We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect getaway before the holidays”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Living area.
Dining area.
Open kitchen, dining, living area.
Well equipped kitchen.
King bed in master bedroom.
Dock with hoist, floater and sun deck.
The lift can accommodate either one V-haul boat or two jet skis.
Five person paddleboat.
Canoe.
Horseshoe pit.
Sunrise as seen from the dock's sun deck.
View down the cove toward Mariners Landing Resort.
Mariners Landing Golf Course is directly across the cove.
Friendly visitors.
The lake is beautiful in the winter too.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Huddleston, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Road08266...
1 review
“Perfect getaway before the holidays”
Reviewed 22 May 2020 for a stay in November 2019

It was just a brief getaway, but Sweet By and By was the perfect place to be for a little relaxation before the busy holiday season. The views from the sunroom were gorgeous, and we enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub and curling up by the fireplace afterward. We were able to take advantage of some discounted mid-week pricing the owner was offering during the off season, so that was also very beneficial. Sweet By and By definitely has a lot to offer any time of the year. We look forward to returning in the near future. Thank you for opening your home for others to enjoy.

Date of stay: November 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2020
Thank you for the nice comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your getaway and look forward to returning. Also, thank you for mentioning the discounted weekday pricing that is generally available during the offseason. It's always a nice way to stretch your dollar a little farther if you have flexibility in your schedule.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
327jeh68
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed 16 May 2019 for a stay in May 2019

This cottage was just perfect for us for the 4 days we were there for graduation of our granddaughter at Liberty University in Lynchburg, VA. We were only 45 minutes away from Lynchburg yet were away from all the heavy traffic and busy restaurants. The house was very well supplied and comfortable. The view of the water and trees is so peaceful.

Date of stay: May 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2019
Joan, I am very pleased that you and you family enjoyed your stay at Sweet By and By, including the peaceful environment at the lake. I hope you have an opportunity to return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocamo
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The perfect cabin by the lake!”
Reviewed 17 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Originally, my sister and her husband invited us to go along with them to Smith Mountain Lake for a little get away. I found the house and we agreed to rent it. Circumstances changed at the last minute, however my husband and I decided to still come and check out SML. This cabin is perfect for 2 to 4 people. It’s pet friendly for a small fee and the view is perfect and relaxing! I was pleasantly surprised that being pet friendly it didn’t smell like any animals had been here! The house was clean and comfortable and well stocked. Charming with a nice dock to fish from or pull your boat up to. It looks small from the outside but surprisingly roomy with large rooms and large bathrooms. The setting was private with trees and you can hear the water lapping on the rocky shore. To top it off it has a big hot tub and it’s really close to the main park! We really enjoyed Sweet by and by and the rental company was super friendly and nice! Great first experience at SML!

Date of stay: September 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2019
Thank you for the nice comments. I hope you have the opportunity to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.