We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit, will return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I always wanted to visit Homestead Resort , and this time I tried Groupon offer - 2 nights stay plus breakfast. I called resort to make a reservation and asked about upgrade to a room with a view, which was extra. We picked late November weekend for our trip, when main hotel and grounds were already decorated for Christmas. We arrived late Friday afternoon, and hotel stuff was very pleasant and attentive to us, we was helped with valet parking and our luggage has been delivered to our room. Room was a nice size, with 2 double beds, big storage closet and nicely decorated bath, we really liked old time style décor of the room and bath. Next morning we started with breakfast buffet and really enjoyed service and variety of hot and cold breakfast choices. Restaurant tableware sets resembled a style from old days, which was a nice detail.
After breakfast me and my son decided to try some ice skating, we paid extra for a rent and a block of skating time, which I think could be included into resort fee for guests. Heated outdoor pool was very nice and clean, but we decided do not use it. We went to check out an indoor pool, located at the spa section of the resort; spa was under renovation and pool was cold and all changing rooms were closed. I ended up booking a massage for my husband, which he liked. We stopped by the guest service desk and reserved a carriage ride for the same evening, it was extra as well for adult, small kids were free. The weather that day was very sunny and a little cold, so we decided to go to a playground, I liked that playground was big and my son liked all slides there. Playground located next to kids camp, where parent could leave kids for a day or half, camp room looks nice with a lot of toys, but we didn’t use that option. We visited gift shops and I really like a shop with Christmas décor, located outside, there were a large variety of Christmas ornaments and prices was OK. When my son took a nap, I went downstairs for an afternoon tea. The lines for tea and cookies were long, but I got lucky to be in front. Enjoyed tea time and some piano music! Same day at the afternoon we took a carriage ride, it brought us up the hills and woods, we could see resort from far distance, we made a stop at the ski area and made s’mores and hot cocoa. Hot drink worked good as the weather became chilly. We enjoyed the ride, extra layer of clothing would keep us warm. After arriving back to the resort we decided to check out a movie theater, which was showing a Christmas movie, there were 2 more people at the theater with us. I liked old style of movie theater, but a movie selection that evening wasn’t the best and my son got bored very fast. So we returned to our room and watched TV.
Next morning we started with breakfast buffet again, when walked around resort ground, stopped at the library, gift shops, etc. It was our last day at the resort. We checked out and drove back home. We took some small country roads an way back a scenery was beautiful.
We enjoyed our stay, even with limited selection of winter resort activities during that time. I wished a spa and indoor pool renovation would be completed. We definitely like to go back late spring or summer time and include hiking and other outdoor activities into our trip.
I like a history of Homestead Resort, quest s can find a lot of historic facts at the first floor library, full of old photographs , books and memorabilia items. We knew that resort is on ‘haunted resorts’ list and actually some of personnel shared their ‘ghost encounters' with us, we even stayed at a floor below the ‘haunted’ floor, which was cool and a little mysterious same time.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a mountains view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatiana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Thank you for sharing the highlights and photographs of your first visit to The Homestead. We are thrilled that you enjoyed many of the things that make our historic resort so unique and special. Our Canyon Ranch SpaClub and Spa Garden will debut in the spring and it would be a delightful time to schedule a return visit. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,748 - 4,752 of 5,521 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Staff were very accommodating. Beautiful spa/resort. Plenty of amenities for the whole family!! Husband & I enjoyed the getaway. Loved everything about this resort, indoor pool, ice skating!!!!!xvzxxxxxxxccccccccccc

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bbelle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

And thank you for your amazing review! It was our pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to seeing you again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

For hundreds of years, the Homestead has provided its visitors with rest, relaxation and outstanding entertainment and dining. I have been coming here for nearly 30 years now, and am very glad to have the opportunity to bring my own family here. Of late, the resort has relaxed its strict rules of dress and etiquette - I miss some of the old formality, but this was my first visit with my own children (ages 3 and 1) and, as a parent, I appreciate the new, more relaxed regime. This was a great experience for the three-year old. She was able to try to ski for the first time. The ski area is small and close, and great for beginners. For me, though, it would appear that this hit of the trip was the new Allegheny Springs Pool area. It is a bit of a schlep to get there from the main hotel - but in winter, the enormous outdoor pool is heated. There is a new outdoor hot tub replete with waterfalls. The kids pool is transformed in winter to an ice rink. This pool/ice complex (which in summer includes a lazy river and water slides) is a fantastic addition to the resort. The kids loved it, we loved it. Five stars! The dining experience remains fantastic. The Jefferson Pools remain unchanged. The Spa is undergoing significant renovation at the moment - the indoor pool was not at its peak right now. We are already planning our next trip in June to celebrate our daughter's birthday. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Be certain to discuss room options before you go so that you are not dissapointed with the room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your family's visit with us in January. It is always good to hear from our long-time guests as your opinions are respected and valued. We are glad that you enjoyed our many winter activities including the ski area, ice-skating and our new Allegheny Springs Winter Wonderland! We look forward to welcoming you back in June to celebrate your daughter’s birthday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This was our 1st time visiting the Homestead. After reading several different reviews and tips we realized which helped us out the most in planning for the weekend getaway:

Tips:
*call and ask for a room in the main building/tower/or west wing-reason-best views and close to shops and main dining room. We stayed in the west wing-the bathrooms and carpet were recently upgraded and still had some old world charm....few doors and window in our bathroom were older (still functionable)
*take advantage of the 3-4pm tea time in the main lobby, they serve hot tea,iced tea and small sandwiches and cookies-all were very good
*go here to practice and learn how to snowboard or ski-slopes are great for beginners
*go to the jefferson pool at least once to experience it-you do come back feeling very relaxed-note to self-you must pay to go its $17 each day and they can charge it to your room-I didnt know this and honestly didnt think it was worth $17 family time is 12-2pm so drive yourself over there to take advantage of the 2 hours you get-and you can talk all you want in either pool :)
* From 2-5pm the jefferson pool is available for men only in one pool and women in the other pool-if you must talk you can only whisper and its clothing optional
*You must make a reservation at the Waterwheel Inn for dinner at least one night while there-service is the BEST and food was FANTASTIC!
*Go to the little cafe up the road for breakfast-best meal for the $$$
*Pack your own water bottle and fill it up in the gym-or visit the spa and enjoy filtered water anytime

We went on a busy holiday weekend. We never were able to sit by the fireplace in the main lobby-people kept hogging it. We wanted to try the casino room for dinner one night, but the times they had available were too early-so we were offered the buffet in the empire room-for $35 its was overpriced. Food selection for the buffet was ehhh, I was not impressed at all-another night at the Waterwheel Inn would have been better. We did not want to try the main dining room or Sam Sneads Tavern due to all the bad reviews.Many said it was overpriced for what you get. If we go back one day we will try to go to the Players Pub-too bad they open from 7pm-2am though. Oh and avoid ordering in your room-they charge you fees just for ordering room service not to mention the tip once the food arrives-its a rip off. Again -they are doing renovations to the resort-they are creating a wellness spa and got rid of the bowling alley. The theatre room is pretty big but they played movies for kids to see. We enjoyed playing cornhole and ping pong passed the garden wing. We opted to park our car ourselves -its a short walk and we didnt mind it. The staff was very friendly-except these 2 young girls at the front desk just kept talking to each other-we felt we were interrupting them from a very important conversation-not a very good first impression. We noticed they did not have enough activites to do and they were understaffed. Need more activities for adults and maybe activites for older kids!! They also need more of a variety of food /restaurants in the resort! Last but not least-I saw a roach on the bathroom floor the last night we stayed!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the main building/tower/west wing for better views and proximity to everything garden wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2013Familyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your stay at The Homestead. We value input from our guests and use all comments and suggestions as tools for improvement. We are delighted you enjoyed many activities at our resort, in particular afternoon tea, the ski area, and the Jefferson Pools. We do hope that you will return again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

The is a wonderful place for a family for a quintessential family winter vacation! We went to the Breakers last year and, although that was gorgeous, we would say we would be more inclined to return to the Homestead over the Breakers in Palm Beach, FL. Parents and children had a great relaxing time. Our children learned to ski - did the bunny school. We all went ice skating and swam outdoors in a beautiful new pool and hot spring hot tub. We toasted s'mores under a gorgeous star filled sky. We played checkers, read books, had tea, went hiking and finished one night with delicious dinner and dancing to a lovely band. We look forward to the opening of the new spa and spa restaurant. Our room was much larger than expected - a suite with an enclosed heated sun porch. Bathroom was new and immaculate. Beds were very comfortable and walls must be well insulated because we were not awakened to noise in the hallways - and we were right across from an elevator.

Room Tip: We got a suite for a family of four. Perfect! I would highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMT587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Thank you for writing about the highlights of your family’s winter vacation at The Homestead. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
27.4 km away
Hampton Inn Covington VA
Hampton Inn Covington VA
#1 of 5 in Covington
30 reviews
27.4 km away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
6.6 km away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
58 reviews
19.1 km away
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Clifton Forge
64 reviews
29 km away
The Hummingbird Inn
The Hummingbird Inn
#1 of 1 in Goshen
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range: ₹ 12,208 - ₹ 33,264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing