We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An anniversary delight!”
Review of Hope and Glory Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hope and Glory Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Irvington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, VA
1 review
“An anniversary delight!”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We thoroughly relished our stay at the Hope and Glory while we visited friends and celebrated our 44th anniversary. We were given an exceptionally nice welcome by Dudley who treated us like long lost friends. When we met Peggy later, she proved to be even more charming in person than she was on the phone during the enjoyable reservation process. Attention to detail was never so evident as here at the H & G. The manager, Meseret, could not have been more attentive and her breakfast is to die for! We were not there for dinners but did meet Ann, the chef, during checkout and promised her we would return to try her renowned cuisine.

You haven't truly done the "Northern Neck" if you haven't done the Hope and Glory.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    15
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
128
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

First of all, need to explain, I do not understand spending a lot of money on a nice room.
The places was very nice.. and also the grounds were pretty.
The resturant was nice. They serve dinner and only a max of 18 people. The chef, Ann, was very nice. We had the 4 course dinner. The food was good but I do not like what was served for the appetiser. Talked to Ann and she said next time I am there to talk to her before and discuss the menu with her and she will make sure she serves what I like. The rockfish that she served was excellent. I asked her where she got it from. She told me and I went there the next day to get some to take home. Ann, said that the Oysters that she served was not up to her standards so she was taking it off the menu till they got better.
Peggy and Dudley, the owners are nice and friendly. Meseret, the manager is wonderful and went out of her way to make my birthday special. I asked for a frozen drink that she has never made before and she went out of her way to make it for me. It was very good.

My GF, that took me, asked if I would come again. I told her yes, for her birthday. It was really nice, I just do not appreciate all the cost when I would have just as apprecaited a nice hotel and eating there or a another nice resturant.

If you like B&B's then this was very nice.

Room Tip: the front room, 3 and 4 have a nice balcony if you like to enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FuseGlassArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpatteson, Owner at Hope and Glory Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
One could not have paid us a better compliment than to say they would come again and reciprocate birthdays. We greatly appreciate your describing how our Chef and Manager would go out of their way to make your birthday special. We are also glad you took our recommendation to seek out Something Different Country Store; and, you found it as enjoyable as we do. Thank you for being our guest.
Dudley and Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We have just ended a far too brief stay at this beautiful country inn. It is just special in every way. Peggy and Dudley have ignored no detail in making this lovely inn comfy for all who stay there, and the people up the experience even more! As we were driving in to Irvington, sweet Meseret called to ask if she could prepare dinner since most restaurants in town would be closed. When we arrived, she promptly settled us in "detention" while our 15 year old son relaxed in our precious cottage. Dinner was spectacular in every way. Meseret is just wonderful in every way....chef, host and manager. The next morning we enjoyed a fabulous breakfast and visit with Peggy and Dudley. If you leave here feeling like any less than friends, you aren't trying, because they are beyond gracious! Make a point to get to this wonderful respite! I will be hoping to come again...with lots more time!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhpTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpatteson, Owner at Hope and Glory Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Mhptexas,

We too hope we will see you “again and again” and lots more!! Thank you for a glowing account about our inn. The warmth of your family made it so easy for us to be hospitable. Yes, our Meseret wears many hats and is always a delight; and, our guests, such as you, let us know every day.

We thank you “again and again”.

Dudley and Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at the "Tents of Vineyard Grove" for our honeymoon night. These little houses are decorated so cute and tastefully. The bed was so comfy and the bathroom very nice. There are a few "tents" to choose from and I believe they have at least 2 bedrooms each, a kitchen, an enclosed back deck, and some even have a fireplace. If you rent a "tent" you can use their pool and kayaks. There is a vineyard right up the road if you'd like to sample some wine. This place is great and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IceCreamLuvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpatteson, Owner at Hope and Glory Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
IceCreamLuvr,

We thank you for spending your honeymoon night with us and for the many compliments. We are honored that you selected us. Our tents are special and they do offer our guests a different experience; and, yet it is still very Hope and Glory. We also can’t wait for you to return.

We have recently acquired the vineyard! More fun for all of us.

Dudley and Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
181 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We decided to take a last minute getaway to Williamsburg, VA and were looking for a unique place to stay. After reading reviews on line, we decided on the Hope and Glory. We weren't very familiar with the area, so we had no idea how small the towns were going to be. We arrived on a Monday afternoon and were warmly welcomed by Peggy and Dudley. The inn is beautifully decorated and the cottage where we stayed was very cute and shabby chic. The flower gardens were gorgeous.
We decided to go for a walk and quickly found that most of the shops were not open on Monday. And the one restaurant that we had read about was also closed. When inquiring about dinner, we learned that the inn was serving a 4 course meal, but that was more food than we wanted, plus was a bit more than we wanted to spend. We finally drove to another town and found an open restaurant, but I cannot recommend it.
Back to the cottage, no TV's. I can see why they don't have them, but I think it is better to have one and not turn it on if you don't want to. We always carry books with us, but it was a very long evening. We had a slight problem with bugs getting in when the doors were open. And there were a few cobwebs.
We have stayed in many B & B's and we have never had to pay a service charge, 10% that "included" breakfast. We were not told about this until we had pretty much finished with the reservation. There was no bottled water in the cottage. There was a bar available, but we assumed you had to pay for anything that you took. If there was any kind of afternoon reception, we missed it. Quite honestly, we felt the inn was very overpriced for the location and for no real amenities. Again, it is beautiful, Peggy has done an outstanding job with the decorating. But, I have to say we were disappointed after all the hype.

Room Tip: Cottage #6 was beautiful, but does have stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JWO55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpatteson, Owner at Hope and Glory Inn, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Ellajwade, we sincerely regret you were disappointed and naturally so are we. We are wondering how we might have failed you when everyone at our inn so passionately strives to delight all of our guests. We will truly take your comments to heart; and, we fully recognize how we learn to be better hoteliers.

First, we thank you for describing our inn and grounds as beautiful. We cannot thank you enough.

It is clear that your pre-arrival expectations of our town and our inn were not quite on the mark; and, we offer some adjustments to your early perceptions.

Though our breakfast is complimentary, we do not consider the Hope and Glory a bed and breakfast. We have 25 bedrooms, a staff of 15 and we, the owners, have a residence off the property. We are best described as a “country inn” as per Frommer’s Travel Guide or a boutique hotel. Our amenities are not staged receptions which we have found to be unsuccessful; nor, bottled waters. We have other amenities that are not available at most bed and breakfasts. Among them are: a 42 ft. boat for guest cruises, a Paris trained Chef for the ultimate fine dining experience, a dedicated meeting facility, a small spa with a truly incredible massage therapist, a full service bar, a swimming pool; and, now a recently acquired vineyard with a tasting facility. With the exception of the seasonable water activities, these amenities were available during your stay.

The amenities for which you were looking were also available. Tea can be requested at any time. It is personalized, served in our antique English tea cups; and, is complimentary. Mint, cucumber, or lemon flavored water is available at all times in our dining hall; as well as, bottled water had you preferred.

Meseret Crockett, our manager that afternoon and evening, redefines caring service; and, would have enjoyed tending to your every need.

Your review was likely influenced by certain things that are just not in our control which is a bit unfair. By example, bugs coming through an open door and the hours of our shops in town on a Monday in our slow season. After you mentioned the cobwebs upon departure, we did follow up and found none – not even under the bed.

With regard to the lack of TVs in our rooms and cottages, again, it is not a reason for one to stay at our inn. This is intentional by design; and, has been successful for 15 years for those who want to truly getaway. Our “tents” do have TVs; and, we are adding a TV to our bar to complement the TV in our lobby which is available to all of our guests. We do offer complimentary Wi-Fi everywhere on our property.

We do understand that our fine dining is not for everyone. We are perplexed to learn that you set out on your own to find alternative places for dinner. By your review, you were not familiar with the area. Had you asked, there was a wonderful restaurant that we highly recommend, within walking distance, which was open for dinner that night offering a choice of light fare and many dining options from a menu.

We certainly do wish to address the service charge which is to simplify, consolidate and cover the services that we so graciously provide, such as assistance with your luggage upon check in, housekeeping needs and breakfast and bar service. When quoting our rates, we refer to the additional charges which include taxes and service charge. It is also stated in the e-mail confirmation of your reservation as well as our website.

Lastly, our protocol upon check in is to say that “in the event that we may have overlooked something; or, if there is something you would like to have or need, please just ask us; give us the opportunity while you are our guest, and, we will do our best to provide it for you”. We wish you had.

We do thank you for being our guest; and, we too have adjusted our focus to make certain we do not overlook any of the needs of our future guests.

Dudley and Peggy Patteson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvington
31.3 km away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
31.2 km away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
7.5 km away
Best Western Kilmarnock Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.8 km away
Washington Burgess Inn
Washington Burgess Inn
#1 of 1 in West Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
23.3 km away
The Gables
The Gables
#3 of 5 in Reedville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
25.7 km away
Ma Margaret's House B&B
Ma Margaret's House B&B
#1 of 5 in Reedville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope and Glory Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope and Glory Inn

Property: Hope and Glory Inn
Address: 65 Tavern Rd, Irvington, VA 22480-2014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Irvington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Irvington
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,214 - ₹ 20,622
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Top 10 in the US" - five times. Fodor's, Frommer's and Moon travel guides - perennially awarded their highest ratings. Recommended by Select Registry. Historic schoolhouse eclectically styled in a trendy waterfront resort town full of chic shops. Soak in a hip pool; taste wine in our nationally acclaimed vineyard, The Dog and Oyster; or, cruise onto the water aboard our oyster boat, an authentic Chesapeake Bay "dead rise." Experience our spa treatments and savor our Chef's fine dining in our Dining Hall. Extraordinary corporate retreats and magical weddings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hope And Glory Hotel Irvington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing