We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to unwind and re-charge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lawrenceville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brunswick Mineral Springs
Reviewed 17 July 2015

This was the second time my husband and I visited the inn and we couldn't be more pleased with both experiences. The location of the inn is close to Lake Phoenix Scuba Park in Rawlings, VA where we were practicing our scuba skills in preps for a trip in October. The innkeeper, Dave, could not have been more accommodating to us. The first time we stayed (about 10 years ago), we stayed in a little cabin right next to the inn that had a bedroom and private bath. This time we stayed in a larger cabin (also close to the actual inn) that was totally handicap accessible, had a living room, kitchenette (everything but a stove), and separate bedroom and bathroom. It was a wonderful "little" cabin with all the amenities one could want, as well as spotless. It was an excellent place to rest and relax after our dives. Dave also encouraged us to use the pavilion on the property (also close by) to rinse our gear and hang it to dry. It was so convenient! We also had access to the indoor pool and hot tub which were located just behind our cabin. We included breakfast in our stay and Dave cooked a breakfast big enough for a group of at least 6 and it was just me and my husband. Blueberry and banana pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, not to mention fruit and yogurt to start. This inn is a wonderful place to stay if you are visiting Lake Phoenix and not into camping there, this is a much more luxurious alternative. The grounds are gorgeous and it is a very private place to spend your time away from the real world. My husband and I highly recommend the BMS B&B

Room Tip: Sammie's cabin has everything a traveler could want (and more)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2015

Very nice home. We have been to the Bed and Breakfast at least 3 times. They have all been very nice. The pool and the hot tub are great. We stayed in the up stairs suite, there is lots of room. We went biking on the Tobacco bike trail..very nice. We will definately be back. Cathy and Kevin

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015

We had a lovely Easter weekend at Brunswick Mineral Springs. The innkeepers were very accomodating and the attention to detail was fantastic. We were in the Lawrenceville area to ride the Tobacco Heritage trail. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Col William room was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I first stayed at Brunswick Mineral Springs for a getaway weekend in 2008 while living in the Raleigh area. We soon moved across the country and spoke of how, if we ever returned to the east coast, we would surely be back for another visit. We did indeed return to North Carolina and for my 30th birthday my husband took me back for a weekend at our favorite B&B. Dave and Nan Spears are the innkeepers at this lovely 1700s plantation. The main house is full of beautiful antiques mixed with southern charm. Each time I walk through the home I see something unique I haven’t noticed before. During both visits we stayed in the Ravescroft Suite, also known as the honeymoon suite. The room, again, is full of beautiful antiques and the private bath has both a clawfoot tub and separate shower. The windows all have pull down blackout shades so you can choose to sleep in if you wish but how could you? The smell of bacon or something equally as delicious will wake you up and you’ll be ready for an amazing breakfast. One morning we were served fresh fruit, banana walnut pancakes, a cheese omelet, bacon, potatoes with peppers and onions, along with coffee and juice. The serving sizes are enormous and enough to fill you through the day. Many guests choose BMS as their lodging while they dive in nearby Lake Rawlings and Gaston. We haven’t been to the lakes but instead spend the days on the property, walking the trails in the back or reading and napping on the veranda in the hammocks. There is also a large indoor heated salt water pool and hot tub to enjoy. Nan and Dave are dog lovers so well behaved dogs are welcomed. If you don’t bring one you can play with one of theirs… three very friendly (and lucky!) dogs call BMS their home. This is a place to come and get away. There is not much of a town or many shops to visit. Bring some books, turn off your phone, and just relax. For a real treat, ask to have dinner at the B&B, too. This trip included a meal with the best fried chicken I have ever eaten. Another meal started with a deluxe salad, followed by chicken marsala, then strawberry shortcake. We’ve eaten better meals made by Nan and Dave than we’ve had at some gourmet restaurants.

Nan and Dave are such amazing hosts. They will start your visit with a tour and will share the history of the property if you’d like. They are personable and outgoing so if you want to spend some time chatting they are happy to oblige. Sitting with them for just minutes will make you feel as if you’ve known them for years. But if you are the quiet type and want some time to yourself they can be hands off, too.

We have been blown away by the hospitality we’ve been shown at Brunswick Mineral Springs which is why we can’t recommend it enough. You would be hard-pressed to find a B&B with half as much charm as this place. There are several room options. Be sure to ask when making your reservation which would accommodate you the best (we like the main house but one of the cottages may provide more privacy). And don’t miss any of the meals!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lindsay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay. The room was spacious & romantic with a fireplace & seperate seating area, a claw foot tub in bathroom. Breakfast was super delicious & very large portion. Very friendly owners. Beautiful property with walking trails, heated mineral pool & jacuzzi. Diving activities & winery very close as well. It was hard to leave. We will be returning again very soon. It is our new home away from home!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missygalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Brunswick Mineral Springs? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunswick Mineral Springs

Address: 14910 Western Mill Rd, Lawrenceville, VA 23868-3520
Region: United States > Virginia > Lawrenceville
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lawrenceville
Price Range: ₹ 5,856 - ₹ 8,134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit southern Virginia and stay in a 226 year old colonial plantation home! Pet Friendly, 28 acres to hike on nature trails with your beloved dog! Large saltwater swimming pool, and you can visit Lake Gaston for golf or boating and fishing. Everything for a great escape on a tank of gas! No need to travel far at these fuel prices! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing