We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is a quaint friendly dining experience”
Review of Kilmarnock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kilmarnock Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Kilmarnock B&B and Inns
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“this is a quaint friendly dining experience”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My husband and I were in for breakfast and were greeted by friendly staff and delicious food. The setting was quaint and charming. Tess was friendly and responsive to our requests. Will tell our friends to stop in.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 5ur1na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    18
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
51
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newport news
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

My girlfriend lives in Williamsburg,VA.about an hours drive to Kilmarnock and we have had lunch at the several times at the Inn but I wanted to surprise her for her birthday on 8 July so booked a room for 2 nites.Couldn't have been better!!Shawn,the owner,also is one of the chefs and the food outstanding.Love the crabcakes!! Karen and Amanda,the waite staff are great,always smiling and there to help in any way.I echo the comments 2bright,Nngardener and driveslots.We will be back many times.Try the crabcakes!!

Room Tip: try the Berkley room.Has some stairs to go up but the room is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hooah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Had a great stay - there are more interesting stories to be discovered at this Inn and in this town beneath its quiet facade - this Inn is very unique - like a mini Presidential dollhouse but lifelike featuring replicas of Mount Vernon, cottages named after Presidents born in Virginia (Tyler, Taylor, Harrison, etc) - Shawn and Sandy, the Innkeepers, certainly have an imagination and vision. They were super dog/pet friendly and the nicest people you'd want to meet. And the complimentary breakfast was gourmet at best (pancakes are a trade secret - wanted to get the recipe!!!) A place I'd want to come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogzrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We recently made a trip to White Stone, Va. for the wedding of our friends' son. Being a "destination wedding" the groom's parents booked our accommodations. What a fantastic setting the Kilmarnock Inn offered! As the 16 private rooms/suites were are filled with wedding guests, we enjoyed gathering in the courtyard for relaxing and visiting. Both the rehearsal dinner and a wedding brunch were hosted at the Inn. Shawn, the proprietor, and his staff could not have been more gracious. The food was outstanding; the service excellent and friendly. Even the breakfast buffet that is included in your nightly rate was wonderful and quite extensive. Our weekend was so memorable, several of us a planning a return visit in the near future. The little town of Kilmarnock also offers fun shopping and is close to several other quaint towns. Definitely worth a special trip!!!

Room Tip: Each room is totally different. We found the Red Fox room very nice and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2bright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

We live in Kilmarnock and just had the best lunch I've ever had in this town. We sat in the courtyard which is a truly lovely setting. In fact it was do delightful we ended up spending 3 hours there eating and talking. We also got to meet George, the Inn's kitty who greeted us and spent time near our table. BUT the most important thing to know is that the food was terrific. I've been there for dinner and was impressed but this was the first time for lunch. We'll be back. In fact we went ahead and will return in 2 weeks.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nngardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmarnock
1.9 km away
Best Western Kilmarnock Inn
37.6 km away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
353 reviews
37.5 km away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
205 reviews
7.0 km away
The Tides Inn
The Tides Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
549 reviews
19.5 km away
Ma Margaret's House B&B
Ma Margaret's House B&B
#1 of 5 in Reedville
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmarnock Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmarnock Inn

Property: Kilmarnock Inn
Address: 34 E Church St, Kilmarnock, VA 22482-9522
Region: United States > Virginia > Kilmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kilmarnock
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,248 - ₹ 18,165
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kilmarnock Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening in June of 2008! Celebrating our Presidential Heritage. Classic Bed and Breakfast with outside cottages sorrounding a 100 year old pecan tree with beautiful fountain. Right in the heart of downtown Kilmarnock, an easy walk to restauarants, shopping and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Kilmarnock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmarnock Hotel Kilmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing