We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,152)
Filter reviews
6,152 results
Traveller rating
3,311
1,478
777
397
189
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,311
1,478
777
397
189
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main dining room jefferson restaurant history tour ice skating carriage ride horseback riding trout spa services lobby bar breakfast buffet gorge hike omni homestead sam sneads southern charm casino restaurant martha's market front porch
Filter
Updating list...
5,380 - 5,385 of 6,152 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Staff were very accommodating. Beautiful spa/resort. Plenty of amenities for the whole family!! Husband & I enjoyed the getaway. Loved everything about this resort, indoor pool, ice skating!!!!!xvzxxxxxxxccccccccccc

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bbelle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

And thank you for your amazing review! It was our pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to seeing you again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

For hundreds of years, the Homestead has provided its visitors with rest, relaxation and outstanding entertainment and dining. I have been coming here for nearly 30 years now, and am very glad to have the opportunity to bring my own family here. Of late, the resort has relaxed its strict rules of dress and etiquette - I miss some of the old formality, but this was my first visit with my own children (ages 3 and 1) and, as a parent, I appreciate the new, more relaxed regime. This was a great experience for the three-year old. She was able to try to ski for the first time. The ski area is small and close, and great for beginners. For me, though, it would appear that this hit of the trip was the new Allegheny Springs Pool area. It is a bit of a schlep to get there from the main hotel - but in winter, the enormous outdoor pool is heated. There is a new outdoor hot tub replete with waterfalls. The kids pool is transformed in winter to an ice rink. This pool/ice complex (which in summer includes a lazy river and water slides) is a fantastic addition to the resort. The kids loved it, we loved it. Five stars! The dining experience remains fantastic. The Jefferson Pools remain unchanged. The Spa is undergoing significant renovation at the moment - the indoor pool was not at its peak right now. We are already planning our next trip in June to celebrate our daughter's birthday. Can't wait to go back!

Room tip: Be certain to discuss room options before you go so that you are not dissapointed with the room you get. There are lovely garden rooms, but they will not give you the historic hotel experience. We prefer a room in the tower (some have fireplaces and balconies) or one of the rooms facing the main entrance. If you do not like the room you initially get, work with the front desk to get one you'll like.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your family's visit with us in January. It is always good to hear from our long-time guests as your opinions are respected and valued. We are glad that you enjoyed our many winter activities including the ski area, ice-skating and our new Allegheny Springs Winter Wonderland! We look forward to welcoming you back in June to celebrate your daughter’s birthday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This was our 1st time visiting the Homestead. After reading several different reviews and tips we realized which helped us out the most in planning for the weekend getaway:

Tips:
*call and ask for a room in the main building/tower/or west wing-reason-best views and close to shops and main dining room. We stayed in the west wing-the bathrooms and carpet were recently upgraded and still had some old world charm....few doors and window in our bathroom were older (still functionable)
*take advantage of the 3-4pm tea time in the main lobby, they serve hot tea,iced tea and small sandwiches and cookies-all were very good
*go here to practice and learn how to snowboard or ski-slopes are great for beginners
*go to the jefferson pool at least once to experience it-you do come back feeling very relaxed-note to self-you must pay to go its $17 each day and they can charge it to your room-I didnt know this and honestly didnt think it was worth $17 family time is 12-2pm so drive yourself over there to take advantage of the 2 hours you get-and you can talk all you want in either pool :)
* From 2-5pm the jefferson pool is available for men only in one pool and women in the other pool-if you must talk you can only whisper and its clothing optional
*You must make a reservation at the Waterwheel Inn for dinner at least one night while there-service is the BEST and food was FANTASTIC!
*Go to the little cafe up the road for breakfast-best meal for the $$$
*Pack your own water bottle and fill it up in the gym-or visit the spa and enjoy filtered water anytime

We went on a busy holiday weekend. We never were able to sit by the fireplace in the main lobby-people kept hogging it. We wanted to try the casino room for dinner one night, but the times they had available were too early-so we were offered the buffet in the empire room-for $35 its was overpriced. Food selection for the buffet was ehhh, I was not impressed at all-another night at the Waterwheel Inn would have been better. We did not want to try the main dining room or Sam Sneads Tavern due to all the bad reviews.Many said it was overpriced for what you get. If we go back one day we will try to go to the Players Pub-too bad they open from 7pm-2am though. Oh and avoid ordering in your room-they charge you fees just for ordering room service not to mention the tip once the food arrives-its a rip off. Again -they are doing renovations to the resort-they are creating a wellness spa and got rid of the bowling alley. The theatre room is pretty big but they played movies for kids to see. We enjoyed playing cornhole and ping pong passed the garden wing. We opted to park our car ourselves -its a short walk and we didnt mind it. The staff was very friendly-except these 2 young girls at the front desk just kept talking to each other-we felt we were interrupting them from a very important conversation-not a very good first impression. We noticed they did not have enough activites to do and they were understaffed. Need more activities for adults and maybe activites for older kids!! They also need more of a variety of food /restaurants in the resort! Last but not least-I saw a roach on the bathroom floor the last night we stayed!!!

Room tip: Ask for the main building/tower/west wing for better views and proximity to everything garden wing i hear is nice-its just further away from everyhting
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2013Familyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your stay at The Homestead. We value input from our guests and use all comments and suggestions as tools for improvement. We are delighted you enjoyed many activities at our resort, in particular afternoon tea, the ski area, and the Jefferson Pools. We do hope that you will return again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

The is a wonderful place for a family for a quintessential family winter vacation! We went to the Breakers last year and, although that was gorgeous, we would say we would be more inclined to return to the Homestead over the Breakers in Palm Beach, FL. Parents and children had a great relaxing time. Our children learned to ski - did the bunny school. We all went ice skating and swam outdoors in a beautiful new pool and hot spring hot tub. We toasted s'mores under a gorgeous star filled sky. We played checkers, read books, had tea, went hiking and finished one night with delicious dinner and dancing to a lovely band. We look forward to the opening of the new spa and spa restaurant. Our room was much larger than expected - a suite with an enclosed heated sun porch. Bathroom was new and immaculate. Beds were very comfortable and walls must be well insulated because we were not awakened to noise in the hallways - and we were right across from an elevator.

Room tip: We got a suite for a family of four. Perfect! I would highly recommend it.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMT587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Thank you for writing about the highlights of your family’s winter vacation at The Homestead. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We have been to The Homestead numerous times and have always enjoyed our visits. Is it pricey? Yes, but it is worth it. The Homestead is not the Holiday Inn, so do not expect that. I have read reviews of people being treated poorly and all I can say is this: The Homestead is a classy place. Are your children running around the great hall during tea acting obnoxious? Then yes, you might get a look or two from people who are there for a nice vacation. I witnessed this happen and a staff member spoke to the parents (quietly) and they were furious that they were "treated poorly". Are you wearing your old Whitesnake t-shirt and jeans to breakfast? Yes that actually happened and yes, you will get a few looks. There is a dress code and it should be followed. If you don't want to, then go somewhere else. The activities are wonderful and you should take advantage of everything they have to offer. Make your reservations for activities and dinners before you arrive. (especially for dinner....can not tell you how many people I have seen yell at the concierge because they can't just walk in to the dining room whenever they feel like it) . In short, The Homestead is not for everyone....if you want a classy experience with great food, great service and a charm that can not be found anywhere else, then book your stay immediately.

Room tip: There are several wings, so do not be suprised if you have to walk a little ways to get to the shops and dining rooms.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Thank you for writing your comments about The Homestead. We enjoy hearing from our long-time guests as we value your opinion. Your suggestions and tips will be helpful to future visitors. We look forward to welcoming you back again and again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews