: Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Address: 44050 Woodridge Pkwy, Leesburg, VA 20176-5105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,371 - ₹ 25,991
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lansdowne Resort and Spa, A Destination Hotel is the ultimate sanctuary of sophistication and renewal, inspired by the "good life" of Virginia Wine Country. The resort features three world class golf courses, a destination spa, recreation and four restaurants. A refreshing getaway from Washington, D.C., the resort's beautiful natural setting in Leesburg, Virginia, sprawls 476 acres along the Potomac River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Lansdowne Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing