We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
61
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclaw foot tubcharming b bfamily reunionfire pitbreakfast was deliciousindoor poolhammocksbillievirginiasuiteproperty
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2015

Very nice home. We have been to the Bed and Breakfast at least 3 times. They have all been very nice. The pool and the hot tub are great. We stayed in the up stairs suite, there is lots of room. We went biking on the Tobacco bike trail..very nice. We will definately be back. Cathy and Kevin

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015

We had a lovely Easter weekend at Brunswick Mineral Springs. The innkeepers were very accomodating and the attention to detail was fantastic. We were in the Lawrenceville area to ride the Tobacco Heritage trail. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Col William room was very nice
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I first stayed at Brunswick Mineral Springs for a getaway weekend in 2008 while living in the Raleigh area. We soon moved across the country and spoke of how, if we ever returned to the east coast, we would surely be back for another visit. We did indeed return to North Carolina and for my 30th birthday my husband took me back for a weekend at our favorite B&B. Dave and Nan Spears are the innkeepers at this lovely 1700s plantation. The main house is full of beautiful antiques mixed with southern charm. Each time I walk through the home I see something unique I haven’t noticed before. During both visits we stayed in the Ravescroft Suite, also known as the honeymoon suite. The room, again, is full of beautiful antiques and the private bath has both a clawfoot tub and separate shower. The windows all have pull down blackout shades so you can choose to sleep in if you wish but how could you? The smell of bacon or something equally as delicious will wake you up and you’ll be ready for an amazing breakfast. One morning we were served fresh fruit, banana walnut pancakes, a cheese omelet, bacon, potatoes with peppers and onions, along with coffee and juice. The serving sizes are enormous and enough to fill you through the day. Many guests choose BMS as their lodging while they dive in nearby Lake Rawlings and Gaston. We haven’t been to the lakes but instead spend the days on the property, walking the trails in the back or reading and napping on the veranda in the hammocks. There is also a large indoor heated salt water pool and hot tub to enjoy. Nan and Dave are dog lovers so well behaved dogs are welcomed. If you don’t bring one you can play with one of theirs… three very friendly (and lucky!) dogs call BMS their home. This is a place to come and get away. There is not much of a town or many shops to visit. Bring some books, turn off your phone, and just relax. For a real treat, ask to have dinner at the B&B, too. This trip included a meal with the best fried chicken I have ever eaten. Another meal started with a deluxe salad, followed by chicken marsala, then strawberry shortcake. We’ve eaten better meals made by Nan and Dave than we’ve had at some gourmet restaurants.

Nan and Dave are such amazing hosts. They will start your visit with a tour and will share the history of the property if you’d like. They are personable and outgoing so if you want to spend some time chatting they are happy to oblige. Sitting with them for just minutes will make you feel as if you’ve known them for years. But if you are the quiet type and want some time to yourself they can be hands off, too.

We have been blown away by the hospitality we’ve been shown at Brunswick Mineral Springs which is why we can’t recommend it enough. You would be hard-pressed to find a B&B with half as much charm as this place. There are several room options. Be sure to ask when making your reservation which would accommodate you the best (we like the main house but one of the cottages may provide more privacy). And don’t miss any of the meals!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lindsay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay. The room was spacious & romantic with a fireplace & seperate seating area, a claw foot tub in bathroom. Breakfast was super delicious & very large portion. Very friendly owners. Beautiful property with walking trails, heated mineral pool & jacuzzi. Diving activities & winery very close as well. It was hard to leave. We will be returning again very soon. It is our new home away from home!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missygalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This B&B is an old plantation with a huge main house (circa 1785) and many outbuildings, including two guest cottages and a pool house. The property itself is a beautiful 28 acres, split roughly in two: the front half is park-like with huge 250-year-old trees and the back half a pleasant forested section with a hiking trail. It's very private and quiet, a great getaway.

The pool is the only indoor saltwater pool with a 10-foot deep end that I've seen in the region - and it's amazing. The salt water makes your skin soft and it doesn't make your eyes red like chlorinated pools. There's also a hot tub in the pool house, plenty of pool toys, and lots of space to sunbathe, read, relax, walk, or just admire the trees and flowers.

I highly recommend this place to anyone traveling with dogs as it's all dog-friendly. The main house has a plethora of antiques and is decorated in an elaborate historical manner. There are plenty of rooms in a variety of sizes to accommodate different parties and the affordable breakfasts are outstanding. For example, on one day alone we had orange juice, fresh coffee, cream, homemade apple-cinnamon pancakes, enormous ham steaks, fresh home fries with onions and peppers, an egg-and-cheese omelette, and fresh fruit cups. All for under $10 and huge portions. Both owners are chefs and proud of what they cook, serve, and provide. It's just an all-around great place to stay and relax.

Room Tip: To pick the best room, just call Nan or Dave and ask for their recommendation. They might ask about your party (a couple or a family, etc.) and they'll make sure you have a great time!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews